We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doublecheck your bill before you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Libzar

Libzar
28, rue Moulay Ali (en face de Chez Paul) | Gueliz, Marrakech, Morocco
+212524420402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 543 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $28 - $41
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Spain
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Doublecheck your bill before you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant following some good reviews on TA but we were quite disappointed. The quality of food is good although the portions are ridiculous, specially for a place like Marrakech where portions are usually huge. The problem started when we asked for the bill and they were charging us some food we haven't ordered. The waiter came three times with the wrong bill and it wasn't a matter of understanding as I speak fluent French. At the end the got the bill right and we could leave. The service had been unfriendly from the beginnig so I wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    68
    22
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice starters but rest a bit mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant based on the reviews on trip advisor. It is in the new part of town and we were staying in the medina, so the spell of Marrakech was somewhat broken by the modern development.
The inside of the restaurant has little charm and is not very exciting. We were the only ones in the restaurant for about 1 hour and only about another 4 tables arrived before we left at around 10pm - so not busy at all. The service was pleasant and cordial. The mixed Moroccan salad starter was good. The presentation was excellent, some of the dishes were too sweet for my palate though, especially for a starter. We had a vegetable tagine and a lamb tagine for mains. There was nothing exceptional about them and you can have similar if not better for much less money elsewhere in Marrakech. Relatively pricey for Morocco and you can find places with much more atmoshpehere elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becket, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious and lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This restaurant is a jewel, and it gave us the best meal we've had in Morocco thus far. The food is presented beautifully, and the chef, Assia, is clearly talented and passionate about cooking. The atmosphere is very soothing and elegant. The muted green and accents of orange are complemented by the modern Moroccan decor.

We started with the gorgeous and delectable Moroccan salad. We then shared two tagines. The lamb with almonds and shallots had a hint of sweetness from the addition of some honey. The beef tagine was completely different with a spice blend that was just right. The service was wonderful, and the price was good value.

We thoroughly recommend Lipzar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely food - modern Moroccan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Following Trip Advisor reviews, we had a great meal at Libzar - a short €5 trip from our Riad in the Medina. Lovely service - the moroccan salad starter is a must - about 15 (very) small dishes, which just about allowed the 4 of us to have something of each, plus the Moroccan samosa (forgotten the local name!) which was delicious. The main courses were more traditional but tasty.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“birthday nite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

traditional dishes in a modern restaurant. at first ,when u see the moroccan salad, you think they're going minimal and different. they don't. the rest of the meal was a little far from what we expected (too old style) but the quality was good. the staff is always kind and friendly, ready to fill up the glasses.
nice spot: the fireplace. if you don't want to have problems with the taxi...tell the staff to help you out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Libzar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Libzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Libzar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.