We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to haggle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ensemble Artisanal

Ensemble Artisanal
Avenue Mohammed V, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-86758
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 89 Shopping in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No need to haggle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We wanted to buy things in the souk but found the haggling off putting. Here at Ensemble Artisanal you get local goods at a fair price and don't have to haggle. They even have the prices on the goods. We went one day and then again another day to buy all we wanted. They have a wide range on offer - carpets, leather goods, even hand crafted musical instruments. The café is excellent too.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    138
    41
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Low pressure shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

They have parking.
They have a nice coffee shop.
They have an ATM machine and open air areas.
They have well crafted goods of better-than-medina quality.

But mostly, the shop proprietors leave you alone to browse. Attentive but low key.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Everything you want without the haggle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

There are a good variety of shops here selling good quality goods. The man in the carpet shop was so helpful to my friend. She wanted a red patterned rug and he helped her go through the pile until she found the pattern she liked. The man in one of the shops selling wooden goods told us about his family who made the goods. The man in the musical instrument shop gave us a demonstration of the little drums. All this without any pressure to buy and we came away with lots of shopping. It is a nice relaxed place to shop. However you must also go to the souk and square so you can enjoy haggling over a few dirhams as it's fun once you get used to it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“No pressure browsing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I love to browse... so I was delighted to be able to wander round this pleasant complex in peace.
Yes, haggling is the done thing in Morocco and yes, you can probably get better prices in the souks (though not necessarily- I tried but I think I'm totally rubbish at haggling!) however, I really liked the no-pressure atmosphere.
The goods are varied and of a nice quality, and the relaxed courtyard cafe is a good spot to sit with some mint tea (or a tagine- lovely) and chill out away from the bustle of the city.
Really nice set up- and recommended if you're not much of a haggler or just want a more relaxed shopping experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For Those Who Don't Want To Haggle, Come Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Found this place after already visiting the Souks and what a difference it was. Not only do you get a much more relaxed experience but the shopkeepers did not push for sales and told us about their trade. The cafe offers a chance to sit down and have a drink/some food (brought own water so cant comment on the prices or quality). Some of the stalls allow you to take pictures and will not ask money for it. Also was lucky enough to be in the Ensemble Artisanal during prayer call and everyone got to watch how the shopkeepers will close up and go to the little square to prayer. This is not something many people will get to see in person and close up.

There is a variety of goods on offer and brought most of the gifts from the stalls here. Even something simple as having your name in Arabic can make a wonderful gift for not much money. As there were wooden and metal objects for sale, you got to watch them being made which added to the experience.

As many other reviews say, if you want to have the fun of haggling then the Souks are the place to go and you might get better prices but this allowed time to just wonder without being hassled.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ensemble Artisanal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ensemble Artisanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ensemble Artisanal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.