We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ensemble Artisanal

Ensemble Artisanal
Avenue Mohammed V, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-86758
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 84 Shopping in Marrakech
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Just like the inner pay off the souk, you get to see craftsmen at work and products to purchase. It's a good place to gage the price of local handicrafts. The cafe serves good and cheap food too.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    123
    39
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This place is great for a browse. If you have no idea what typical moroccan goods should cost you are obviously going to be completely lost and ripped of in the souks. It does have the same goods that you can get anywhere else, but here you can relax and really have a look at things without it being assumed that you are going to buy. It has a selection of shops each specialising in something from lanterns to baskets and so it also really showcases the beautiful crafts unique to morocco. Although the building does not look like much from the outside, as with many buildings in morocco it is beautiful on the inside. I love the perfume shop here as you can really explore the scents without feeling under pressure. If you want a scent that can bring you back to marrakech in an instant, buy a small block of amber perfume leave it in a drawer.....

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

It was fun to shop here after our souk visit to buy the items that we still needed. Quite different from the souks, no worrying about being hit with a donkey cart or scooters!
You need to shop in the Ensemble and the Souk, both very different experience, both with advantages and disadvantages.
The interior of the Ensemble is worth seeing, tile work, flowers, all exquisite.
There's an ATM on site, a spot for a light lunch, and a henna artist.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford-upon-avon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We went here 3 times during our visit. First time it was really just to get an idea of prices, but I bought a lovely pair of very comfortable wedge heeled babouche type shoes in a deep red! Second time was to buy a second pair of the same shoe in blue! At under £10 a pair an absolute bargain! No hassle and very friendly staff. Also bought the most beautiful metalwork light. Able to chat to the artisans and find out about the fabrication and materials used... Third visit on the last day to buy a few souvenirs and to have lunch in the very reasonably priced cafe... Nearly bought more shoes, but decided on a gorgeous black kaftan (around £20) and a beautiful scarf (about £8). The lady in the shop where I bought the kaftan was very helpful (she spoke little English but was happy to speak slowly in French to me!) the man from whom I bought the scarf was a little difficult to find initially as he was asleep under his weaving loom, but we visited in the middle of a very very hot day! There isn't as much variety here as in the souks, and some things (lanterns for instance) we bought elsewhere (place du ferblantiers) but it is well worth a visit, is relaxed and you can see the artisans working in some of the shops. There is a beautiful park opposite too...

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
135 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Not worth the walk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were disappointed in the Ensemble Artisanal, very few shops and the quality we thought was no better than a lot of the stalls in the souks. Whilst it is promoted as hassle free shopping it was so laid back that we couldn't find a salesperson in the carpet shop. Also in a couple of the shops they indicated they were prepared to negotiate so in reality the prices are not fixed and thus one cannot use as a benchmark. The positives - there were some nice garden beds. We quickly made our way back to the souks.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ensemble Artisanal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ensemble Artisanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ensemble Artisanal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.