We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday Trip!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Birdy

Save Saved
You added Riad Birdy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Birdy
14 Derb El Baggar Bouskri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have just come back from spending 6 nights staying in Riad Birdy on a trip to celebrate my 50th Birthday, with my son and partner and another family. The Riad is just beautiful, and a much welcomed calm retreat after a crazy day in the city. Neema and Meena (sorry if I have spelt your names wrong ;) were amazing cooking some of the best dishes we had in Marrakech. The Riad is beautifully furnished, stylish and very comfortable and the bedrooms are stunning.
We were made to feel very special, and looked after very well.
Definitely to be recommended and I am sure we will go back some time.

Room Tip: We had the room without the door to the bathroom! Just make sure you know your sleeping companion w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
56
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I were exhausted after a week of mad Morocco and we were looking for our haven that night. Vincent was so welcoming and we were upgraded at no extra cost to the Yasmina suite which is out of this world. My friend and I were back packing and when we walked into the riad it was lit beautifully and we walked into the court yard and said 'oh my god this is amazing.' our suite was epic and we felt a bit scruffy for this beautiful place but Vincent made us feel very special bringing us mint tea on the roof top, incredible food, wonderful service. Vincent helped us in knowing where to go, escorted us to the taxi to get to the airport and secured a price for us with the driver so we didn't get ripped off. The riad is just incredible. We were walking along the quiet streets away from the chaos and there were gorgeous children playing and suddenly we were shown into the riad and we could not believe this treasure was behind such bare walls. Highly recommend this place. Luxury but reasonably priced. It was such treat! Would definitely go back. Very romantic for 2 best mates :) thank you Vincent!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

Spent a great 3 nights in Riad Birdy. It is is in the medina, though about a 5 minute taxi to Jamal El Fna. The owners, Vincent and Latifah, are gracious hosts, and made our group of 5 feel at home.

The Ryad is furnished beautifully, from the dining room, to the comfy living room on the second floor, where most of our group gravitated to, and our rooms. My wife and I stayed in room Sonia, which has room for a 2nd single bed in its small loft. The bed and pillows were comfy, and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Others in our group stayed in room Yasmina, and a double room on the 3rd floor whose name I can't quite recall. No complaints in either at all. Do note though that there is no door to the bathroom, so roomates be aware of this. The Riad has wifi, though it reaches only to the open areas around the 2nd and 3rd floors. We were out of luck in the rooms. There's a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs that were great for taking in the sun during our early March stay, and which gave a great view of the snow-capped Atlas mountains. At this time of year it can still be a bit chilly at night and early morning - there are ample heaters in all the common areas. Each room does have its own AC unit for heat or cool air.

Breakfast was served on a porch on the 3rd floor, while dinner in the dining room on the ground floor. Good quality, fresh food every time.

Definitely a recommended place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We spent alltogehter five nights in Riad Birdy and enjoyed the friendly service as well as the spotlessly clean rooms and the great food.
It is in within walking distance from the Jema el Fnaa place but already outside the big hustle. The host and his wife are very friendly and helpful, giving great advice concerning Marrakech as well as Morocoo.
The room are quite new and tastefully renovated. There are different seating-accomodations around the whole house, including a vey nice roof terrace.
Don't miss the food - the staff cooks great and authentic Moroccan food for you.

We really enjoyed our stay at Riad Birdy and would return anytime!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Riad Birdy was a wonderful base for a few days in Marrakech. Lovely polished stone rooms, very tranquil, very comfy internal terrace and roof terrace - just the place to retreat to after a day amid the hustle bustle of Marrakech. The Riad is in a great location (near Bab Ghmat gate), a few residential streets away (15-20min) from Djemaa el Fna, so you can entirely avoid the shabbier tourist hotel area to the South/SW of the square. Until you need a cashpoint! Vincent and Latifa were very welcoming and the lovely Naima really looked after me, including cooking an exquisite dinner on my first night and preparing delicious breakfasts on the roof terrace. I look forward to returning - inshallah!

Room Tip: As it was quiet, Vincent and Latifa upgraded me from a smaller room to the Yasmina Suite which has i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My sister and I went to Marrakesh from the 9th - 13th October. The weather was perfect.
34 degrees and clear blue skies.
We spent hours searching the internet for accommodation and finally chose Riad Birdy.
It seemed that it would be good value for money - and it was!
The Riad was lovely.
Vincent helped out by giving us a map and circling some places on it - after we told him what we'd like to see. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It was peaceful and relaxing. Just what you needed after a day shopping! We walked everywhere from our Riad.- it was a 20 minute walk from 'La Place' - a central point in the Medina. The only transport we needed was to and from the airport which was arranged by Vincent. Both times the vehicles were there in plenty of time to collect us so no complaints about that at all.
All I can say is if you're coming on easyjet, buy the extra check in luggage add-on. We did, just in case we wanted to buy stuff and with all the leather goods it was well worth it.
Marrakesh is manic, hot, vibrant, run down and smelly in places but we loved our visit! You just need a place like Riad Birdy to come home to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at both Dar Tayib and Riad Birdy (another riad across Marrakesh), which are both run by the same owners. Both riads were comfortable, good value for money and conveniently located. Djemaa el-Fna (the main square) is located just a 20 minute walk from Riad Birdy. Riad Birdy is newly opened and very plush. Lots of lovely rooms and chill out places, plus a plunge pool.

However, we did have few problems with our reservations. Despite several emails in which my reservation and taxi pick up at the airport were confirmed, on our arrival no-one met us at the airport and we had to make our own way to the riad where they had no record of our booking.

Whilst staying at Riad Birdy I reconfirmed our booking in a few days time as we were heading off to Fez and then returning to Marrakesh. It was confirmed that we would be at Riad Birdy and we left our luggage with them. However, after a 9 hour train journey back to Marrakesh and on arrival at Riad Birdy, we received a call from the owners telling us that the whole riad had actually been booked up. This annoyed me as we had already confirmed our booking with them back in September via email and then in person a few days before and they had our luggage at Riad Birdy. We had a sneaky suspicion that the larger booking had come in while we were away and that we had been bumped for it.

What followed was quite chaotic. We were sent us off in a taxi with a young Moroccan boy to Dar Tayib (the owners other riad across town). No-one clearly explained to us what was happening. We were literally being shoved from pillar to post and found this very stressful after a long journey from Fez. We both felt that the situation was handled very unprofessionally.

We advise you to doubly confirm your booking preferably by phone the day before travelling (please note that Vincent speaks very good English, but everyone else speaks French) and you may also find as we did that breakfast can get a little tedious with the same microwave heated rolls and pancakes every day, but dinner at the riad is lovely, albeit a little pricey.

All in all Riad Birdy is a lovely place to stay and the young Moroccan girl that works there could not be sweeter and more helpful. The owners are lovely people and very hospitable, however, their lack of professionalism regarding our reservations did cause us some stress on an otherwise wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were lovely. Bring a swim suit for the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Birdy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Birdy

Address: 14 Derb El Baggar Bouskri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Birdy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Birdy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.