We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ghemza

Save Saved
You added Riad Ghemza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Ghemza
Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I can just recommend Riad Ghemza to anyone looking for a genuine Marrakesh experience. I was in another riad before, but Riad Ghemza was even better.

Although we got lost on our first day in the souks (which was due to my knowledge of the French language, which has decreased because I don't use it a lot - *SHAME*), we never got lost again afterwards. Just have a good look at the map you get when you arrive (my fiancé didn't).

The personnel is very friendly, have very good tips if you ask for other activities (especially the cooking course at Le Faim d'Épices - a must-have for all cooking-addicts - which we booked before we arrived there but is recommended at the riad as well!).

So thank you very much to everybody at the Riad Ghemza for a wonderful stay, we will be back again (probably during our honeymoon as my fiancé proposed to me on the wonderfully romantic terrace of Terrasse de la Medersa during our stay)!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
86
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I would choose this riad over any other, the location, the facilities, the staff and the excursions were just perfect. The staff give you great honest advice if it is your first time in Morocco and are quick to help if needed. If I went back to Marrakech I would go to this riad again and again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Having booked the flight only about 2 hours before departure I had only about 30 minutes to decide where to stay before boarding my plane out of London.

I am very glad that I was drawn to Riad Ghemza. The hospitality was perfect, the Riad is attractive and my room was small but very comfortable, tasteful and elegant. (Berber room, on the roof terrace). It was also extremely peaceful, as the Riad is set back from any main passage. The only time I was awoken was by the call to prayer, which was far from disturbing and was actually a beautiful sound, almost siren like.

The roof terrace is small but nice with a small plunge pool and two sun loungers and tables and seating for about six. In the late afternoon it was so relaxing and peaceful to be there and read my book and listen to bird song.

I have realised that I have an appalling sense of direction and I got hopelessly and frustratingly lost in the Medina, even after two days!! If you stay at this Riad you will have to pay someone about 4 Euros to guide you there in the first instance from the main square, Jemma El Fna (13 minutes walk) and then rely on the map that is supplied by your hosts to get you back. If you are as hopeless as I am there is always a "guide" who will escort you to where you want to go, but it will cost you about 10 MD every time!!

Thank you to all at the Riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Good value!
Great service!
1st day it was difficult to find it, crazy narrow streets on the zoco but when you are situated it's next to the Medersa Ben Yousef.
Breakfast it's very good!
Tiny room but very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very well located in the middle of the medina. Very good quality/price ratio. Good service. Comfortable and clean rooms. Owned by a very friendly french couple that will be always willing to give you advice if you need it. Very functional.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Riad was very well maintained and very clean. Marrakech inner city can be extremely confusing, but the owners were very helpful to help out. It has a very relaxing rooftop terras that takes you away from the busy streets. The interior is an interesting mix between modern and Moroccan style - beautiful. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice Riad in the Medina with nice rooms, delicious breakfast and above all a familiy-like atmosphere. Very good help with organizing all the tours. Thank you for the pleasent time!

Very nice Riad in the Medina with nice rooms, delicious breakfast and above all a familiy-like atmosphere. Very good help with organizing all the tours. Thank you for the pleasent time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Ghemza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ghemza

Address: Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad GHEMZA is the Winner of TRIPADVISOR 2012 Certificate of Excellence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Ghemza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ghemza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.