We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Choice in the Medina....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Joya

Save Saved
You added Riad Joya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Joya
Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Colleyville, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Choice in the Medina....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I recently spent one night at this beautiful riad in the medina. We were originally booked for two nights but due to a missed flight connection were only able to stay for one. I have nothing negative to write about Riad Joya. From the lovely courtyard to the beautifully appointed suites (we stayed in the Ambregris and Tuareg)...the property is amazing. The staff is friendly and eager to help. I would love to return to Riad Joya and would certainly recommend it to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear JanaLyons

How nice it is to read your feedback.

We love to have you and your family staying at Riad Joya even though for a short stay.

We hope to be able to host you for a longer time in the future!

Please stay in contact.

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
101
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here last November and thrilled with the hotel. The riad is very nicely renovated and beautifully decorated. The service was wonderful from the whole staff. Nordin was so helpful in arranging a guide for the city, several day trips and other activities we were interested in. He even escorted us to the square to make sure everything went smoothly. We are so happy that we chose this riad!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Naos room. It was beautiful and spacious with a very large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, General Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear ccjs25

Thank you for staying at Riad Joya. We are delighted that you have enjoyed.

We hope that you can come back - stay with us and discover more of our beautiful country.

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This could be one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. The service was unbeatable; they drove us to the airport to collect our lost luggage. Every time we arrived in the room, they would knock on our door moments later with fresh fruit and cold water. Being one of seven guests adds to the personal experience. The hotel was beautiful. It's sort of a maze to get to the hotel which allows it to have a great location (in the middle of the medina) but provides quiet and privacy. There is no other place better to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

this is post-luxury! minimalistic yet etnic, that's Riad Joya, a small gem in the middle of the Marrakech's crazy medina. Joya's only 7 rooms give you the very impression on having a small palace in the middle of 1001 nights only for you. All the rooms are great, but my preferreds are the Touareg and the Ambergris (where we stayed). The riad is pretty close to the medina entrance and was redesigned by an italian architect. If you want peace and luxury without glitters and excess, that's your place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Very well designed riad with a mix of traditional and Italian design. The service is amazing, really feels more like a 5 star hotel. The general manager makes you feel like you are the only guests, come to pick you at the airport, have you welcome with tea a patisseries. He does anticipate very well without overdoing it. Best value for the money I ve ever had. Try restaurants foundounk nearby but please don't go to mamounia for food, it's overated

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Utterly amazing accommodations, food, staff and service. Khalid (the General Manager) and the staff go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. We were escorted to and from our dinner spot the first night we were there so as to not get lost (easy to do in Marrakech). All this wonderful service...and it's so centrally located to EVERYTHING (square, souks, etc.etc.). Best yet - it is so, so quiet!!

If you're like me - you are researching Riads like crazy to find "the right one". From someone who is just as picky about finding the right place to stay in a crazy area to another, let me assure you this will be a memorable Riad to drop your bags. It made our 3 day trip to Marrakech just terrific.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Riad Joya after a long journey from Australia. The Riad arranged transportation for us from Casablanca airport. It was somewhat startling getting to the Riad from the road - through the narrow alleyways and past the various smallholders - but that is part of Marrakech. The staff were incredibly helpful and recommended numerous restaurants and other places to visit. We were even guided to some of them as getting around the medina can be tricky. We ate at the Riad one night and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend the Riad to anyone staying in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.