We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic riad!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Joya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Joya to your Saves list
Riad Joya
Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“fantastic riad!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

this is post-luxury! minimalistic yet etnic, that's Riad Joya, a small gem in the middle of the Marrakech's crazy medina. Joya's only 7 rooms give you the very impression on having a small palace in the middle of 1001 nights only for you. All the rooms are great, but my preferreds are the Touareg and the Ambergris (where we stayed). The riad is pretty close to the medina entrance and was redesigned by an italian architect. If you want peace and luxury without glitters and excess, that's your place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
103
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Very well designed riad with a mix of traditional and Italian design. The service is amazing, really feels more like a 5 star hotel. The general manager makes you feel like you are the only guests, come to pick you at the airport, have you welcome with tea a patisseries. He does anticipate very well without overdoing it. Best value for the money I ve ever had. Try restaurants foundounk nearby but please don't go to mamounia for food, it's overated

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Utterly amazing accommodations, food, staff and service. Khalid (the General Manager) and the staff go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. We were escorted to and from our dinner spot the first night we were there so as to not get lost (easy to do in Marrakech). All this wonderful service...and it's so centrally located to EVERYTHING (square, souks, etc.etc.). Best yet - it is so, so quiet!!

If you're like me - you are researching Riads like crazy to find "the right one". From someone who is just as picky about finding the right place to stay in a crazy area to another, let me assure you this will be a memorable Riad to drop your bags. It made our 3 day trip to Marrakech just terrific.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Riad Joya after a long journey from Australia. The Riad arranged transportation for us from Casablanca airport. It was somewhat startling getting to the Riad from the road - through the narrow alleyways and past the various smallholders - but that is part of Marrakech. The staff were incredibly helpful and recommended numerous restaurants and other places to visit. We were even guided to some of them as getting around the medina can be tricky. We ate at the Riad one night and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend the Riad to anyone staying in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sausalito, california
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent four nights at this beautifully appointed Riad. There are seven rooms and the location of the Riad is somewhat troubling. It is in an alley about l/3 of a mile from transportation. So you are dropped off far from the hotel and someone comes and puts your luggage in a wheelbarrel but since you're in this dark back alley with beggars and sellers and others it was suggested to us that we not go out "unescorted". Although we had a guide for evening meals this became a bit of a hassle and restricted us a bit. The other "downer" is that we were awakened first thing at 7 AM with banging on our wall from outside - there was nothing the owner could do because it was on the street. This was our vacation! Next trip to Marakkech I may consider staying outside of the Medina!

Room Tip: If you want a room that has "light" don't book Das Arabe.....Lighter room is the Zanzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Riad Joya is probably the most beautiful and welcoming place we have ever stayed. Service is amazing, Nordine and his team are so helpful and welcoming, the rooms are beautiful, food delicious - we can totally recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was a haven within the bustling Medina. Arriving after a tiresome flight was a joy. The staff were helpful and informed and the food was delicious - so good that we had dinner there both nights. Rooms individual and charming. Loved the enormous gilt bath. All of our family of 5 were very happy there and we were sad to leave. Would recommend and revisit. Wonderful breakfast on the terrace which had just been delightfully refurbished. Great location.

Room Tip: We had the room with an enormous gilt bath that was a joy after a busy, dusty day in the city. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.