We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Joya

Save Saved
You added Riad Joya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Joya
Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
St. Helena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A true gem in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights and had a truly wonderful and very comfortable stay. I have corresponded with Sophie from my first inquiry in October through my departure day this past January. She is a gem herself along with the entire staff: Nordin, Fannan, Mehdi, Youssef, and Khalid who were very warm and hospitable, making me feel so at home. I booked the Tuareg room for the tub feature (only room that has one), though beautifully designed, it was not warm and bright enough for me. Graciously, I was offered the Dar Arabe room and thoroughly enjoyed it. The shower was amazing and Nordin sent me an extra blanket! The amenities which includes fresh flowers, bottled water, fresh fruits and dried dates (replenished daily) were all a nice touch and comforting. Charifa and Soukayna made up my room and lit candles in the evening. Not to mention, the mint tea and mini pastries upon arrival and during my stay upon request. I stayed in for a delicious dinner one night and breakfast daily. The location is perfect, not far from the square, Jemaa el fna and the main boulevard. Riad Joya is a true gem in the medina for its excellent staff and service. This is a must stay in Marrakech!

Room Tip: Tuareg room has a beautiful tub but with no separate shower. It has 2 sinks and a lounge sofa that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear friend of Riad Joya
on behalf of the entire Team that you have met we would like to thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your feedback on the Tuareg suite and even though it is in its style to reflect the original heart of the old Riad, we would like to reassure you that we have acted on your comments improving the lighting.

We would like to remain in contact and hopefully have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards from Sophie, Noureddine, Fennane, Mehdi, Youssef, Khalid, Echerifa and Soukayna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
99
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the beautiful Riad Joya last week for 8 days and it didn't seem long enough! The Riad Joya is perfect and a Joy to stay there. The staff were all so lovely to us, we felt very safe and cared for. The rooms were large, warm, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. On our check out day they allowed us to have the room right up until our departure and even cleaned it and replenished our fruit. We ate there twice and it was lovely, the wine was wonderful and service personalised. We were a little worried when we arrived as we had never been to Morocco before and had heard all sorts of tales. The Riad staff escorted us as long as we wanted them too. They suggestions of shops, restaurants and places were great. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Thank you all so much, we miss you all!

Room Tip: All of them have their own style and each of beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear friends of Riad Joya

We are glad that we were able to change your perception about hospitality in Morocco and contribute to make your stay in Marrakesh easy and comfortable.

Having you here for eight days was our pleasure and we cannot wait to welcome you back.

Best wishes from Khalid, Noureddine and Riad Joya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this beautiful riad for a week in Novemer 2012, and it really was amazing. If going to Marrakech, staying at a riad instead of a hotel is a must. This is the best one. Not only were the rooms stunning, and so well kept, but the riad was so quiet. Coming home after spending a day in the busy Medina was such a pleasure, we really felt at ease here. Everything was so serene, and we often enjoyed a glass of wine at the room before dinner.

Best of all, though, was the staff. Everyone was so nice, and as a young couple we stayed out a bit late a few nights, but each time, our dear friend, Nordin, stood there waiting for us as we arrived back at the riad. We felt so well taken care of. Riad Joya is a true gem, and everyone should experience hospitality like the one shown to us there.

Thank you again to everyone at Riad Joya, for making our trip to Marrakech so perfect!

Best regards, Lars and Stine, Norway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed three nights at Riad Joya. It is right in the middle of the medina, making it very convenient for shopping in the souks and night time trips to the square.

The rooms were tastefully decorated and very quiet. The showers were great. The breakfasts were also terrific. Joya provided us with a very nice atmosphere for relaxing after a day of exploring.

The staff were incredibly helpful. Every concern was addressed promptly, and the staff went out of their way to make our visit a delight. They also arranged for local guides and an excursion outside of Marrakech.

But, we also had some small issues with our stay. We visited during a time when it is quite cool in the evenings. The heater for one of the rooms had limited capability and the room always seemed to be two or three degrees cooler than we prefer. Also, the lighting in the rooms is very subdued and reading at night became a challenge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Kevin

We would like to thank you for the feedback you have provided on your stay at Riad Joya.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed the service of our Team, the decor of our rooms, the showers, the breakfast and that you were able to relax during your permanence.

On the other hand we would like to reassure you that your concerns had been taken into consideration and were acted on after your report.
We appreciate you have taken the time to let us have your feedback giving us the chance to improve our hospitality.

We hope that you will come back soon to check the improvement and enjoy Riad Joya.

Khalid, Noureddine and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Riad Joya for six nights and could not have enjoyed a better stay. Our suite, Naos, was perfect and we enjoyed spending some time each afternoon on the roof terrace - cloudless blue skies and quite warm (20C) for January. Very different from the snow and ice on our return to the UK. Above all, though, we enjoyed the highest level of service, from Nourdine and the rest of the staff. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Everything about our stay here was fantastic! We were two families, 4 adults and 5 teenaged kids traveling together. It was our first trip to Morocco, and the Riad Joya could not have been a better introduction to the kind hospitality of the Moroccan people. Not only are the rooms spectacularly warm and inviting but the staff is unbelievably helpful. Nordin went out of his way to walk us to the market for dinner, get our laundry done, and arrange for some of the group to accompany the chef to the market and help him cook dinner!! It really was a truly wonderful experience!!~

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have never written a hotel review before, but since I made my decision to stay here based on the previous reviews on Trip Advisor I thought I should add my opinion to the mix... My boyfriend and I stayed here for five nights. We only left a few days ago but are already planning our next trip back! Although we're both well seasoned travelers, this was our first time in Morocco. Riad Joya was everything I had hoped for my first Marrakech experience- and more! Nordin (and all of the staff) were extremely welcoming and had many suggestions of the 'must see' sights and activities of the city. We stayed in the Dar Arabe suite (the aesthetic was quintessentially Moroccan chic) and the room was immaculately kept. I fell ill for a few days during our stay and the whole staff accommodated the slight changes in our planned schedule. The location is wonderful- we were merely five minutes away from the souks and Djema el-Fna but once inside the Riad, it was like an oasis from the noise of the square and complicated maze that are the souks.

It truly is a 'little gem'... we were debating between some larger five star hotels and Riad Joya and I am SO glad we went with the latter. The attention to detail and customer service is astounding. Nordin noticed that my boyfriend developed a strong liking for Moroccan tea and so he offered to teach us how to make it on our own: you simply would not get this same treatment in a larger hotel (no matter how many stars). I cannot recommend staying here highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.