We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress free” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ensemble Artisanal

Ensemble Artisanal
Avenue Mohammed V, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-86758
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 70 Shopping in Marrakech
Type: Art Galleries, Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stress free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

You can shop quietly and enjoy although it seems a bit sterile after the Souks!! Goods are could quality and the looms are interesting! You will see people making all sorts of things..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    75
    24
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“No need to haggle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We wanted to buy things in the souk but found the haggling off putting. Here at Ensemble Artisanal you get local goods at a fair price and don't have to haggle. They even have the prices on the goods. We went one day and then again another day to buy all we wanted. They have a wide range on offer - carpets, leather goods, even hand crafted musical instruments. The café is excellent too.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Low pressure shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

They have parking.
They have a nice coffee shop.
They have an ATM machine and open air areas.
They have well crafted goods of better-than-medina quality.

But mostly, the shop proprietors leave you alone to browse. Attentive but low key.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Everything you want without the haggle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

There are a good variety of shops here selling good quality goods. The man in the carpet shop was so helpful to my friend. She wanted a red patterned rug and he helped her go through the pile until she found the pattern she liked. The man in one of the shops selling wooden goods told us about his family who made the goods. The man in the musical instrument shop gave us a demonstration of the little drums. All this without any pressure to buy and we came away with lots of shopping. It is a nice relaxed place to shop. However you must also go to the souk and square so you can enjoy haggling over a few dirhams as it's fun once you get used to it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“No pressure browsing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I love to browse... so I was delighted to be able to wander round this pleasant complex in peace.
Yes, haggling is the done thing in Morocco and yes, you can probably get better prices in the souks (though not necessarily- I tried but I think I'm totally rubbish at haggling!) however, I really liked the no-pressure atmosphere.
The goods are varied and of a nice quality, and the relaxed courtyard cafe is a good spot to sit with some mint tea (or a tagine- lovely) and chill out away from the bustle of the city.
Really nice set up- and recommended if you're not much of a haggler or just want a more relaxed shopping experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ensemble Artisanal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ensemble Artisanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ensemble Artisanal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.