We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Joya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Joya to your Saves list
Riad Joya
Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Everything about our stay here was fantastic! We were two families, 4 adults and 5 teenaged kids traveling together. It was our first trip to Morocco, and the Riad Joya could not have been a better introduction to the kind hospitality of the Moroccan people. Not only are the rooms spectacularly warm and inviting but the staff is unbelievably helpful. Nordin went out of his way to walk us to the market for dinner, get our laundry done, and arrange for some of the group to accompany the chef to the market and help him cook dinner!! It really was a truly wonderful experience!!~

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
117
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have never written a hotel review before, but since I made my decision to stay here based on the previous reviews on Trip Advisor I thought I should add my opinion to the mix... My boyfriend and I stayed here for five nights. We only left a few days ago but are already planning our next trip back! Although we're both well seasoned travelers, this was our first time in Morocco. Riad Joya was everything I had hoped for my first Marrakech experience- and more! Nordin (and all of the staff) were extremely welcoming and had many suggestions of the 'must see' sights and activities of the city. We stayed in the Dar Arabe suite (the aesthetic was quintessentially Moroccan chic) and the room was immaculately kept. I fell ill for a few days during our stay and the whole staff accommodated the slight changes in our planned schedule. The location is wonderful- we were merely five minutes away from the souks and Djema el-Fna but once inside the Riad, it was like an oasis from the noise of the square and complicated maze that are the souks.

It truly is a 'little gem'... we were debating between some larger five star hotels and Riad Joya and I am SO glad we went with the latter. The attention to detail and customer service is astounding. Nordin noticed that my boyfriend developed a strong liking for Moroccan tea and so he offered to teach us how to make it on our own: you simply would not get this same treatment in a larger hotel (no matter how many stars). I cannot recommend staying here highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Ok----stop what you are doing and trust me on this (I know you have heard this before). This riad (small hotel) has a very high service standard. The staff will gladly drop what they are doing and literally guide you to a restaurant or shop. Not a large staff but a good one. They look after a mere seven rooms and will go to any length to make your stay wonderful. The enclosed photos and video link are very good at showing you the great location. Don't worry the staff will arrange your airport pick-up and meet the driver to guide you to the hidden and exotic space. Do NOT try and be a hero, just accept the hotels help to find the hotel within a strange little souk in an even more bizarre (pardon the pun) place.The hotel had a small orangewood fire ready upon our arrival and dinner ready as we arrived late. DO THIS HOTEL! you will be delighted.

Dennis& Brenda

video link (you will have to cut and paste to your browser) http://youtu.be/kPjuqbtlFME

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms that open into the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed three nights at Riad Joya this past November to our sheer delight. As it relates to the room, high-end finishes and linens made for a very regal setting. The room was immaculately kept on a daily basis, and was extremely comfortable and relaxing - very important after many hours spent navigating through the labyrinth that is the old city. Make no mistake, Riad Joya is very luxurious.

As it relates to customer service, Nordin contributed to our overall amazing experience in Marrakech. He was always available to offer advice, arrange tours, make reservations at restaurants, and engage in pleasant conversation. We cannot say enough about Nordin's service, let alone that of the rest of the staff who were always warm and very hospitable.

We highly recommend that any guest staying at Riad Joya have dinner in their restaurant. Truly one of the best - if not THE best - meal we had in Morocco. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious. A great way to start our days.

Riad Joya is an experience in of itself not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Riad Joya on recent trip to Marrakech for 4 nights - it was truly a unique experience to stay in such a beautifully restored building, amazingly decorated and with great service to match.

On location - the location cannot be beat - we were a 4 minute walk from Djema el-Fna, the souks and only a 15 min walk outside the Medina to Gueliz. All the best shops were right around the Riad as well, and it was incredibly convenient to be able to stop in throughout the day, drop things off, have tea, etc.

On service - Nordin & the rest of the staff are abolsutely amazing. They made staying in the Riad a unique experience with attention to detail, personal service, recommendations, and general help. Upon our arrival, Nordin mapped out eveything in the Medina for us and even escorted us to the square. Breakfast every morning was delicious - and you had the option of eating either downstairs in a nicer dining area or upstair in the terrace. At night, we were able to sit by the fireplaces and read and drink tea and eat pastries. We ate dinner in the Riad one night and it was hand down the best meal we had in our 11 days in Morocco.

It was a great experience to stay in such a wonderful riad and made Marrakech such a special place - I hope to be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent Riad for a wonderful stay in Marrakech.
Attention to details, great sense of hospitality, perfectly renovated riad and a truly customer orientated staff, make this place a 'must visit'.
Get there and ask the team to help out with your local needs: from golf to hammam, from getting a guide into booking a good restaurant, they will do it flawlessly.
Thanks a lot for the stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have never felt compelled to write a review of any hotel until staying at the Riad Joya- it was just so amazing and so unique that I must share! The Riad Joya was special for so many reasons. Aside from being absolutely gorgeous and impeccably designed the staff was unmatched. Nordin was available to offer any help, from picking us up from dinner late at night to ensure we did not get lost, to suggesting day trips that were not your usual tourist trap. He was one in a million.

At night, we would get home to candles lit, fresh fruit and figs replenished in our room. The food was also incredible to and completely catered to your tastes or restrictions.

They call their Riad a little Gem and I couldn't think of any better way to describe it- it is an absolute Gem within a very hectic part of town that offers the perfect level of peace and serenity you could ever ask for! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.