We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service at L'Etoile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Etoile d'Orient

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad l'Etoile d'Orient to your Saves list
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Derb Dabachi, Derb Moulay Abdelkader no52, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #159 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service at L'Etoile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had a great two nights in Riad l'Etoile following a two day trek up and down Mt Toubkal. Still in our trekking gear, our porter weaved through the souks and alleyways of Marrakech. We came across an unpromising doorway and feared the worst. We couldn't have been more wrong. From the moment the door opened and our first beer arrived until our final moments before departure, we were perfectly looked after. The manager, Abla, clearly knew what customer service was and did everything we asked of her, however unreasonable, in a charming way. She found us a UK travel adapter, brought us drinks wherever we sat, let us have use of our suite until departure (7pm) etc.
She even pretended to enjoy our British wit! If I ever go back to Marrakech, it will be to l'Etoile. Much better than the bland establishments in the New Town. Please be aware that the Riad is a high quality place. Breakfast was on the rooftop terrace as was the hot tub. Faultless!

Room Tip: Try a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
92
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was a 4 night stay as a birthday treat for my wife. We wanted to explore old Marrakech and we didn't want to battle with taxi drivers every time we went out. A Riad is a guest house or small family hotel. It is not trying to be the Hilton. This one was in the heart of the Medina. Everything was within walking distance, if you could find it in the maze of alley ways. The Riad was absolutely spotless. All the facilities that you would expect in a modern hotel room were there in perfect working order with the exception of tea making facilities. Once you had befriended the reception staff you didn't want the instant stuff that is normally in your room. The local mint tea was so refreshing.
The staff were an absolute delight and couldn't do enough for you. We struggled with language sometimes but a smile from both sides and a bit of simple sign language always got a result. On our first night we had pre booked dinner on the roof terrace. It was really excellent. We went for the lamb tagine and none of the restaurants we tried locally could match it.
All in all a really excellent place to stay. Quiet, clean, friendly and a great location

Room Tip: The Atlas rooms were nice but small. They had all the facilities but space was at a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lovely clean, fresh and modern Riad in the heart of the Medina, a stones throw from the main square (which makes it easy to find - as navigating your way around the medina can be tricky). A lovely place to come back to and relax away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The Riad were staff were very helpful and welcoming, and we really enjoyed the breakfast on the roof terrace every morning

Room Tip: Giena Suite was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were seven females on our first trip to Marrakech. We stayed at this traditional Riad in the heart of the Medina. The interior is very stylish and very clean. The hotel receptionist was very informative and helpful. The lovely thing about staying at this Riad was the way every thing was so personable. Having tea on the house every day was like chilling at home. We had our own guide every where we went. This is completely free of charge although tipping is left up to you. Of course we tipped, our guide Yassin was worth his weight in gold. My only critism is breakfast. Some one just needs to teach the lovely cooks how to make an omelette. It's a squashed fried egg. A bit petty I guess. Top tips for Marrakech, make sure you take your address with you. There are lots of Riads And local's won't know your Riad by name. You also get a better rate at Marrakech Airport.
If you want a cool night night out, check out Bo Zin bar and restaurant. Enjoy!
Kelly

Room Tip: There are seven rooms available. I saw three. All really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

7 of us - all girls travelled to Marrakech for the first time. It wasn't a hen party or a rowdly cheap get away that we wanted. Most of us have children and wanted luxury, fun, music and good food. We had been away to Cannes, Ibiza, Cyprus and much more but decided we wanted to travel somewhere that offered style, value a feeling of luxury and to be in the hubbub of a compeltely different culture - Marrakech. We were met by their driver, who weaved his way across the square to this delightly tucked away Riad. Most of the Riads have a terrace but no pool but there are beautiful hotels nearby if you want the added luxury. If it is your first time and you prefer complete 5 star luxury I recommend you stay here at least some of your stay - at the beginning, to truly experience Marrakech otherwise you will miss out. The staff were wonderful, charming and shared a natural willingness to be helpful. Nothing was too much of a bother whether it was to phone a restuarant or arrange a guide this was done with pleasure. I recommend this place whether it is a couple, group of singletons as the rooms were beautiful, corridors were adorned with ornate shades, chandeliers and white linen and you could relax on the terrace or venture further a field. The mint tea was to die for. After a hot day on the beach we opted for a variety of massages. It was customary for two to be massaged at the same time so there was no need to by shy! It is a fantastic place to visit, but like any city you have to be villigent but no more so than any other city. You will not be disappointed with Riad l'Etoile d'Orient.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful whether it be for 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

A great experience! The Riad is really in the thick of it but we were provided with a personal escort to guide us through the main square and so were able to relax and enjoy without getting lost!. Staying in a Riad is a very personal experience and we were very well looked after; clean rooms, fresh towels, mint tea on our return every day and a wonderful breakfast. Abla and her team were also able to recommend many places to escape the hustle and bustle and some fabulous restaurants.
A Taste of the real Marrakech and an opportunity to experience life in the Medina, which would have been lost had we stayed in one of the many 5 star resorts. Lots of fun! x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellant Riad in the heart of the medina. Staff were very attentive and helpful. Very nice clean rooms. Roof terrace with Hot tub perfect for relaxing.
Breakfast on the roof terrace was very nice and the mint tea and biscuits delightful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Etoile d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Etoile d'Orient

Address: Derb Dabachi, Derb Moulay Abdelkader no52, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad l'Etoile d'Orient 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely rebuilt in 2010 the Riad Etoile D'Orient offers a refined setting combining tradition and modernity, reflecting sweet life and voluptousness. The Riad is exceptionally located at the heart of the bustling Marrakesh, at a two minutes walk from the Jamaa el fna square.Staying at Riad l'Etoile d'Orient is to discover the magic of a unique place in Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad l'Etoile d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Etoile d'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.