We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Joya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Joya to your Saves list
Riad Joya
Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We recently spent six nights at Riad Joya and have tried to think of how we could review this fantastic property to portray how exceptional it is. Nordine (Feisel as we called him) and his team exceeded our expectations everyday. We were very warmly welcomed and made to feel that the beautiful Riad was our home in Marrakech. Nordine ensured we went to the best money exchange place, he booked taxis for us daily and negotiated the right prices for us, so that we were well looked after. He walked with us to meet the taxi or to the restaurant he suggested for us. He made appointments for us to shop for carpets, nothing was ever too much for Nordine.

We also had the great pleasure of doing a cooking class at the Riad, which was very insightful to walk through the local markets and shop with Chef Medhi and learn how to cook wonderful Moroccan dishes.

We have owned Hotels for the past ten years and have always held guest service as our highest priority, we have never experienced such amazing service as what we had from Nordine and Riad Joya. We will return to Marrakech just to stay at Riad Joya, which is beautifully decorated and very centrally located, we will also return as the team genuinely made us feel that this is our home in Marrakech.

Well Done Riad Joya, Nordine and the Team, a wonderful stay that we will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
109
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I normally don't write reviews but because of the incredible hospitality of the staff I really wanted to share my amazing experience at the Riad Joya. The Riad is amongst the souks in the old town and staying in this area is truly a unique and unforgettable experience. Outside is busy and bustling yet inside the Riad is the perfect tranquil oasis. The design is the perfect combo of modern western ideals combined with traditional Moroccan motifs. Every morning a traditional breakfast is served. We particularly loved the tea. One night we opted to dine at the Riad for dinner and we were treated to the most delicious soup, Moroccan tajine and caramelized pear for desert. There is also a traditional hammam if you would like to treat yourself. The hotel room was divine. Every night we were treated to fresh fruit and the design was just how you would imagine the most peaceful and luxurious North African hotel to be. The best part of the trip was the hospitality of the staff. Our host offered the most helpful tips on how to navigate the city and where the best tourist attractions were. Morocco is known for it's hospitality and the Riad Joya definitely lives up to the expectation. We will most definitely be visiting again!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms adjoin...perfect for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Because of the excellent service I have decided to write my very first review on Trip Advisor.
We stayed at Riad Joya in July 2014, this was by far the best city break hotel I have stayed at.
The Decor is simple yet very stylish. The staff are more than accommodating. There is nothing that is too much. We requested snacks during the day and got amazing salads.
The hammam and massage we had was pure luxury.
Rooms were cleaned every time we stepped out of your room.
The chef - Medi was just amazing-I have never tasted various flavours in one dish that compliment each other.
The location of the Riad perfect, close to the Souks and the square.
We'll defiantly be back!
Thank you for an incredible stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Riad Joya is a beautiful Riad with a mix of modern style and ethnic, yet minimal decor. The rooms were gorgeous and it's clear that a lot of attention to detail has gone into this place, keeping today's traveler in mind.The staff were amazing. Mehdi and his team clearly understand 5 star service and were extremely helpful, flexible and went out of their way to ensure we had a great time while we were there.
This was one of the two places we stayed in Marrakech, the second was a complete disaster, and so we ended up coming back to Riad Joya for the second leg of our trip as well, for which the staff were extremely accommodating and helpful in getting us moved back to Riad Joya.
We came across a lot of Riads during our trip and this really was the best in terms of luxury, cleanliness, wonderful food and a great location. Highly recommended and if we return to Marrakech, we will be coming back here.

Room Tip: Each room is different, but they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Our stay was fabulous. I cannot imagine a better experience. Notable comments: Location: Intriguing. We stepped from the curving pathways of the ancient city into a modern and sumptuous riad. Service: Truly noteworthy and professional. The staff was always interested in assisting in anyway possible, but in a non-intrusive way. The concierge arranged informative tours of a historical mosque, the market, the mountains outside of the city, and a ride on dromedaries (one-hump camels). Accommodations: Fabulous. The rooms were exquisitely appointed and comfortable. Food: Truly fresh and delicious. Our daughter accompanied the chef to the market, selected vegetables, and helped to prepare our meal! Truly something she will remember for a long time. Atmosphere: Interesting. Other guests: Friendly and with diverse backgrounds. Bottom line: Perfection. (Riad Joya has to be the best riad in Marrakech.)

Room Tip: When you arrive, the concierge will show you available rooms. They were all fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We chose Riad Joya as our first stop as part of a three legged trip in Morocco with friends. From the moment we were greeted at the airport onwards, the service we received from all the staff was superb. We have never felt more welcome at any hotel in the world. The Riad itself is very conveniently located, and the staff were extremely helpful in giving us advice on where to go (and how). The rooms are clean, tidy and exude understated elegance throughout.

Some reviewers have complained about the price of dinner, but I can assure you it is worth every penny, the food we ate (four breakfasts, two lunches, two dinners) was fabulous and cooked absolutely fresh. We even got to observe the chef preparing the food so we could learn how to make Moroccan salads and tagines.

On the third leg of the trip, we checked in to a different Riad but found the service awful. We were able to call Fanan and Mahdi at Riad Joya at 9pm who immediately offered to accommodate us again at the same rate. The next morning Mahdi personally came to collect us, and settled us in again with his usual candour and extreme helpfulness. We are eternally grateful that he rescued us!

We will remember our visit to Marrakech very fondly, and this is due in a large part to how wonderfully we were treated at the peaceful Riad Joya. Thank you all for making us feel at home.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great place, beautiful accommodation, very clean and great design and comfortable. What made it was the staff - the Butler Nordi was excellent and no request was too much, they thought of everything. Only one negative was the distance from the road - a very long walk so went in flats and carried heels on nights out and the staff took the flats back to the Riad.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.