We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ensemble Artisanal

Ensemble Artisanal
Avenue Mohammed V, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-86758
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 84 Shopping in Marrakech
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I bought a gorgeous, very large yellow leather handbag from here, for 780 dh. The man was so lovely, and was happy for me to take my time making a decision (there were so many beautiful bags to choose from!). I never once felt pressured or rushed. The best part is that everything in the store is made by him and his father. He was standing there cobbling away while i looked at the bags. The shop is called morocconaire. We also got a beautiful name plate engraved from a shop called aidr, run by a lovely old man who only speaks french.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    123
    39
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best shopping all trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

After experiencing the medina for our first week in Morocco it was a breath of fresh air to arrive in the Ensemble. Prices clearly marked and no pestering/gambits for attention. Many artists are constructing on site and we found many treasures we intent to take home. I heard prices were above the Medina, however if you are terrible at haggling (like me) then you will still likely pay less here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“best shopping in marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

after the hustle and bustle in the souks, we found by accident this absolute gem. all the goods from the market and better for a fraction of the price. the prices were placed on the goods. you could look all you want and nobody tried to sell you something. I didn't want to buy anything on this trip and came back from this place with a whole shoppingbag.my advice, take in the atmosphere from the souk but buy at this place. just great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent - highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Marrakech and thoroughly enjoyed it! The Ensemble Artisanal is a little gem - a fantastic Government run shop/workshop centre - it's located through a very beautiful archway, which is how we stumbled across it! The staff are absolutely lovely, with no hard sell or pressure whatsoever, just leaving us to browse for as long as we wanted. They sell amazing carpets, leather goods, stunning pottery, lamps etc etc - the prices seemed very good to us and we bought souvenirs here because we found the souks incredible but we found it hard to buy anything because of the constant hassling - where at the Ensemble Artisanal, there was no pestering and you could enjoy browsing - yet the staff were on hand and would give lots of information about the making of the rugs etc - well worth a visit! The staff also wrapped our purchases so beautifully to ensure the pottery we bought would make it home safely. Absolutely recommended!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stress free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

You can shop quietly and enjoy although it seems a bit sterile after the Souks!! Goods are could quality and the looms are interesting! You will see people making all sorts of things..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ensemble Artisanal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ensemble Artisanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ensemble Artisanal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.