We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ghemza

Save Saved
You added Riad Ghemza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Ghemza
Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #93 of 1,034 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice Riad in the Medina with nice rooms, delicious breakfast and above all a familiy-like atmosphere. Very good help with organizing all the tours. Thank you for the pleasent time!

Very nice Riad in the Medina with nice rooms, delicious breakfast and above all a familiy-like atmosphere. Very good help with organizing all the tours. Thank you for the pleasent time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
86
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived until we left Fabien and Laurence made us feel completely welcome and at home in this beautiful Riad. It is perfectly located close to El Fna square, the souks and some great restaurants which we thoroughly enjoyed after Fabien’s recommendations on our arrival. My partner had been sick for 3 days prior to our arrival and Laurence and Fabien even went out of their way to give him some medicine which helped him straight away. We were also very thankful for Fabien’s spa/hammam recommendation which saved us over 1000MAD compared to the other spas we were looking at booking with. The rooms were very clean and the bed was so comfortable, it was the best sleep my partner and I had the entire trip. The breakfast was excellent and very tasty and all the staff working in the Riad were so friendly you never felt like you were being troublesome. For the price of the room and the level of service which the friendly and knowledgeable hosts had, I wouldn’t look any further for a great Riad in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Really owners and really good rooms with à good bed and à good shower. Also good daytrips and good help from the owners with finishing restaurants. Close to the souks and the main square. There are also some minus points to this riad though. The smell in the place was not so good when we came in, this was delt with as soon as we made à remark about this though. Altough we didn,t mind the owners have two little children who do make some noise and even one night we could hear them. Also the main hal is the living room for the family so there will always be children in there. Again we did not mind but if you come for à silent riad dont pick this one. Last point is that the whirlpool was not filled, this wasnt mensioned when booking. The Wifi did not reach into the room as was advertised on booking. We did have à good time though !!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadGHEMZA, Propriétaire at Riad Ghemza, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your compliments concerning the help we bring to our guests.

I am however surprised by your comments because I asked you every day if everything was O.K. and even the day of your departure, and you always answered me positively.

As regards the smell, no host has ever indicated me it, and it is true even during your stay. When you indicated it to me, I effectively spread of some perfume to be pleasant to your pregnant wife but nothing smelt.

Concerning the pool, we had just cleaned it and did not precipitated to fill it as the outside temperature did not allow to put itself in swimsuit at this moment. I would have hurried to make it if you had required it to me. But it is done now: we have filled it again.

For the WiFi, it works very well but maybe not exactly in the place where you wished it. I I want to specify that you were all the time on the privative terrace and that the WiFi works there perfectly.

We put all our heart for the biggest satisfaction of our hosts and did not hesitate, although it is not the schedule of the breakfast, to wake up at 06:00 am the days of your excursion and departure so that you did not leave with the empty stomach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Fabien and laurence were lovely hosts and very attentive. The riad itself was exceptionally clean and felt like home - extremely comfy. Location was perfect, close enough to the souks yet away from the hecticness to be a relaxing stay. On arrival Fabien was kind enough to run through some recommendations for Marrakech (although these did come with a price tag so if you'd on a budget ask first - however had every confidence Fabien only recommended the best). Laurence was lovely enough to send an email with lots of details about our next stop in Essaouria - Thanks!!

Overall, a great stay and would definitely recommend.


(Was a little bit disappointed that the hot tub wasn't working but I'm sure Fabien will have fixed this by now)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Wow! This was definitely one of our top highlights from our two-week trip in Morocco. One immediately feels at home not only due to the beautiful, comforting Riad environment but because of the owners, Fabien and Laurence. They recommended restaurants, gave useful tips on bartering, booked a hammam and much more. We definitely highly recommend staying here and we would love to come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Valence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Riad is clean, the hosts are friendly and extremely helpful.

Our problem with the Riad was the noise level. If you want a good nights sleep, this is not the place to stay as the couple have young twins who are fairly vocal.

Having said that, the breakfast is lovely and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadGHEMZA, Propriétaire at Riad Ghemza, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
I thank you very much for your compliments concerning the welcome and the help we bring to our guests.
Regarding the noise at night, I want to specify that having come with your three-year-old child, you go to bed every evening at 7:30 pm and require that there is no more noise from this hour. Luckily, in the period you came the other guests went to bed early and there was not noise anymore at about 10:00 pm but one evening, you even asked the hosts who discussed quietly in the patio at 9:00 pm to keep silent and who, surprised, left going to bed. You will understand that it is difficult to impose your requirement to the other customers, knowing that the riad is a meeting place.
As for our twins, they slept at night. Another time when they played and when it disturbed you, it was at the end of the day. It is moreover the first time when a host complains about the noise, the riad being always estimated for its peace.
Be sure that we put all our heart for the biggest satisfaction of our hosts; all the wonderful comments which we receive confirm this is the good choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I went with a friend to Marrakesh for a few days and we stayed in Riad Ghenza. It was a great experience! We felt really comfortable in our rooms, that were beautiful and extremely clean, a mix of Moroccan and modern style. Also have to say that the Riad is special because of Laurence and Fabien that were always extremely friendly, honest, helpful, and nice. Really cosy atmosphere. Miss the Mint tea in the breakfeast and the chats with Lawrence after visiting the Medina!
By the way, great location, really close to the best restaurant in Marrakesh, Le Fondounk and you can do everything walking!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Ghemza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ghemza

Address: Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 1,034 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad GHEMZA is the Winner of TRIPADVISOR 2012 Certificate of Excellence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Ghemza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ghemza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.