We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in the medina.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Joya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Joya to your Saves list
Riad Joya
Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Serenity in the medina.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

After much research we chose the Riad Joya for a 4 day break away in May and we were not disappointed in any way with our choice.

The break was to celebrate a special occasion and the criteria for booking was somewhere small enough to give good service, close enough to walk to most things and traditional in style and appearance and I'm pleased to say this Riad performs on all levels.

The booking process was easy, we had the same contact throughout and adding special touches or making amendments to our plans was straight forward. We were collected from the airport by a driver and also one of the waiters from the Riad, after about 15 minutes we were driven to the walls of the medina, where we then had a 5 minute walk to the Riad, upon arrival we were offered a traditional Moroccan welcome and the obligatory mint tea and sweets which was a lovely start to the holiday.

We stayed in suite Naos for 2 nights and then moved to Ambregris for the final 2 nights, we had tours of all but one of the seven suites during our stay and they all looked light, spacious and had everything you'd need. The Riad is so peaceful and tranquil that you could easily forget your only a couple of alleyways away from the hustle and bustle of the medina but that's what makes this Riad so special.

All the staff at the Riad are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble but special mention must go to Noureddine, he greeted us upon arrival, was our butler and tour guide at times! He was our first port of call for help or advice on what to see and where to go during our stay, he's a credit to the Riad, he works so hard, is genuinely helpful and clearly enjoys his job and this made our stay perfect. Mehdi is the chef but he also served us our meals on occasion, he explained the menu's to us, made dishes especially for us, prepared the most amazing private dining meal on the terrace with traditional Moroccan musicians and open fire and even suggested going into the kitchen to see how the traditional tagine's are prepared.

Consistency is the key to a pleasurable holiday and all of the staff at the Riad clearly work hard to maintain this, even the housekeeping was exceptional, fresh water and fruit was replenished every time we had left the room, beds were made and the room cleaned with minimal fuss and without disruption in any way. We loved our 4 days at the Riad and cannot recommend it highly enough, I personally think you'd have to be extremely picky to find fault and its on our tick list of places to return to. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Azizam1

We are glad that you have enjoyed your special celebration while at Riad Joya in Marrakech. This is really important that you keep good long lasting memories of your visit.

it is great to read about your satisfaction with your stay in every detail and that you were able to stay with us long enough to feel at home.

Please stay in contact and come back!

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
103
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went to Marrakech for 8 days and stayed for 4 days in Riad Joya. When we arrived at the airport, a staff member of the riad was waiting for us and when we were dropped off just outside the medina, another staff member helped us with our luggage and brought us to the riad. We were welcomed by the majordomo, Nourredine, a charismatic and extremely helpful man. He arranged a day trip to Ourica valley for us and helped us with booking a quad ride. All the other staff members were incredibly friendly as well, from the guy who served us breakfast every morning to the housekeeping lady.
The rooms we had were both very spacious and beautifully decorated (we had the Ambregris and the Tuareg), the housekeeping did their work properly and every time we arrived in our room, fresh fruits were waiting for us.
About the location: the riad is situated in a quiet alley at only 3 minutes from Jamâa el Fna, so the location couldn't have been better.
The food was very good too: every morning there was Danish pastry, yoghurt, omelettes, fruit, freshly baked Moroccan bread,... and the optional dinner consisted of a perfectly cooked tagine.
In short, we had a fantastic experience in this charming riad with the most friendly service I've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Luois Deloz

Thank you for this fantastic feedback! We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Riad Joya and Marrakech.

It is good that you had the chance to go to the Ourica Valley from the Red City: Marrakech is a good starting point for many excursions so please come back to enjoy more!

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was by far the best small hotel I have ever stayed at. Words can't do this hotel justice as the service was incredible. The people were so nice, so helpful and the services they provide were great.

We arrived at the airport and had the hotel pick us up (highly recommend as it is not an easy place to find in the medina if you have never been there before) and they welcomed us with tea and baked goods. Nordeen the "butler" who seemed more like an enthusiastic owner trying hard to make his business thrive took care of everything and the other staff were also great. I highly recommend you eat dinner at the hotel on the room for one of the nights. The first night is a great night to try it as they introduce you to Moroccan cuisine with a tangine full of the local spices and taste. However you must alert them a few hours before that you would like dinner so they can go to the market and buy the fresh products for you. Ask Nordeen to do anything in terms of organizing or for recommendations. He's non biased towards friends or anything of that sort and is a great help.

In the rooms there is no TV but the hotel it self is an oasis in the middle of a busy Medina. It is a great place to relax and get away from the day's bustle and is a choice that you won't regret. The hotel has 7 rooms looking onto a courtyard in the middle and is truly spectacular.

Downside is that there is no pool but most if not all riads in the medina don't because of rules from the government apparently.

I highly suggest you stay in the median versus more american style hotels outside as it really gives you the true experience.

On the first day I suggest you get him to walk you into the square and show you the landmarks on how to get back as it may a little bit confusing.

Simply Spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Ryhy

Thank you for staying with your family at Riad Joya.

We are delighted to read your comments on our team and our service.

We hope to welcome you back to Marrakech soon.

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I recently spent one night at this beautiful riad in the medina. We were originally booked for two nights but due to a missed flight connection were only able to stay for one. I have nothing negative to write about Riad Joya. From the lovely courtyard to the beautifully appointed suites (we stayed in the Ambregris and Tuareg)...the property is amazing. The staff is friendly and eager to help. I would love to return to Riad Joya and would certainly recommend it to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear JanaLyons

How nice it is to read your feedback.

We love to have you and your family staying at Riad Joya even though for a short stay.

We hope to be able to host you for a longer time in the future!

Please stay in contact.

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here last November and thrilled with the hotel. The riad is very nicely renovated and beautifully decorated. The service was wonderful from the whole staff. Nordin was so helpful in arranging a guide for the city, several day trips and other activities we were interested in. He even escorted us to the square to make sure everything went smoothly. We are so happy that we chose this riad!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Naos room. It was beautiful and spacious with a very large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear ccjs25

Thank you for staying at Riad Joya. We are delighted that you have enjoyed.

We hope that you can come back - stay with us and discover more of our beautiful country.

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This could be one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. The service was unbeatable; they drove us to the airport to collect our lost luggage. Every time we arrived in the room, they would knock on our door moments later with fresh fruit and cold water. Being one of seven guests adds to the personal experience. The hotel was beautiful. It's sort of a maze to get to the hotel which allows it to have a great location (in the middle of the medina) but provides quiet and privacy. There is no other place better to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

this is post-luxury! minimalistic yet etnic, that's Riad Joya, a small gem in the middle of the Marrakech's crazy medina. Joya's only 7 rooms give you the very impression on having a small palace in the middle of 1001 nights only for you. All the rooms are great, but my preferreds are the Touareg and the Ambergris (where we stayed). The riad is pretty close to the medina entrance and was redesigned by an italian architect. If you want peace and luxury without glitters and excess, that's your place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.