We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little Riad tucked away in the real Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dubai

Save Saved
You added Riad Dubai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Dubai
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   41, derb amezmiz - kasbah-bab ksiba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #324 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely little Riad tucked away in the real Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a lovely few days at the Riad Dubai. Our room was beautifully furnished - with lovely old furniture and rugs, opening out on to the courtyard. We had a hearty breakfast each day of bread, pancake, olives, soft cheese, juice and coffee. Always plenty to eat. Mohammed and the rest of the staff were always very helpful and courteous. It felt rather daunting arriving late at night and being taken down the winding alleyways to the Riad but after the first outing, it was easy enough to find. We really recommend Cafe Clock round the corner. A great find with smashing food!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    26
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
103
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed three nights with my daughter at this very authentic Moroccan Riad, right in the Medina district and within a short distance of all the sights. We both enjoyed the experience, the staff were friendly and very helpful. Make sure you have a good map as it's not easy to find and be prepared to wander down what seemed to be daunting little alleys to reach the Riad although the home owners around were polite and friendly. Great breakfast served on the roof terrace, clean room with all facilities and pleasing ethnic touches. Bathroom rather antiquated but plenty of hot water. This place is not for everyone but would please those with an adventurous spirit.
Thanks to the staff for a pleasant few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at Riad Dubai for a three day break in Marrakech. It was clean and though basic very comfortable. The staff were friendly and gave helpful advice about Marrakech on arrival including a good map and a business card,which was great to give taxi drivers when trying to get back after a long day. The breakfast was lovely and could be eaten on the roof terrace. The negatives about the riad was that you can not get all the way to it by road and have to walk down a windy passage to get to it. We landed at night and this was quite daunting, though in the light of day and the friendliness of the locals it was an unjust fear. If you are looking to experience the real Marrakech surrounded by morroccans living their day to day lives then I am sure you will be happy to stay here. If however you are used to a more sterile environment a more modern hotel is probably for you. If fit you could walk to most of Marrakech's main attractions within half an hr. Taxis however were easy to find. Would I go back there yes, but wouldn't say it was for everyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was there for 1 night, it is a cozy kind of place. I will not give full points as it should have been better for the money they charge. [May be because I am Indian and i find it expensive]
The person there is helpful and gave best possible service. The location is deep into the Madina area so finding it on our own is very difficult.
Rooms are very small but full of heritage same time old. The sleep quality is also not that great, it is just OK.
I like to roof top sitting arrangement that is worth.
Overall, it is deep into the Madina, may be 1 km form the central area.

Room Tip: rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hi, I would like to share my experience at the Riad Dubai 4 stars (supposedly) hotel.

First of all, the Riad is quite hard to find. It is located deep in a Kasbah. At one point, getting there, my husband and I thought the man in charge of the hotel (Mustafa) was tricking us into a dark corner of the kasbah to steal our suitcases...

The inside of the Riad is charming. The lady in charge of the cooking and cleaning is really welcoming, polite and nice. We liked her very much. There are only 5 rooms in the Riad. The rooms are dark (no light) and the bathrooms smell horribly. There is no lock on the door, which worried my husband and I. Fortunately, nothing was stolen.

The bed is also not particularly comfortable and the whole Riad is certainly not soundproofed, so you hear absolutely everything.

Please, if you are to take an excursions to either the desert or around Marrakech, do not make business with the Riad. All the prices are in euros, because the exchange rate is much more profitable for them and since we are Canadians, they invented an exchange rate and although we refused to pay that rate, we had too in order to avoid a heated argument. I advise you to take your business somewhere else.

My husband and I would have been really happy if this Riad was a youth hostel. For having traveling around the world, I can tell you that this Riad really looked like certain youth hostel I have come across. Unfortunately, this hotel is qualified as a 4 stars one, which we think is absurd. We were expecting something much more high class. That being said, it was a real Moroccan experience, which we kind of enjoyed...

Room Tip: The room in the corner is definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I almost want to write something negative, to ensure that I can always book a room.

The Riad Dubai is excellent.

Perfectly located for a trip to Marrakech. The rooms are spacious and fitted as you would expect from an authentic Moroccan Riad.

Mustafa is a very welcoming host and provides wonderful hospitality.

The breakfast fills you up until dinner.

I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ely
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Riad Dubai was everything and more that we expected from the descriptions we had read before we left to go to Marrakech. The manager was so very helpful and we were made to feel at home straight away. The rooms were clean and decorated in a beautiful traditional way, we had an upstairs room, but they all looked lovely. We stayed at the end of February and the evenings can get quite cold although we were not ever cold in bed as we had been provided with plenty of snuggly blankets. We were given a feast for breakfast everyday, that included, pancakes, croissants, yoghurts, olives and more bread than we could ever eat, with syrup, jam and cheese. We chose to eat in the courtyard most days but we did eat on the upstairs terrace once, although made friends with lots of bees!! The walk to Jamaa el fna took only ten minutes, and went past a vast array of stalls and local shops, which provide you with a true medina experience. If we ever go back to Marrakech we would be very happy to stay at Riad Dubai for another week!
Make sure you contact the Riad in advance to arrange transfers, as they will make sure you get escorted right up to the front door, the Riad is situated in a maze of alleys that are a bit confusing to begin with, although we never got too lost!!! The manager gave us a decent map on the first day, but there are no maps that will ever be able to guide you through the souks, so don't even bother trying, just go with the flow, and make sure you ignore the young men telling you that the way ahead is closed! We had really good WIFI service the whole time we were there, which was a bonus, although some of the restaurants near the square have free wifi too. Rooms are all situated facing into the courtyard and do not seem to have any other windows other than the inward facing ones, this is due to the way the buildings are inside the medina- all very close together. We opened the shutters when we were in the room during the day and closed them at night, and never had any problems with not enough light. I think most tripadvisor readers will have taken the time to look into what to expect from a traditional Riad, so I am amused and perplexed at the reviews that are anything other than positive, due to poor location or basic décor in the rooms...If you enjoy staying in sterile looking hotel chain style rooms then do not stay in a Riad. If however you are looking for a unique room in a house that is furnished with locally crafted furniture, that may have a bit of peeling paint to add to the charm stay at the Riad Dubai. We also had room number 4 which we absolutley loved. We did not find it dark as we had managed to locate and open the shutters- and were provided with a padlock to keep the room secure whilst we were out, however we never felt anything but safe when in the Riad, or at any time in Marrakech. Previous (less than complimentary) reviews have seemed shocked that visiting Marrakech is "a bit of a culture shock", and that it is like "stepping back in time". I would suggest that in future they stay in the UK. We went to Marrakesh with the intent to experience all the sights and sounds that seem to have offended them, and we loved it!!

Room Tip: I think rooms upstairs would be quieter, although the whole Riad is not very large so I am not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dubai

Address: 41, derb amezmiz - kasbah-bab ksiba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dubai 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Kasbah of Marrakech is our beautiful Riad Dubai, 5 different beautiful suites with every comfort, air conditioning, safe, bath & shower, mini bar, SAT TV, internet wifi. Said the owner will prepare a special Moroccan cuisine for you, a terrace is waiting for you to relax and unwind, we organize all kinds of excursions in Marrakech and Morocco, a shuttle service to all airport transfers. Said and his wife Malika are waiting to offer you a pleasant and impeccable holiday . "Welcome to Riad Dubai" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dubai Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.