We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, romantic, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Joya

Save Saved
You added Riad Joya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Joya
Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luxurious, romantic, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I wanted to take my wife someplace exotic for a romantic getaway, and chose Riad Joya in Marrakech after a lot of study. Great choice. We both loved it. The Riad was quite luxurious, incredibly comfortable, romantic, very private and quiet. It was amazing how tranquil it was, being in the middle of the vibrant Marrakech medina, on the edge of the souks. Riad Joya apparently has about 7 suites, each with a different theme. I had chosen the Zanzibar suite primarily due to the description of the massive rainfall shower room, which lived up to expectations - simply beautiful. Despite the luxury and romance though, clearly the best aspect of Riad Joya was the staff, led by Noredin. From Sophie's arrangements, to the pickup at the airport, to our departure several days later, the staff was just exceptional. I arranged for a private class on Moroccan cooking with Chef Mehdi, and my wife was amazed at how quiet and unobtrusive the staff were, how the room always seemed to be freshened up, candles lit in the evenings, etc. Great trip, and I cannot imagine being able to choose a better place to stay than Riad Joya.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest.
Thank you for the extremely kind feedback and your generous words.
We are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at Riad Joya and managed to find here the peace and romance that you were looking for.
It is great to hear that you liked our Zanzibar suite. We wanted our seven suites' bathrooms to offer all wonderful shower experiences and great water pressure so we we are glad to hear your comments.
We are especially grateful for the positive remarks on our wonderful team, starting from Noureddine and Sophie to our chef Mehdi whose cooking classes are becoming more and more popular! We hope that thanks to this class you are bringing back home some knowledge about Morrocan food and our Culture.
We thank you for the patronage and cannot wait to welcome you back to Riad Joya.
Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
101
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The Riad Joya was an oasis in a bustling city. It had the warmth of a home with all the luxuries of boutique hotel. The attention to detail was stunning, every aspect exceeded our expectations. Nordin and the staff were incredibly attentive but not overbearing. They would magically would appear with mint tea and dates when we craved it most. The chef is very talented and the breakfast was the best we had during our visit to Morocco. The courtyard has a beautiful fountain with rose petals, the sun beats down on the terrace and at night you can enjoy the stars on the terrace to the sound of the call to prayer. Close to the square, the location is perfect and I dream to return to this fairytale riad.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest
We are thrilled to read your feedback on your stay at Riad Joya and that you have enjoyed the stay in our house.
The entire team at Joya has a passion for taking care of all our guests' need and the fact that you have appreciated our service makes us feel extremely rewarded.
We are happy that you got the essence of Joya and invite you to come back to enjoy our tasteful breakfast again, freshly daily made by Chef Mehdi.
Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A belated review, We spent 3 days in this most gorgeous Riad, and wanted to stay for so much longer, everything lived up to our high! expectations from start to finish, communications were excellent, airport pick up was easy,efficient and welcoming, on arrival we were overwhelmed by the Riad, it is just so beautiful and within easy reach of everywhere, it is such a lovely retreat at any time of the day for a break from the hustle and bustle.

Our room was stunning as were they all, huge luxury bed and fantastic bathroom and shower with the most lovely toiletries, so no worries about a bad choice, breakfast on the terrace each morning was beautiful and dinner in the Riad was the most amazing food cooked to an extremely high standard, don't bother to go anywhere else!

Finally a huge thankyou to all the staff who are all most kind and helpful, a fantastic experience and anniversary to remember.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
A belated thank you for the review. We are grateful for your kind words.

In particular we are happy that you have selected Riad Joya to celebrate an anniversary and are thrilled to have contributed somehow to make it more memorable.

We wait to welcome you back to Riad Joya next year to celebrate again.

Riad Joya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

From the minute I was met at the airport I felt very welcome in Marrakech. We were driven to the medina where we were met by our chaperone from the Riad Joya. On arrival to the Riad we were greeted by the staff, and offered Moroccan tea and sweets. We were made to feel at home instantly. Anything we wanted during our whole stay, we could just ask the staff who looked after everything. On the first night we dinned at the Riad, this is a must for everyone!! There is no menu, you just tell the chef what you don't like. We came into the courtyard for dinner, it was just us sitting under the stars, with candles and petals in the fountains. Dinner was amazing, the courses just kept coming and the food was some of the best I've ever had, excellent traditional Moroccan food. We wanted to eat in a specific restaurant in the medina on another night, the Riad booked it for us, securing the best table, and then we were chaperoned to the restaurant and met when we had finished our meal to chaperone us back to the Riad. This made us feel very safe walking in the medina at night! Breakfast every morning was served on the roof terrace, beautiful setting and excellent food and tea! The room itself was magnificent, and we were given a tour of all the rooms in the Riad, they all looked stunning. All in all we were treated like royalty, the staff make this Riad one of the best places I have ever stayed, you would find it difficult to find a more stunning setting with nicer people to look after you!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest

We are happy to read your feedback and to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at Riad Joya.

We are particularly happy to read that you felt home at Joya and that you have enjoyed the opportunity to tell our Chef what you would have liked for your dinner like you if you were at home.

We appreciate your feedback on the service of escorting to the outside restaurant provided by our staff. The location of Riad Joya and its neighborhood are very safe however we want our guests to feel taken care by our staff especially the first time they visit Marrakech so that somehow we already give you a sense of welcome to our city.

We hope to welcome you back to Riad Joya soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We spent 4 days in this charming Riad, which impressed by its tasteful design and very charming touch. Our room was beautiful. But what really made our stay unforgettable was the incredibly kind staff. Every single person working at Joya had made it their clear objective to make our stay as pleasant as possible. And they truly succeeded.
At our arrival, we spent quite some time with the manager to help us arrange restaurant reservations in the various places that Marrakech offers. And only at our last day, literally before going back to the airport, we came to enjoy the talents of the Riad's own cook. So if there is one thing we regret, it is that we did not have more opportunities to actually enjoy the Riad's cooking, as it clearly surpassed all of the also delicious dinners we enjoyed elsewhere. So our recommendation: definitely take advantage of the Riad's excellent food. Ask for a surprise dinner, you won't regret! Thank you and congratulations to the Joya team, you made our stay a beautiful experience and we would totally recommend your place to family and friends.

Room Tip: We loved the slate colored room just above the director's office, on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButlerJoya, Manager at Riad Joya, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for the very kind words expressed on the staff of Riad Joya. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us!

We are delighted that you have enjoyed Chef Mehdi's food and thank you for recommending it to the readers of your review. We change the menu often in order to provide a tasteful experience respectful of the seasonality of the ingredients.

Yourself and any of your family and friends will be the most welcome at Riad Joya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband, 9 year old son and I stayed here in June and couldn't have been happier. It was an oasis of calm in a busy, dusty, exciting city. Great location short walk to the square and near a fabulous wood fired bakery. The room was magnificent. The food extraordinary. But the real stars are the staff. Truly wonderful people. Attentive, kind, professional. Great chef...ate almost all our meals there it was so good. Can't say enough nice things about this Riad. I hope it won't be booked next time we try to reserve because they are bound to be fully booked with return customers!! Imagine being welcomed into an extraordinary home, add great food, fantastic bathroom, wonderful company...you feel safe, secure, loved, happy...what more could you want. Def a great stay all around.

Room Tip: Let Sophie pick for you. She picked the perfect one for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed here with two friends in June it was was amazing in every way! The decor is amazing (I am still searching for the same lanterns that are in the entrance way!), the rooms are large, luxurious and perfectly cool after a hard days sightseeing. We had at the most memorable dinner and like the others have said, next time we stay we would definitely take a cooking class. The team at Riad Joya could not have done more for us, they were a joy-a! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Joya

Address: Hay Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Joya is a luxury intimate retreat nestled in the very heart of the Medina of Marrakech in the historical and protected area of the Mouassine, just few steps from the Djemaa el Fna square, the main monuments, the souk and the most exciting attractions of the “red city”.A gem of timeless beauty and sophisticated atmosphere, where discrete luxury fuses with eclectic style.The property reflects the traditional architecture of the riads, built around a small courtyard which is an oasis of tranquility, and features two stylish salons and a panoramic roof terrace.The roof top is the best place to savor a sumptuous breakfast, unwind during the aperitif ritual or surprise the one you love with a romantic dinner under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Joya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.