We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Etoile d'Orient

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad l'Etoile d'Orient to your Saves list
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Derb Dabachi, Derb Moulay Abdelkader no52, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the Medina close to the main square, restaurants and shopping.
They were very prompt with all correspondence and nothing was a problem. They organised pickup and a bag porter to the hotel which is highly recommended, as it was rather late we also had them organise dinner which was delicious. The staff were extremely attentive and Abla, the manageress was calmly efficient, spoke very good english and was extremely helpful.The rooms were spacious, well appointed and nicely decorated. We enjoyed our stay so much we rebooked on our return visit to Marrakech. Can't recommend this Riad highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
109
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel arranged to pick us up from the airport. The taxi took us to Jemaa El Fna piazza where our luggage was transferred to a 'porter' who transferred our cases to the hotel. What an experience!We were met by Abla who greeted us with mint tea and small cakes. The rooms are very clean and serviced daily.Staff were attentive throughout our four day stay.We had breakfast on the roof terrace, which was a little cool in January, but still a lovely experience. We had evening meals on two occasions and the meals were good if a little expensive.The riad is situated very near to the Souks in the heart of the Medina.If you want to experience a very different sight seeing break we would thoroughly recommend this riad.

Room Tip: Wherever you are you will be woken at 5am with the call to prayer. We were on the ground floor and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Frank, Abla, and Mr X (I don't recall his real name) made our trip excellent. We were offered dinner and/or airport pickup door-to-door upon booking. After we arrived we were greeted with warm tea and snacks. Then Frank kindly took a map and started to give us an understanding of the Medina and worthwhile places to visit. We were given a tour of the Riad (minus the hammam since it was occupied at the time). Afterward we were shown packages for hammam/spa and day trips; he answered all our questions and even gave us inputs.

Best of all everything you get from the Riad is charged to your final bill and you can even purchase items in the front cabinet.

I highly recommend this place. Oh and if you're still not convinced we were given a mobile number to call if we were in need of anything (turned out to be Frank's mobile).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful Riad in October, 2012 based on previous reviews and photos. I can tell you that there is nothing negative to say, only excellence in every respect. Location was just a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of the Jamaa El Fna yet very tranquil. Souqs were minutes away. Decor very modern which for us was a nice change from the older riads and hotels we had just stayed in on a tour of Morocco. It was extremely clean, breakfast consisted of an omelette, fresh juice, toast, cheese, jams etc. All staff very friendly and efficient and our special ladies Mahjouba and Alba really made our stay a memorable one. Very helpful with places of interest. Nothing was too much trouble. We cannot speak highly enough of this Riad.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms (we stayed in the Brahim) opened onto courtyard and we had no stairs to climb whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A reviewers have said before this riad has a great location and comfortable rooms. The outstanding experience for us was the staff, especially Abla at the front desk. She happily provided a wealth of information which made our introduction to Morocco so positive. Every request was met with a smile and helpfulness. Very much appeciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

First of all the location, this riad is a 5 minute walk from the square, located a couple of hundred yards from the main routes to the southern tourist spots (palace, tombs) and a short walk to the northern sports (museum, islamic school). The close proximity to the square allowed us to eat out every night in or on the square and have no concerns about walking back to our riad at night.

The riad is very very modern inside, every room have AC a TV (with the 1000+ free Moroccan channels) and all the modern touches you'd expect from a top hotel. Bed was comfy and the AC kept the room a very pleasant temperature. Another plus was the mini bar fridge, we didn't use from the mini bar but the fridge was handy for cooling our own drinks. The only downside about the riad was that because it was so modern it lacked some of the character the older ones have, for this reason It's got 4/5

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, we stayed in the cheapest Atlas room, this was "cosy" but stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

L'Etoile d'Orient is perfectly located next to the main square but off the main road, which allowed us to spend a very relaxing night.
The manager and staff of the riad were very kind and attentive to our demands. They were especially very helpfull in sugesting places to go to eat and visit. Special mention to their tea which was excellent.
The Riad is quite new and beautifully decorated and has all the required amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#156 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Carllian
Riad Carllian
#170 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#102 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#26 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#33 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Bindoo
Riad Bindoo
#154 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Etoile d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Etoile d'Orient

Address: Derb Dabachi, Derb Moulay Abdelkader no52, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad l'Etoile d'Orient 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely rebuilt in 2010 the Riad Etoile D'Orient offers a refined setting combining tradition and modernity, reflecting sweet life and voluptousness. The Riad is exceptionally located at the heart of the bustling Marrakesh, at a two minutes walk from the Jamaa el fna square.Staying at Riad l'Etoile d'Orient is to discover the magic of a unique place in Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Riad l'Etoile d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Etoile d'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.