We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch or coffee instead of the pricey Jardin Marjorelle cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaowa

Kaowa
34 rue Yves St Laurent, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 (0)524330072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: European, Moroccan, Vegan, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Kaowa is a new snack & juice bar ideally located opposite the Majorelle garden. Wood interior wall paneling, old cement floor tiles - all designed by renowned architect Imaad Rahmouni, Kaowa is cozy and bright yet contemporary allowing a natural and organic feel to the whole atmosphere. Its charming terrace is the perfect place to sit and relax before or after visiting the garden. The menu rides the "Healthy, Fresh & Ready" trend.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great lunch or coffee instead of the pricey Jardin Marjorelle cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We wanted a coffee and lunch after visiting the Jardin Majorelle but the cafe in the gardens eas expensive and not particularly attractive despite being next to the gardens. On two visits to this cafe (yes, we returned because we knew we would get something good!) each time we had a great hamburger with salad filling and generous meat patty, or wrap, along with fresh fruit juices. Clean, well prepared food and friendly service. Interesting shop next door is part of the same complex. A little more expensive than some local places but well worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    46
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Out of coffee?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As we walked into the cafe three employees were standing behind the counter talking. No welcome or stop from conversation as we approached register to order. After a break in conversation to take our order of two coffees we were informed that they were out of coffee. A sorry wasn't even offered as we walked out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaowa, Owner at Kaowa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello ,
Indeed we were out of coffee for a full day due to the fact that Nespresso was out of stock.....
That does not justify the attitude of the staff towards you and we are deeply sorry about it.
They are usually very friendly.
Next time you are around the coffee is on the house !!!
Just ask for Corto....
Our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Really delicious foods. Salad was so good. Drinks were unique and tasty. Try the Top Vitamine, hot chocolate or Frappe Citron. Fries were great though a bit small portion. Eat at a table in the art gallery/shop adjacent and attached to restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Limited choice of eating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Nice, clean place serving salads and sandwiches. Frankly a bit bland and lacking much atmosphere or character. But very good fresh juices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great change - the loaded salad bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

It was a really long day of being a tourist! I needed a coffee, water, juice and fresh veggies. The salad bar Kaowa was such a welcome surprise. A quiet corner table in the sun, a big portion filled with healthy goodness; and shared space with the home and fashion store Rue 33 - the coolest concept store featuring local design talent. What a fun stop! A few other great shops and the Gardens right there make this area well well worth the time!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaowa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Kaowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaowa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.