We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in marrakech!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Libzar

Libzar
28, Rue Moulay Ali | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-20402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 563 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in marrakech!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We went here on out city trip to marrakech. The restaurant looks beautifyl inside and out. Unfortunatly the restaurant was not full when we were there, probably because it was during ramadan. Apart from that our experience with libzar was great! The food was amazing, and the staff was friendly and verry professional.

Its not cheap (for starter, main and sone drinks about 70 euros) but we would definetly recomend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    70
    22
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Typical of Marrakesh restaurant dichotomy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The food was fine, albeit expensive. In Marrakesh it seems you either pay peanuts for a basic eating experience in places where the locals hang out and which never serve alcohol. If you want something in a more upmarket in setting and licensed you will pay considerably more and probably not eat anything better. This place falls in the later category. Service was fine but we were the only ones in the place until shortly before leaving so there was zero atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best meal in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a girls long weekend break with my sisters and neice, we went to this restaurant on our last evening in Morocco. It was quiet when we went in but a few more tables filled whilst we were there. I have to say it was the best meal we had whilst we were away. We ordered a variety of dishes between the 6 of us and shared them all. The food was really special, the outstanding dish for me was the Chicken tagine with jelly tomatoes. The owner spoke to us on the way out and we all said how much we had enjoyed the meal. I asked her about the chicken tagine dish and she was generous enough to give me the recipe (with the help of her brother who assisted with translating some of the recipe).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Doublecheck your bill before you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant following some good reviews on TA but we were quite disappointed. The quality of food is good although the portions are ridiculous, specially for a place like Marrakech where portions are usually huge. The problem started when we asked for the bill and they were charging us some food we haven't ordered. The waiter came three times with the wrong bill and it wasn't a matter of understanding as I speak fluent French. At the end the got the bill right and we could leave. The service had been unfriendly from the beginnig so I wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice starters but rest a bit mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant based on the reviews on trip advisor. It is in the new part of town and we were staying in the medina, so the spell of Marrakech was somewhat broken by the modern development.
The inside of the restaurant has little charm and is not very exciting. We were the only ones in the restaurant for about 1 hour and only about another 4 tables arrived before we left at around 10pm - so not busy at all. The service was pleasant and cordial. The mixed Moroccan salad starter was good. The presentation was excellent, some of the dishes were too sweet for my palate though, especially for a starter. We had a vegetable tagine and a lamb tagine for mains. There was nothing exceptional about them and you can have similar if not better for much less money elsewhere in Marrakech. Relatively pricey for Morocco and you can find places with much more atmoshpehere elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libzar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Libzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Libzar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.