We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dubai

Save Saved
You added Riad Dubai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Dubai
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   41, derb amezmiz - kasbah-bab ksiba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

went to Marrakesh with my wife and 2 children, I had emailed the riad asking if they could arrange for us to be collected at the airport, as promised a representative from the riad was there waiting for us. we were taken to the nearest street to the riad where Mustafa one of the riads staff was waiting for us, we were escorted to the riad and offered a glass of fresh morrocon mint tea and made to feel at home. Said the owner sat down with us and explained the do's and dont's and then we were shown our room which was home away from home. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and fresh smelling bed sheets. The next morning breakfast was plentiful consisting of fresh breads, pastries, fresh orange juice, coffee and more, this was served on the roof terrace with service that surpassed even 5 star hotels, and this service continued throughout our stay. Excursions were booked via the riad and were trouble free. the main square was a 15/20 min walk from the riad. To sum it up an excellent Holiday due mainly because of the service and attention from the riad, (especially Mustafa and the rest of the staff)
we would highly recommend riad Dubai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    20
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
93
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My friends and I went to Morocco for 12 days but, beyond reserving rooms at Riad Dubai for the first few days with vague plans of heading toward the Sahara, we arrived on Said’s doorstep with nothing arranged.

I won’t elaborate on the rooms and ambience of Raid Dubai except to say that I loved everything about it – you can read all of the positive comments from others. Instead I want to focus on a couple of special things that Said helped us with:

1. My friend and I wanted to go to a hammam – and not one of the ones that caters to the tourist trade. We wanted to go to the real thing, the public hammam that the women in the Kasbah use. Once Said was satisfied that we knew what we were getting ourselves into, he arranged for one of the women who cleans the rooms at the Riad to help us out. She arrived at the agreed upon time, bringing with her everything we would need except the black soap and the kiis, which we bought at a little place on our way to the hammam. We paid 12 MAD to use the hammam and Said had suggested 30 MAD each as a tip to the woman who took us there and scrubbed us. For me, the hammam experience was one of the highlights of our trip; a glimpse into the lives of the women in Morocco that you could never get otherwise. Definitely not for the modest, or for someone looking for Western-style pampering, but it will remain as a punctuation mark in my pretty extensive travels. Based on Said’s reaction to our request, I don’t think this is something many women ask for but he will make it happen for you if you want it.

2. We decided we wanted to rent a car and drive ourselves for the remainder of our trip so we could go at our own pace. Said found a car for us to rent – not through one of the agencies, but a nice young man who owned a couple of cars for rent. He brought a nearly new Renault to the Riad for our inspection and approval and we agreed upon a price of about $47/day. Although we were very confident in the car’s ability to get us around and the young man to take care of us if there was a problem, Said also took responsibility and asked us to call him personally if there were any problems at all. That little car took us over the High Atlas in the snow and over some questionable “roads” all the way to Merzouga and back without a hitch.

The entire staff at Riad Dubai could not have been more helpful or hospitable. We felt very much at home while we were there, whether sitting and reading in the small salon or drinking wine around the fire in the evening. Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Riad Dubai is a great place to stay in Marrakech--location in the Kasbah is great, service is great, very clean rooms and good food. Siad, the owner is informative, friendly and extremely helpful. The staff is attentive and accommodating. Both breakfast and dinner were excellent.

The rooms are dark (this is typical to riads as there are no outside windows) and could use better lighting next to the bed for reading. Some of the rooms smelled musty and had too much potpourri in them. The internet connection is good, not great in some parts of the road.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KandyKorn143
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Firstly, I must lend my voice to the chorus of cheers for Said, Mustafa and all the other amazing people we encountered working at the riad.

I'll write this review based on the points that I feel are most important when booking a hotel for a holiday.

Good location? Yes. It is right in the middle of the Kasbah and there is a lot going on. You can walk to the New Town in about 30-40 min and it is a pleasant walk. The Medina is about 25 min walk away and everything you need is on your doorstep. It is in a residential area which makes it feel safe, however, you will be harassed by the local children. Be prepared for this as it is not nice. When we refused to give them money we had a ball thrown at us, another time one of the little boys jumped up as if to punch me in the face and one night we were hounded until we arrived at the door by some very pushy kids all wanting money for nothing. Their parents would probably be mortified if they knew. These kids live in a nice neighborhood and were wearing nice clothes, it's all part of "the game" in Marrakech,

The Rooms- The bed is divinely comfy, everything is clean and the bathroom is large with a huge bathtub. However, bring some WARM clothes! We had a heater to plug in inside our room, but as the room was quite large it really didn't help much. This is in no way the fault of the riad. The beautiful walls are made of stone, so they keep the cold in. There are a lot of blankets on the bed and as long as you wear appropriate bed clothes you should be OK. I wouldn't want a room on the ground floor either. Reception is open 24 hours and you need to ring a bell to get let into the riad. Also, people like myself and husband liked sitting by the fire in the common room with the other guests and I think I'd have been angry if we were on the same floor as us gassing away every evening.

The Breakfast- Delicious! Yoghurt, olives, bread and crepes every morning. Sometimes you get eggs too. All lovingly prepared and whenever you want it. Brilliant!

Service- Could not be better. We got picked up and dropped off from the airport by people employed by the riad. And though we didn't book an excursion with the riad, we spoke to many who did and all recommended their trips/experiences with enthusiasm. We hear Fatima and the cooking course was amazing. Unfortunately we booked outside the riad and with another cooking course before we arrived in Marrakesh.

Don't hesitate. Book! It's brilliant!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a 5 day (4 night) trip to Morocco during which we spent 3 nights in Riad Dubai in Marrakech. I want to thank everyone at Riad Dubai (especially Said, Mustafa and Hassan!) for making this one of the most incredible holidays we have ever had!

The Riad itself is beautiful and since it's quite small (approx 6 rooms), it feels very homely and special. We stayed in the Joumana suite which was beautiful and though i can only speak for this room, im sure all the other rooms are equally as lovely with their authentic Moroccan design. The riad has a very nice roof terrace which we frequently used for breakfast, dinners and early evening drinks. It was a little cold during November but I think that's fair enough and it was nice enough that we still sat up there in the evening and the team will bring you whatever you need. But if you prefer there's a small lounge with a fire in winter next to the gorgeous courtyard which the Riad centres around. In terms of food, the quality was excellent and as other reviewers have mentioned, Mustafa and Hassan are superbly attentive to your needs and will happily cook whenever you require. wine and beer is also available at reasonable prices.

The best thing about this place is the friendly and helpful service. We had opted to do a Saharan desert excursion (2 day/1 night) during our trip which we booked through the Riad and I had planned to propose to my girlfriend (now fiance!) on the trip. Having spoken to Siad about it via email beforehand, he had arranged to have the room decorated with roses and have a bottle of champagne ready chilled in the room for when we arrived back. It was a great touch to end an already special trip. They are also really helpful in terms of helping you get your bearings. The Riad is about 15 minutes away from the main square and is somewhat hidden in little windy streets although

it's well signposted from one of the main gates and we never got lost, but the team will happily come and get you if you call them and on the first few outings will offer to walk you to a main junction and point you on your way. Really reassuring and you can take a mobile number for emergencies.

I would also recommend the trip over the Atlas Mountains to the desert though it's a long drive they do stop quite a lot - if you don't like slightly rickety old minibuses though it might not be your style but it was so worth it for the scenery and the wonderful night in the desert with the Berbers - the 'tents' are very solid, electric lighting, clean decent toilet facilities and lots of blankets on proper mattresses so don't think English camping style - but it still feels peaceful and special.

My only negative memory was that our planned transfer arrived late to pick us up from the airport which was slightly un-nerving. We called the Riad and someone arrived within a few minutes which was great but its probably worth double checking the transfer and flight times with the Riad beforehand. They hadn't forgotten though so just give it a bit of time before you worry.

Overall the trip was fantastic and was made even more special through the efforts of Siad and the rest of the guys working at the Riad and therefore would happily award it 5 stars and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at Riad Dubai in April this year for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. Said the owner arranged our airport transfer for us and Mustapha who works at the Riad came to meet us to help us with our bags and direct us to the Riad (you cannot drive directly to the Riad, but once you have been directed once from the road it is very easy to find your way). On arrival Said greeted us with mint tea and was extremely helpful with information on Morocco and Marrakech and also had breakfast ready for us on the beautiful roof terrace. If you email the Riad directly in advance Said can organise trips for you or you can book these when you arrive. Mustafa and Mohammed who work there were really helpful with any information we needed to explore the city and nothing was too much trouble. Riad Dubai is a great base to explore the city away from the centre but close enough to be able to walk to Djemaa el-Fna and feels like a home away from home. Thank you to Said, Mustapha & Mohammed for making our time there so wonderful. I would love to return at some point in the future!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Said and his people (Hassan in particular) made it a wonderful stay for us. Very homely and great food. Said arranged a free pickup form the airport. He was also very helpful with information and help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dubai

Also Known As:
Riad Dubai Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dubai Hotel
Address: 41, derb amezmiz - kasbah-bab ksiba, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dubai 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Kasbah of Marrakech is our beautiful Riad Dubai, 5 different beautiful suites with every comfort, air conditioning, safe, bath & shower, mini bar, SAT TV, internet wifi. Said the owner will prepare a special Moroccan cuisine for you, a terrace is waiting for you to relax and unwind, we organize all kinds of excursions in Marrakech and Morocco, a shuttle service to all airport transfers. Said and his wife Malika are waiting to offer you a pleasant and impeccable holiday . "Welcome to Riad Dubai" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Tingo, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dubai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.