We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience with Brilliant Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Joya

Save Saved
You added Riad Joya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Joya
Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Experience with Brilliant Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have never felt compelled to write a review of any hotel until staying at the Riad Joya- it was just so amazing and so unique that I must share! The Riad Joya was special for so many reasons. Aside from being absolutely gorgeous and impeccably designed the staff was unmatched. Nordin was available to offer any help, from picking us up from dinner late at night to ensure we did not get lost, to suggesting day trips that were not your usual tourist trap. He was one in a million.

At night, we would get home to candles lit, fresh fruit and figs replenished in our room. The food was also incredible to and completely catered to your tastes or restrictions.

They call their Riad a little Gem and I couldn't think of any better way to describe it- it is an absolute Gem within a very hectic part of town that offers the perfect level of peace and serenity you could ever ask for! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
102
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Taken as a whole package, undoubtedly the best hotel I have every stayed in. We recently spent a long weekend in Marrakech and Riad Joya was the highlight.

The riad is very beautifully designed. The attention to detail is very impressive. Our room, the Zanzibar, was very generously proportioned. I particularly enjoyed the oversized shower with the water falling from a spout in the ceiling.

Nordim, the major domo, and his staff are incredible. They are friendly without being cloying and extremely knowlegable. No request is too much trouble.

With this level of comfort and service the prices are a steal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our family of three stayed for 5 nights at the Joya at the beginning of October. We were met by Noureddine and immediately felt welcomed. We were served warm tea and delicious sweets to begin our relaxation process at the Joya. Our room, the Naos, was beautifully decorated as is the entire riad. The room is spacious, we were 3 adults and the extra bed did not crowd the room and looked like it belonged there. Too many favorites about this riad, so to be brief -- Noureddine, without him to explain and guide us, we would have surely gotten lost and never found. The food, whether breakfast or dinner, prepared by their wonderful chef and served by the two nicest guys in the world, were amazing. Almost no reason to leave the hotel if you're looking for good Morocco food. We liked having wine on the roof terrace or in the courtyard before dinner. We thank Sophie, Noureddine and the entire Joya staff for an incredible stay. We want to come back soon.

Room Tip: Naos was perfect for a family of three
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Where to start?? Unbelievably helpful and wonderful staff. A pleasure from inquiry to departure. Incredible rooms, facilities, breakfast and location.

Fantastic breakfast too.

It is somewhere I will never forget staying. A very special place that will always have a part of my heart. Thank you!!!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

All the five star reviews for the Riad Joya are no mistake. We stayed for five nights and I'm certain there is not a better riad in Marrakech. A riad is unlike staying in a full service hotel, but Nordin and the entire Riad Joya staff made the stay exceptional.

Marrakech can be extremely overwhelming for a first time visitor but Nordin and his staff will help you all the way through. In fact Nordin escorted us to and from dinner one evening which we would have otherwise never found. We also had three of our dinners at the riad, and as many have said, you really won't find more authentic Moroccan food anywhere in Marrakech.
As for the riad itself, it is designed beautifully and our room was very nice and serviced twice a day.

If we should return to Marrakech the Riad Joya is where we will stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I would sum up Riad Joya as a little "little gem." It was perfect from beginning to end. We marveled every time that we went from the souks into the riad. It was like transporting into another dimension. We couldn't believe the serenity found in the midst of the bustle and chaos of the medina. The physical amenities were superlative (the fountain with the rose petals; the breakfasts with orange juice, breads, yoghurt, honey, preserves, nuts; the fruit and figs in the room,; the flowers on the terrace; the mint centerpieces on the dining room tables; the soaps and lotions in the room). But what really sets Riad Joya apart is the staff: Nordin, Fandan, Mehdi, and the rest of the staff. Delightful is an understatement. They truly made our stay seem like home. They took care of every request: tours; dinner reservations; escorts. And best of all - the cooking class and the dinner (thank you, Chef Mehdi). And a special thanks to Nordin for being a host without equal. We loved Riad Joya.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Aubergine Room - quiet with big bathroom. No tub, but we didn't care. All roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Greetings from Marrakech!
Delighted that you have enjoyed your vacation at Riad Joya.
The entire Team cannot wait to welcome you back. We are working on exciting new experiences for next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I wanted to take my wife someplace exotic for a romantic getaway, and chose Riad Joya in Marrakech after a lot of study. Great choice. We both loved it. The Riad was quite luxurious, incredibly comfortable, romantic, very private and quiet. It was amazing how tranquil it was, being in the middle of the vibrant Marrakech medina, on the edge of the souks. Riad Joya apparently has about 7 suites, each with a different theme. I had chosen the Zanzibar suite primarily due to the description of the massive rainfall shower room, which lived up to expectations - simply beautiful. Despite the luxury and romance though, clearly the best aspect of Riad Joya was the staff, led by Noredin. From Sophie's arrangements, to the pickup at the airport, to our departure several days later, the staff was just exceptional. I arranged for a private class on Moroccan cooking with Chef Mehdi, and my wife was amazed at how quiet and unobtrusive the staff were, how the room always seemed to be freshened up, candles lit in the evenings, etc. Great trip, and I cannot imagine being able to choose a better place to stay than Riad Joya.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest.
Thank you for the extremely kind feedback and your generous words.
We are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at Riad Joya and managed to find here the peace and romance that you were looking for.
It is great to hear that you liked our Zanzibar suite. We wanted our seven suites' bathrooms to offer all wonderful shower experiences and great water pressure so we we are glad to hear your comments.
We are especially grateful for the positive remarks on our wonderful team, starting from Noureddine and Sophie to our chef Mehdi whose cooking classes are becoming more and more popular! We hope that thanks to this class you are bringing back home some knowledge about Morrocan food and our Culture.
We thank you for the patronage and cannot wait to welcome you back to Riad Joya.
Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.