We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Joya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Joya to your Saves list
Riad Joya
Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A haven from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Riad Joya after a long journey from Australia. The Riad arranged transportation for us from Casablanca airport. It was somewhat startling getting to the Riad from the road - through the narrow alleyways and past the various smallholders - but that is part of Marrakech. The staff were incredibly helpful and recommended numerous restaurants and other places to visit. We were even guided to some of them as getting around the medina can be tricky. We ate at the Riad one night and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend the Riad to anyone staying in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
sausalito, california
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent four nights at this beautifully appointed Riad. There are seven rooms and the location of the Riad is somewhat troubling. It is in an alley about l/3 of a mile from transportation. So you are dropped off far from the hotel and someone comes and puts your luggage in a wheelbarrel but since you're in this dark back alley with beggars and sellers and others it was suggested to us that we not go out "unescorted". Although we had a guide for evening meals this became a bit of a hassle and restricted us a bit. The other "downer" is that we were awakened first thing at 7 AM with banging on our wall from outside - there was nothing the owner could do because it was on the street. This was our vacation! Next trip to Marakkech I may consider staying outside of the Medina!

Room Tip: If you want a room that has "light" don't book Das Arabe.....Lighter room is the Zanzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheledonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Riad Joya is probably the most beautiful and welcoming place we have ever stayed. Service is amazing, Nordine and his team are so helpful and welcoming, the rooms are beautiful, food delicious - we can totally recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was a haven within the bustling Medina. Arriving after a tiresome flight was a joy. The staff were helpful and informed and the food was delicious - so good that we had dinner there both nights. Rooms individual and charming. Loved the enormous gilt bath. All of our family of 5 were very happy there and we were sad to leave. Would recommend and revisit. Wonderful breakfast on the terrace which had just been delightfully refurbished. Great location.

Room Tip: We had the room with an enormous gilt bath that was a joy after a busy, dusty day in the city. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were happy to be here but not thrilled. Our room was dark and the lights too dim for us to read comfortably by them. The service was perfectly good, but not as attentive as other places in Marrakech. The terrace was big and bright, but felt a little dilapidated and remote from the rest of the riad. There are no bathrooms other than those in the suites – so a bathroom break necessitated a walk down 6 flights, across to the other side of the riad, and up two flights. Not terrible, but not convenient either. The lounge chairs on the terrace were rusty and the interesting brown fabrics used throughought the riad were badly stained in the courtyard chairs.

Our overall impression was a perfectly nice, but not premium riad that is charging upscale prices not quite justified by the experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musicdogandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had an amazing experience at the Riad Joya, one we wished would not come to an end. The Riad is beautiful and a welcome retreat from the bustle of the medina. We stayed for an initial 5 days in room Ambregris and a single night at the end of our stay in Morocco in room Tuareg. Both were very attractive with simple, high quality decoration creating an effortlessly luxurious feel. The Riad is very well located close to many of the most interesting sights of Marrakech.

It is the service that truely makes Riad Joya special. It was exceptional throughout and so friendly, it added to our enjoyment of our stay immensely. Nordin and all the staff brought a personal touch that will be remembered for many years and with luck will be something we can experience again should we be fortunate enough to return to Riad Joya.

Room Tip: We preferred Ambregris overlooking the central courtyard, though Tuareg was larger, a suite, and add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Paul

Thank you for the great feedback! We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked your accommodations Tuareg and Ambregris.

Most importantly you have enjoyed our service and our Team friendliness in particular Noureddine.

We will be the fortunate if you return to Riad Joya so please come back soon.

Best regards from Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My travel plans changed quite a few times, but Sophie was always cheerfully accomodating. Nordin is supernaturally able to make your every wish come true- last minute or not. He must say, "no problem" a thousand times a day. He took me everywhere in the medina that I wished to go. He arranged a guide for me with only hours notice. He worked out arrangements on the phone with a craft workshop he wasn't familiar with, and worked out details and appointments for me. He and Sophie alone would be a dream team, but there is a staff of sweet, smiling faces that make the reception and dining run smoothly as well. The riad experience is special, so try it, and try it here.

Room Tip: I had the Tuareg room, antique brass tub- lovely. L
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mllarussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Mllarussa

Thank you for your feedback!

We are thrilled to hear about your satisfaction and to read that you were pleased with your choice of the Tuareg Suite: we adore the bathtub too!

We would love to welcome you back and make you feel home again at Riad Joya.

Khalid, Noureddine and the Dream Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#33 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Villa des Orangers
La Villa des Orangers
#39 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#26 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#12 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#34 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing