We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undeniably the best service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Joya

Save Saved
You added Riad Joya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Joya
Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Undeniably the best service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We chose Riad Joya as our first stop as part of a three legged trip in Morocco with friends. From the moment we were greeted at the airport onwards, the service we received from all the staff was superb. We have never felt more welcome at any hotel in the world. The Riad itself is very conveniently located, and the staff were extremely helpful in giving us advice on where to go (and how). The rooms are clean, tidy and exude understated elegance throughout.

Some reviewers have complained about the price of dinner, but I can assure you it is worth every penny, the food we ate (four breakfasts, two lunches, two dinners) was fabulous and cooked absolutely fresh. We even got to observe the chef preparing the food so we could learn how to make Moroccan salads and tagines.

On the third leg of the trip, we checked in to a different Riad but found the service awful. We were able to call Fanan and Mahdi at Riad Joya at 9pm who immediately offered to accommodate us again at the same rate. The next morning Mahdi personally came to collect us, and settled us in again with his usual candour and extreme helpfulness. We are eternally grateful that he rescued us!

We will remember our visit to Marrakech very fondly, and this is due in a large part to how wonderfully we were treated at the peaceful Riad Joya. Thank you all for making us feel at home.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
102
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great place, beautiful accommodation, very clean and great design and comfortable. What made it was the staff - the Butler Nordi was excellent and no request was too much, they thought of everything. Only one negative was the distance from the road - a very long walk so went in flats and carried heels on nights out and the staff took the flats back to the Riad.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It is difficult not to repetitive of other reviews. Nori said from the moment we walked in that Riad Joya was "our home", and that is exactly how he and his staff made us feel -- like family. Their genuine kindness and love of what they do was clearly evident. We were always greeted with a smile when we came in and walked to the door with an offer to guide us to our destination when we ventured out into the souks. Our daughter likened the housekeeping staff to ninjas -- whenever we left our room, even for 10 minutes, wet towels were replaced, clean water glasses put out, if one dried apricot was eaten, it too would be replaced, floors swept and clothes folded -- all without them being seen or heard. Amazing!!!! The rooms are heavenly and luxurious and the courtyard is absolutely beautiful and so peaceful. We enjoyed a hammam and massage downstairs -- incredible, and much needed after walking the souks of Fez and Marrakesh! We also booked a cooking class with their amazing chef, Medhi, and were presented with the gift of a tagine to bring home with us! When we mentioned to him that we had seen Msemen with egg and cheese being prepared in the souk, he surprised us with it for breakfast the next morning. It was one kindness after another for three unforgettable days, and we wished we were staying longer. My husband and I are luxury travellers, and have never experienced a stay such as this one. We would not consider staying anywhere else when we return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

It is treasure of peace and relaxation in the exciting medina section of Marrakech. Moroccan inspiration with Italian design makes this 7 room riad almost magical. The host, Nori, and his staff are marvelous. It's worth the walk through the busy markets to reach this oasis

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

When we were looking for hotels, riad joya stood out because of the very neutral and simplistic decor and when we contacted them, Sophie was incredibly helpful in getting the arrnagements done. Still, we were not fully prepared for the experience. The rooms are great (we stayed in the Ottoman suite) the colors are a muted cream with a hint of gold, and the bathrooms are a delicious sorbet blue. All of the moroccan decor was incorporated so beautifully into the design aesthetic it seemed so organic and in place.
Service: We were greeted at the airport by the Noradeen and he literally walked us to everyplace we needed to go and made it so personal. He personally made all the dinner reservations and took us to the souk vendor who sold more quality stuff. Fanan was equally great in making sure all of our dining needs were met.
We had the traditional welcome with mint tea, cookies and washing of hands with rose water. Turn down service was great. The rooms and the surrounding common spaces and roof top was impeccably clean and well maintained. I personally witnessed the ladies cleaning the room and they were so thorough, they put every little thing away that the room was always a haven.
If there is a drawback, it is in the fact that this riad does not have a pool but everything else took care of it.

We booked our tours through them and you might find cheaper options through other tour operators but we loved the personal attention throughout the tour. The price differential was not that great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Excellent service, very relaxing, friendly staff, very helpful. We booked a tour with them which was very good, good value for our money. The rooms were clean. We planned to stay One night but we decided to extent our stay. Only thing, imlil is quite cold in december but fortunately the room had heating and the common room had a fireplace.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

You would be hard pressed to find a Riad with a location as fabulous as Riad Joya. The Medina is a maze like I've never seen and it is rare to find accommodation in the Medina that is centrally located and therefore easy to walk to hot spots. Riad Joya is in the heart of Medina and just a few minutes walk from the main square and Souks.

For being located in the heart of this noisy city, it is astonishing how quiet the Riad is. There is a courtyard with an open roof and at night when you look up at the stars it feels as if you are miles away from any city.

The staff here are incredibly friendly. I am a young female and travelled with another female friend. This was our first visit to Morocco and the staff went out of their way to make us feel safe and protected.

Dinner here is an absolute must. The restaurant is intimate and quiet and you will feel like royalty in the elegant ambiance. Rich flavors and an abundance of food.

Stay here and you will not regret it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Herramblings

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experience at our little gem Riad Joya.
We are in lucky position in the Medina it is true. From here you appreciate the closeness to the most beautiful part of the souk in a quiet environment.

Most importantly we are happy to read your comments about our members of Joya family and that you felt comfortable in this experience as women travelers.

Ahhh - the food - our passion - what can we say? thank you thank you thank you for your comments. Chef Mehdi and Fennane will be delighted to read your words.

We will wait for you another time!

Warmest regards from a warm Marrakech

Khalid & Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.