We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More choice in the souks and smaller shops” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ensemble Artisanal

Ensemble Artisanal
Avenue Mohammed V, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-86758
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 71 Shopping in Marrakech
Type: Art Galleries, Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More choice in the souks and smaller shops”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Was disappointed with the choice and prices - prices were higher than expected and better offers to be had in the smaller shops of the alleyways of the main square.

Ceramics were limited and far too higher price -

Also although previous shoppers advised no hassle we felt pressure when looking at the carpets from staff who were not very happy just to let us browse.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    78
    24
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you visit the souks first, you will be underwhelmed here.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We weren't aware of the ensemble artisanal when we arrived in marrakech, so we visited the souks first. Then other guests in our riad said that we simply must visit, so we did. However after experiencing the buzz and vibrancy of the souks, we found this place quite dull. We did ask for the prices of certain items that we had bought or were planning to buy in the souk, and although they were reasonable, you can get similar or better items cheaper in the souk if you are a confident haggler.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Start your shopping here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Always start your shopping here as it gives you a brilliant guide to all the items you may wish to barter for in the souk.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good for last minute shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went there the same day of our departure and was happy to discover this place where you can do some last minute shopping

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

nice one stop shop the the tourist that is in a hurry. But I note everything is overpriced. Maybe they expect a but of haggling...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ensemble Artisanal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ensemble Artisanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ensemble Artisanal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.