We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great discovery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Libzar

Libzar
28, Rue Moulay Ali | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-20402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 614 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have a holiday home in Marrakesh, so I go there often. Friends took me to the Ibzar. What a lovely surprise. I took the 'menu de dégustation' and it was just great. The meal is modern Moroccan with incredible tastes and inventiveness. I can only recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    94
    27
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Marrakech for real Moroccan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great restaurant where we ended up eating there several times. All the facilities were good including the rest rooms which is always a concern. Thouroughly enjoyable food and excellent service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in marrakech!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went here on out city trip to marrakech. The restaurant looks beautifyl inside and out. Unfortunatly the restaurant was not full when we were there, probably because it was during ramadan. Apart from that our experience with libzar was great! The food was amazing, and the staff was friendly and verry professional.

Its not cheap (for starter, main and sone drinks about 70 euros) but we would definetly recomend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Typical of Marrakesh restaurant dichotomy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The food was fine, albeit expensive. In Marrakesh it seems you either pay peanuts for a basic eating experience in places where the locals hang out and which never serve alcohol. If you want something in a more upmarket in setting and licensed you will pay considerably more and probably not eat anything better. This place falls in the later category. Service was fine but we were the only ones in the place until shortly before leaving so there was zero atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best meal in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a girls long weekend break with my sisters and neice, we went to this restaurant on our last evening in Morocco. It was quiet when we went in but a few more tables filled whilst we were there. I have to say it was the best meal we had whilst we were away. We ordered a variety of dishes between the 6 of us and shared them all. The food was really special, the outstanding dish for me was the Chicken tagine with jelly tomatoes. The owner spoke to us on the way out and we all said how much we had enjoyed the meal. I asked her about the chicken tagine dish and she was generous enough to give me the recipe (with the help of her brother who assisted with translating some of the recipe).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libzar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Libzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Libzar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.