We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, amazing Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ghemza

Save Saved
You added Riad Ghemza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Ghemza
Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #92 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, amazing Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

The Riad was Close enough to the souks and the main square to get stuck into the action, but far away enough to relax in peace after a hard days haggling. The hospitality from Fabien, Amina and Fatima was amazing. On our first day, Fabien gave us all the info we needed to find our way around Marrakech, including a handy hand-drawn map which was much better than the standard tourist map. He also took time to show us the way to the main square and other places of interest. A wonderful Breakfast was served by Amina, along with a warm smile - a great way to start the day. The room was very comfortable (Sahara room) and was always spotless.

All in all an amazing stay and a great introduction to a beautiful city.A big thank you to Fabien for a great stay and being a great host. See you soon :-)

Room Tip: Sahara room was great, bed was really comfortable. Walk-in shower was great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
88
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

We (a family of three) had a wonderful stay at Riad Ghemza. The Riad is perfectly located in a quite residential area of the Medina but still only 10 minutes walking distance from the bustling main square.its an oasis of calm in the middle of a marrakesh medina. Very close to the main souks and the famous Restaurant Le Fundouk!
Rooms were very clean and spacious ... Minimalistically decorated with a touch of Maroc. Bathrooms are spotless and the breakfast was excellent. Fabien, the owner, made us feel at home the Minute we stepped into the Riad! We cannot recommend Riad ghemza high enough! Thanx Fabien

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Riad is newly refurbished and located in a good position, 15 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fnaa. Fabien, the owner is a great host and he will make sure that you are having a nice stay. Amina, the housekeeper is a very nice lady too and also an excellent chef!
The riad is excellent value for money and I would recommend the place to anyone. I cannot imagine anything going wrong in Riad Ghemza!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Very relaxed place, very clean and fantastic service from Fabien. A place I will return to any day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Riad Ghemza is situated in the vibrant Medina. The beauty of the Riad is that once you step inside, it is a cool, calm oasis to retreat from the bustling city.

The Riad is nicely furnished, with a light, clean and fresh interior with touches of Moroccan decoration.

The staff are friendly and helpful. Any questions you may have concerning Marrakech or your stay, Fabien (proprietor) is always on hand to assist.

Breakfast is good and varied each day. Fresh fruit, freshly baked breads and cakes are served. Amira's (cook) 1,000 hole pancakes were a lovely treat in the morning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Just got back from a great stay in Marrakesh thanks to Riad Ghemza, we booked this trip and flew out just 2 days after completing the Edinburgh marathon. What we really needed was some where clean, calm and easy in order for us to have some much needed R&R. We got exactly that with Rhiad ghemza, Fabain was extremely helpful as most of the other reviewers have mentioned and we were able to chill out in the Riad with a beer (you cant drink alcohol in most of the restaurants on the main square) or go to one of the many recommended restaurants by Fabian which were maximum 15 mins walk away, and of course some shopping in the souks.
I had a peek at some of the other rooms and they all seem really spacious and super clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and really nice to have air-conditioning as it was quite hot whilst we were there. Also there is Wifi.
If you are looking for good value accommodation that feels like a bit of luxury that is centrally located Riad Ghemza is definitely the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I was travelling with a group of friends and Riad Ghemza was our first destination in Morcocoo. Arrived off a delayed flight and we were greeted by a taxi driver with our name on a sign who then brought us into the medina. when we got to the point where the taxi couldn't go any further we brought by a local man on foot to our riad door which was opened by the owner Fabien who then sorted out all payments for our transport. the riad is down a small alley and is not somenwhere you would find easily on your own, so having a taxi arranged by the riad was definitely a good decision!

Fabien, the owner, could not have been more helpful. as first-timers in morocco he gave us guidance on prices, places to visit and places to eat. he also booked restaurants for us without any hassle and was always on hand to answer questions. the rooms were lovely and clean with plenty of hot water and the breakfast was the best we had over our whole stay.

I could not fault the riad in any way and would recommend anybody travelling to Marrakech to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ghemza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ghemza

Address: Derb Laatabi no 2 | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad GHEMZA is the Winner of TRIPADVISOR 2012 Certificate of Excellence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Ghemza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ghemza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.