We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ensemble Artisanal

Ensemble Artisanal
Avenue Mohammed V, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-86758
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 99 Shopping in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

nice one stop shop the the tourist that is in a hurry. But I note everything is overpriced. Maybe they expect a but of haggling...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank aerosid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hassle free quality souvenir shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Situated on Avenue Mohammed V which is the road from the new town down towards the Medina, this little fixed price shopping complex is really worth a visit. You can see some of the goods being made in the tiny shops and its great to know that you are supporting local workers. We bought quite a lot there - I bought some leather and kilm cowboy boots for 560DH and a gorgeous quality leather rucksack for 650DH. My husband bought a vintage leather laptop bag for 550DH and we bought a leather jewellery box for 180DH and some handmade wooden dice in a wooden box for just 60DH. Maybe if you are an expert haggler you could get all of these things cheaper in the souk, but we were happier this way as it was so much nicer browsing without being jumped on. The little cafe area is lovely too and we had lunch there one day and coffee and cake another. If you use the cafe, make sure you use their loos downstairs as the ones upstairs are guarded well by a lady who wants your money! Oh and we also got 3 great paintings for around £20 in total.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do your shopping here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Easier than the souks but not as exciting. No haggling which was great after all the negotiations we had to do in the souks. A good variety of handicrafts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hutchNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Easy Marrakech souvenir hunting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a good place if you want hasle free, no haggle buying, though the prices aren't always the cheapest available. Shop around, evn inside the ensemble!
Hand-made linen shirts for about £8.00, hand-made berber style djellabas for £15, pointy leather slippers for about £12, genune cooking tagines for about £15 etc...
This is a place where you can actually see the items being made in front of you too. The Zellij tiling place at the far end is incredible - we were actually shown the decorative Zellij panels being created and assembled on the floor - made my day!! They're a bit heavy to take on the plane, unfortunately....!

Definitely worth a visit!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KernowExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“better shopping than Souks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

all the arts and craft shops are in one place selling the same stuff as the souks at a much cheaper fixed prices. for example , the plastic bottle covers are fixed at 50 dirhams, where as at the souk, they start at 100, even if you start our bargaining at 50 it will only go up. it is also a government project to support disabled women. only 5 min walk from Djemma El Fna tour bus pick up stop right in front of Cyber park.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nagindth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ensemble Artisanal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ensemble Artisanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing