We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Naima

Restaurant Naima
Rue Azbest No. 30, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
00212 6 67 84 63 70
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

A mouthful of tagine: lovely caramlised gooeyness punctuated by the crunch of almonds. Cous-cous: full of flavour. Chicken: falls off the bone. Tea: warm and yummy. Went twice, lunch and dinner. Be patient with Moustapha, seems to do almost everything himself.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    53
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, CI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a small family run restaurant. To be honest it's more like a cafe. Very small and limited menu. When we were there Mostafa was cooking with his grandmother. Simple but excellent food. Great value and he was a lovely host.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Mustapha (overseen by his grandmother) only cooks one or two main dishes for each meal, with prep sometimes taking up to two days. The result is wonderful home-style food in a family atmosphere. Even the mint tea is better than most.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hidden gem in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Upon our last evening in Marrakech we chose to eat at Naima's because it was comfortably close to our Riad (Khadija). We passed before a couple of times heading for better known places such as Café Arabe, Terrace des épices etcetera. but were curious enough to give it at least one try. The interior is very basic but clean, with an open kitchen displaying Maroccan home-cooking at its best. The restaurant uses fresh products coming from the vegetable market literaly just steps away.
As we arrived quite late they ran out of Couscous and we were offered a Tajine with chicken, figs and sesame seeds which was tastier than the ones we had at the fancier places described above. Moreover, as an extra dish the cook improvised an extra vegetable couscous with fresh stuff her brother Mustapha got from the market, not charging extra and just for the joy of pleasing their guests. Alltogether, for a very sharp price (100 dirham) you get plenty of delicious food, complimentary mint tea (if you didn't OD on that allready ;) ) and an authentic heartfelt experience not found at fancier places that charge at least triple prices for less tasty food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best lamb tagine in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were just strolling in the medina when we stumbledupon this wonderful place. The decor is simple, but the food is fantastic. You can splurge at le foundouk or get a real good tagine over het naima's.


Everything is fresh and you get a complete 3course menu for 100dh, incredible good price for this quality.


Finding it can be a bit hard but is really worth it..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Naima also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Naima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Naima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.