We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best shopping in marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ensemble Artisanal

Ensemble Artisanal
Avenue Mohammed V, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-86758
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 71 Shopping in Marrakech
Type: Art Galleries, Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“best shopping in marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

after the hustle and bustle in the souks, we found by accident this absolute gem. all the goods from the market and better for a fraction of the price. the prices were placed on the goods. you could look all you want and nobody tried to sell you something. I didn't want to buy anything on this trip and came back from this place with a whole shoppingbag.my advice, take in the atmosphere from the souk but buy at this place. just great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    82
    25
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent - highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Marrakech and thoroughly enjoyed it! The Ensemble Artisanal is a little gem - a fantastic Government run shop/workshop centre - it's located through a very beautiful archway, which is how we stumbled across it! The staff are absolutely lovely, with no hard sell or pressure whatsoever, just leaving us to browse for as long as we wanted. They sell amazing carpets, leather goods, stunning pottery, lamps etc etc - the prices seemed very good to us and we bought souvenirs here because we found the souks incredible but we found it hard to buy anything because of the constant hassling - where at the Ensemble Artisanal, there was no pestering and you could enjoy browsing - yet the staff were on hand and would give lots of information about the making of the rugs etc - well worth a visit! The staff also wrapped our purchases so beautifully to ensure the pottery we bought would make it home safely. Absolutely recommended!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stress free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

You can shop quietly and enjoy although it seems a bit sterile after the Souks!! Goods are could quality and the looms are interesting! You will see people making all sorts of things..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No need to haggle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We wanted to buy things in the souk but found the haggling off putting. Here at Ensemble Artisanal you get local goods at a fair price and don't have to haggle. They even have the prices on the goods. We went one day and then again another day to buy all we wanted. They have a wide range on offer - carpets, leather goods, even hand crafted musical instruments. The café is excellent too.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Low pressure shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

They have parking.
They have a nice coffee shop.
They have an ATM machine and open air areas.
They have well crafted goods of better-than-medina quality.

But mostly, the shop proprietors leave you alone to browse. Attentive but low key.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ensemble Artisanal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ensemble Artisanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ensemble Artisanal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.