We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with great accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ghemza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Ghemza to your Saves list
Riad Ghemza
Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great location with great accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at this Riad. The Riad is very clean with a
pleasant communal area where we took a fresh breakfast each morning. We had a nice
sized room on the top floor with a nice bathroom. The Riad is in a great location,
just a few steps away from the medina with several good restaurants also nearby.
The owner is quite knowledgeable about Marakesh as well as with Morrocco.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadGHEMZA, Owner at Riad Ghemza, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello Annette,

Thank you so much for your very nice comment.
We were glad to welcome you and we are happy that you had a pleasant time at the Riad. It is very important to us and really a good pleasure to hear about it.

Take good care of you.

Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
92
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at Riad Ghemza for three nights in February and it was very pleasant but the real star of the show is the service. Samir looked after us exceptionally well and nothing was too much trouble. He welcomed us on arrival with mint tea and sat down to explain where the main attractions were and what excursions might be possible. He gave us a map of the area and explained how we could get to the square from the riad.
When you first arrive dont be alarmed that the taxi will stop and a man will likely walk you to the riad through some windy narrow streets, i would strongly recommend booking the riads taxi as otherwise you may well find yourself lost - we would never have found the place on our own.
Because of the narrow streets we decided to get our bearings by heading out to the sqaure and back. Its a leisurely ten minutes but it will take you longer as you will stop to look at the souks en route! There are very few signs and every alley way looks alike so try and make a mental note of a few key things.
The riad itself it very comfortable with a lovely roof terrace and plunge pool on the roof. The room was cool (possibly too cool...but probably a welcome retreat in the summer months) clean and compfortable with a good shower and seperate WC.
The communal areas are well equipped also with guide books etc.
Breakfast each morning was very good and mint tea was in abundance!
All in all a well appointed riad in a very good location, comfortable surroundings and a welcome tranquil escape from the bustle of the city. Samirs excellent customer service was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good but ours did feel slightly chilly so perhaps an extra jumper would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The stay at Riad Ghemza was wonderful. We were received like royalty by Khadija & Samir whom are the cornerstone of this Riad. Breakfast was served and it was a feast every day. The Riad is not the easiest to find in the maze which is the Medina of Marrakesh but you will get the hang of it and with the directions given it is not that hard to find. People are friendly to help you get to your destination. Great location close to some great restaurants and to the Souk and marketsquares.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We booked one night in the riad and ended up staying the rest of our holiday (5 nights).
The atmosphere is really great and everything is nice and really clean. First it's a bit hard to find, but with the description Fabien (the owner) sends per mail after booking it's possible to find it on your own.
Breakfast is really great with fresh fruits salad, bread, sweets, jam and sometimes cheese or eggs. They also have nice coffee and moroccon mint tea and fresh orange juice.
The staff really likes to help and give advice on all questions. Most of them speak english quite well, so it's easy to communicate.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Everything was just perfect! the room we've stayed was absolute superb with very impressive interior design and very clean! Khadija & Samir are great and warm and Fabien sent us a long email with all the info when we went out for a short trip which was so moved. Just a superb place in Marrakech and hope to back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Here are the basic & important things you need to know about Riad Ghemza

This is a basic 3* hotel which has 4 rooms. Each room has a fair size bedroom area & its own decent size shower / toilet areas.

The accommodation is clean and basic. There is no external window off the bedroom & the door / small window face the inside of the building. There is an open top roof which allows fresh air into the hotel & room. I slept comfortably & peacefully for my stay.

The Riad Ghemza is situated in a small alleyway, off a few other small roads. A car can drop you a few minutes walk away & we paid someone a few dirhums to guide us to the hotel. After this, it took a couple of trips to familiarise ourselves with the location.

This hotel is situated in what I believe is the old town, right near the Souks & about a 15 minute walk along small streets or market areas to the Main Square (Place Jemma Le Fna)

The owener & staff are very helpful and friendly & the basic breakfast is good for a 3* hotel.

As expected in Morocco, there are a lot of beggars & people trying to get a little money out of you by showing you directions or just with their hands out.

The place does NOT pose any danger or threat. We walked around (3 males & 1 female) without any issues at all times of the day & night. It MAY be a little daunting if there was just one or 2 people walking around in the early hours... as previously mentioned, we did not see any danger... there are no issues during the busy day.

Larger shops are a nice 40 minute walk from Ghemza. If you are looking for basic 3* accommodation this is a nice place to be. If you are looking for somewhere with quieter surrounding, I suggest stopping away from the Main Square & souks.

Places to check out whilst in Marrakech:

Souks - plenty of small stalls selling anything you need... from fake clothes, leather bags / belts to herbs & oils

Main Square - just a busy square with lots of people TRYING to do interesting things. Watch out of the guys with cobras & monkeys who try to get pictures with you THEN demand lots of money.... ALWAYS agree an ACTUAL price first... they can get a bit pushy if you take pics first then don't pay what they expect.

Food - there are plenty of local food stalls within the souks & square. I am a fussy eater & this did not tempt me. I walked away from the square and ate in the restaurants

Atlas Mountains - about 40km away... a nice daytrip if you enjoy mountains!

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms in this hotel. All are the same. We had to walk out of the rooms to get wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadGHEMZA, Propriétaire at Riad Ghemza, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your compliments concerning the help we bring to our guests.

However, I would like to clarify some points:
The riad has five rooms and not four. We have decided to have only a few rooms so we can take good care of our guests which are happy with this.
There is only one room which has a small window; but this one also has a huge window/door with curtains.

The terrace allows you to rest and take good sun.

The riad is located in the historic heart of the medina (near the Medersa Ben Youssef, the museum of Marrakech, the museum of the photography, etc.) which is what our guests are looking for. Sleeping in the medina allows you to be closed from all the good places to visit and to get relax in a quiet place as soon as you enter in the riad. So of course, big grocery stores are in the new city (about a forty minute walk or a ten minute drive), but it is not a problem as you have small grocery store at every street corner.

Be sure that we put all our heart for the biggest satisfaction of our hosts; all the wonderful comments which we receive confirm this is the good choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Hi all. Well located riad. Very warm, there you can really relax and have a rest drinking some cup of mint tea. Rooms are big, nice and very clean!
The staff is great. I will never forget how Samir helped me. Always very welcomy, Samir raccomended me best restaurants, shops and many useful informations for my daytrips.
Samir's friendly and spontaneous way to interact with me, made great my stay in riad Ghemza.
I really thanks Khadīja and Fabian for their kindness and efficiency :)
Thank you, Shukran!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ghemza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ghemza

Address: Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad GHEMZA is the Winner of TRIPADVISOR 2012 Certificate of Excellence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Ghemza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ghemza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.