We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Trip over the Atlas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Trails Boutique Morocco Private Tours

Sun Trails Boutique Morocco Private Tours
50 Operation Agdal, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 666-915384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 465 Activities in Marrakech
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At Sun Trails we believe that it is our guests that should describe us and our services. This is what the reviews below stand for.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Trip over the Atlas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Highlight was tagine in camp in erg chiggaga ( best in morocco without a doubt, amazing effort under the circumstances) having travelled through a dust storm, our hosts were exemplary. Our guide/driver - Boujema - was outstanding, amazing knowledge, and great company.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    10
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Atlas Mountains & 3 Valleys Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I decided that whilst in Marrakech we would take a day trip out to the mountains. A colleague has just returned from Marrakech and recommended we book a trip with Sun Trails as they had heard great things. Email enquiries were answered swiftly and everything was as discussed when our driver, Kamal, arrived to pick us up from our Ryad. Kamal was very friendly and spoke good English, he was also really flexible regarding the route we took giving us a choice, even dropping us back at the main square rather than our Ryad on the way back.
The tour itself took us out of the hectic Medina and out along the windy roads towards the Atlas Mountains. It was nice to see the contrast between the craziness of the city to the peace in the villages. We decided to go the route that took us past Lake Lalla Takerkouste and then climbed up in the mountains and visiting 3 valleys en route. I have forgotten all the names :( but we climbed to approx. 2,100 m above sea level in the 4x4 and Kamal stopped off along the way for photo opportunities. My husband and I were both very quiet in the car, mainly because we were taking in the views but also because of all the bumpy roads my husband felt a bit car sick so he just sat there quietly! Kamal kept checking we were ok though! Kamal took us to an Argan Oil place en route which we hadn't expected but gave us the opportunity for a toilet stop as well as being informed of how Argan Oil is made by local Berber women. You did feel slightly pressured by the staff into buying something but I didn't want to purchase anything so instead gave a donation. We had also asked prior to booking the trip about the option of adding a camel trek onto the tour for an extra cost. Kamal took us to a layby off the main road between the Ourika Valley and Marrakech where camel rides were offered. We paid 100 dirhams each for a 20/30 minute camel ride which took us through the Ourika river and along a quiet road parallel to the main road. Whilst the scenery wasn't breathtaking it was a fun experience to have, the camel owner even lets you take control of the reins and guide the camel yourself, definitely an experience if you haven't ridden a camel before - make sure you wear proper shoes as it can get a bit bumpy! After the camel ride we were driven along the road towards Setti Fatma and we stopped off part way along for lunch. The restaurant offered a 3 course set menu for 120 dirhams and the food was fairly standard, the bread rolls were the best we tasted on our trip though so asked for more! The restaurant itself was right down by the river so the setting was nice. After lunch we continued on to Setti Fatma .We went on a Sunday when a lot of people from the cities come out to the Ourika Valley to eat lunch so the roads were quite hectic. This was actually really interesting as the roads aren't that wide through the villages and cars and buses are parked along the road side and then cars are trying to travel in both ways whilst you have a sheer drop down to the river on the other side. Kamal was a great driver, negotiate all this and the other obstacles we met on the way such as goats, sheep and of course pedestrians!
Overall the scenery on this tour was stunning and we feel that the day was good value for money. I would recommend Sun Trails for showing you the alternative side to city life!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, SA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Atlas and The Lake - Amazing Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing visit to Marrakech - although we adored the Medina, we spent one of our precious days doing the Atlas and the Lake Tour and are so glad that we did. The Moroccan countryside is an absolute must to see - the diversity of scenery is breathtaking.
From the very start, all of my emails were answered quickly and with much help, so I knew we had chosen a great company.
We were met by Kamal (the best driver in Morocco!) right on time and were taken to experience the dizzying heights and beauty of the Atlas mountains. Kamal was kind, considerate - always checking how we were enjoying the day, informative and funny. He navigated the twisty roads high up through the mountains with ease, and we were left to absorb the gorgeous scenery unfolding all around us. Any time we wanted to stop for pictures, he did so and took some great shots of us together!
As well as witnessing all the natural beauty of the Atlas mountains and villages, we also visited an Argan oil co-operarative and met the lovely ladies who make this fantastic product, met a wonderful Berber family who open their home up to visitors and made the most delicious mint tea and freshly baked bread for us and had lunch at KasbahTamadot, which was delightful.
Kamal did everything he could to make this a wonderful day for us and got us back to our riad right on time (as we had more plans at 4:30pm) but never rushed us once. We learnt much about the beautiful country of Morocco and even learnt some Berber words.
We are already talking about our next visit to Morocco and would love to experience the Sahara next time - we would definately use Sun Trails and hopefully Kamal could be our guide again.
He is such a attentive, generous and helpful man.
Thank you Sun Trails for providing a wonderful experience and to Kamal for making this such an unforgettable and special day for us.
We can't wait until our next tour with you in your beautiful Morocco.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Way to Tour Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Cristian and Boujema,
Thank you for creating and executing an excellent, flexible and wide ranging Morocco experience. We enjoyed the diversity of landscape ranging from desert to mountain to sea to urban to rural. We enjoyed the authentic riads, most of the dinners and the choice of restaurants for our lunch as well as dinner alternatives to the hotels when requested.
Regarding the riads and kasbahs, the hotel owners and staff were very friendly and welcoming to us. One suggestion for setting expectations for travelers in the future is that these establishments shouldn’t be billed in the material as 4 star accommodations as these places don’t compare to other 4 star hotels in Western Europe. They were nice, but not 4 stars. We suggest you avoid referencing stars at all and simply say authentic xx century riad.
It was great that the tour price included breakfasts and dinners at the riads. In the future, you might ask the owners to ensure more diverse menu selections vs. having tajine night after night after night. Also, the breakfasts could be improved somewhat. We would have liked more fruit and a broader array of breads and pastries vs. Moroccan bread morning after morning after morning.
We wanted to express our sincere thanks and great service that Boujema provided throughout our trip. We felt safe and secure the whole time when Boujema was with us. He gave us good guidance on where to explore each city on our own, allowed us the appropriate amount of time given to self-discovery, and he displayed excellent knowledge of Morocco’s country, history, monuments, culture, etc.
Thank you again for the lovely trip and experience of beautiful Morocco.
Jane and Lynda

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cris_martinus, Manager at Sun Trails Boutique Morocco Private Tours, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hello Linda,

First of all let me thank you for your compliments. It gives us great pleasure to know that you have found your private tour excellent, flexible and wide ranging despite a the few details that you mention. You are right, since we mostly work with small intimate boutique and luxury Riads, kasbahs and eco lodges it makes no sense to keep the star rating since most likely visitors expectations will not be met when dealing with a strict star rating. For instance, an eco lodge in Ait Benhaddou may have a 3 ***+ comfort with a 4 ****+ service and 4 **** cuisine. Where do you place it ?

We have taken note of your remark and we are now glad to confirm that by the time this response will be posted the old star rating will be obsolete and we will have our new own accommodation standards available. Instead of 4 star, 4 star plus and 5 star we will now have three levels called: Dreamers, Privilege and Divine which we find, resume much better the nature of each level.

Thank you again for your suggestions.

Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best way to see Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked a fully customised 10-day private tour of Morocco with Sun Trails, and it was the best thing we could have done! We are a couple in our early 30s who travel a lot and normally plan everything ourselves, but this time we were really busy and didn't have much time to plan things in advance. From the moment I sent the first email enquiry, Cristian made the whole process simple and hassle-free. He organised our itinerary based around our interests, and when we arrived at the airport in Fez, our driver/guide Boujema was there waiting for us.

Everything about the next 10 days was brilliant. Boujema loaded us into a comfortable 4WD and off we went! He was an excellent guide, giving us a local insight into the history, culture and sights of Morocco. He was very knowledgeable and just a lovely person - always helpful when we needed him but never overbearing or pushy.

Morocco is such an amazing country and constantly surprised us - the unexpected beauty of the landscapes, the rich history, and the fascinating culture. The sights, tours, accommodation and food that Sun Trails organised for us was near-perfect, and we couldn't have done it better ourselves.

Thank you Boujema and Cristian for an unforgettable experience!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Trails Boutique Morocco Private Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Sun Trails Boutique Morocco Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Trails Boutique Morocco Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.