We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place in marrakech medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad de la Belle Epoque

Save Saved
You added Riad de la Belle Epoque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad de la Belle Epoque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech Medina, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #51 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Gouda, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place in marrakech medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Riad de la Belle Epoque is a lovely and quiet place in the medina. The location is perfect for visiting the souks (aprox 5 min walk) and the place Djemaa el Fna (aprox 15 min walk). The riad was clean with beautiful rooms and lovely decoration and everyday fresh towels. The staff was really kind and helpful. Everyday they served a delicious breakfast with fresh OJ and (mint) tea and coffee. There is also a great roofterrace where you can eat breakfast, sunbathe or drink something.
When you want to visit Marrakech, we would recommend you this riad

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion and for recommending our Riad Belle Epoque. While reading your review, we have the feeling that you have really enjoyed being in Marrakech and in our place, so hope to see you back again. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    38
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
140
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Riad de la Belle Epoque was a great place for our adventures through the souks. Pleasant and welcoming staff, comfortable room, nice roof-top terrace, small but cool and comforting pool. It is important to remember that a Riad is not a luxury hotel, so you should not expect the same sort of experience. Having said that, this is a clean, comfortable and friendly place well-situated for exploring the old city.

It was a bit of a surprise that the final 2 or 3 minutes by taxi meant getting out and walking because the road is too narrow for a car, but it is all part of the Marrakech experience, and a good warm-up for the experience of negotiating prices (and fighting off the many offers of "help").

With only one night available for me to visit Marrakech, I could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Check out the website: rooms are pretty much as described. I stayed in the "Karen Blixen"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion. You have made an excellent definition of what a Riad is. An experience not to be missed in Marrakech. It´s a petty that you have only been one night with us. Maybe the next time. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the minute I stepped into to the Riad, a real sense of tranquillity descended. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The rooms were decorated to a high standard, cleaned every day and fresh towels left (I particularly liked the swans shapes they were left in). We could have breakfast when we wanted it and it was delicious and far more than expected. We also ate on the roof terrace bathed in glorious sunshine and we also used the terrace for drinks in the evening, a great way to begin or end your evening. It was quiet at night, so slept really well. I would recommend this place to anyone, it really was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks Emma for your kind words and for sharing your opinion with us. We are glad that you have found Riad Belle Epoque fabulous and we hope to see you back one of this days. We will always be happy to serve you a good breakfast under the sun. :-)

Best Regards from Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This Riad hotel right in the middle of medina Marakech is really a lovely place for adults and for children aswell. Situated in walking distance to the Djeema El Fna square. Quiet rooms, roofterras where we enjoyed our breakfast and most of all helpfull staff. And yes, the only thing to improve could be a refrigerator in the room.

Room Tip: we had room "Karen Blixen" groundfloor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello Martien. Thanks a lot for letting us know your opinion and for sharing it with the rest of the travellers. It is very important for Riad Belle Epoque to know the guests opinions in order to meet their expectations. This is not the first time that we have received a suggestion about the fridge in the room and we are trying hard to find fridges that match with the rest of the decoration of the room....and believe me, it is very hard. Anyway, it seems that you have enjoyed being with us and in Marrakech, so we are happy to have fulfilled your expectations. Hope to see you back one day. Thanks a lot once again and Best Regards from Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place was really a good find and we strongly recommend this Riad to everyone. Staff are very helpful and help plan our trip with day trips and best restaurants that we should try out. The rooms are clean and spacious (we stayed in the Coco Chanel room). It's a beautiful riad and the staff are always ready to help you and provide an excellent service throughout your stay, they don't make you feel like a guest but make you feel like its your home. Also the breakfast is excellent just what you need before heading out to the souks and the medina. You won't be at all disappointed with booking this Riad, we plan to go back to Marrakech and this would be where we will be staying and the place we recommend to all friends and family.

Room Tip: Excellent room recommendation Coco Chanel spacious and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello. Thanks a lot for sharing your review with the TripaDvisor community and for your supportive words. We will give notice to the Riad Belle Epoque staff that they have helped you to feel like at home. We are looking forward to seeing you soon around once again.
Best Regards from Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

There are many reasons that this Riad is ranked so highly on Trip Advisor. The rooms are stunningly beautiful, the food is delicious, the amenities are outstanding and the staff are the most gracious people you will ever have the fortune to meet. The Riad de la Belle Epoque experience is all about details - from the perfectly-placed rose petals on the table of your romantic evening dinner on the terrace to the delicious mint tea and biscuits you are treated to upon arrival. Though this Riad is only a few blocks away from the insanity of the medina, it is like a whole other world. You are made not to feel like guests, but like it is your home.

The Riad uses luxurious linens and is very clean. The daily breakfasts were varied and delicious, the wifi was reliable, air conditioning was effective and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Remember that anything over and above room costs (meals, drinks etc) must be paid in Euros upon checking out. They explained this to us in advance but we were too wrapped up in our travels and forgot but thankfully had enough Euros on us when checking out.

The Road arranged transport from the airport to the Riad, and I am so glad we chose this option, as the streets can be confusing and overwhelming initially. Note that upon arrival, you are dropped off at a parking lot in close proximity to the Riad. If it is obvious that you are a tourist, many individuals will offer to take your bags for you, show you to the Riad, etc. Don't worry - it is very close and staff will help you with your bags.

Staff arranged a guide for us, who spent a half day showing us museums and guiding us through the mazes of souks. Highly recommend this option.

I can not recommend this Riad enough. Thank you so much to all staff of the Riad de la Belle Epoque for helping to make our honeymoon a memorable experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in Le Bella Otero room, which was located on the ground floor, adjacent to the wading pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Angie

First of all thank you for choosing Riad La Belle Epoque for your honey moon. Reading your kind words makes us realize that you have really enjoyed being with us. Thanks a lot for your kind words and for sharing your opinion with the TripAdvisor members. We are glad that you have felt like at home in our Riad. This is our main aim, to make our guests feel comfortable at any moment. . We would like to wish you a happy marriage. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A beautifully maintained facility, excellent located. At 3 minutes distance from parking place (acces cabs). Very friendly, helpful and polite staff. They gave us a warm welcome by serving "thé à la menthe " and they did fulfill all our wishes. All that for a reasonable price . We could not have chosen better.

Room Tip: airconditioned room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello

Thanks a lot for your review. It is always nice to receive feedback from our guests, specially if we know that you have enjoyed being with us. Hope to see you around sometime. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad de la Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de la Belle Epoque

Address: 29 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech Medina, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad de la Belle Epoque 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reformed from a former traditional house, Belle Epoque has been decorated with antiquities.Each of the seven rooms has been decorated with Art Decó furniture and objects combined with the traditional Moroccan style. They are dedicated to feminine prominent figures of the Belle Epoque who evoke those happy years of transitory well-being.All of them have WIFI connection,cold and heat air conditioning and amenities for the bath.Our rooms are:Karen Blixen, La Bella Otero, Isadora Duncan, Mata Hari, Coco Chanel, Anita Delgado (Maharaní de Kapurthala) and Josephine Baker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad de la Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad De La Belle Epoque Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad de la Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.