We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad de la Belle Epoque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad de la Belle Epoque to your Saves list
Riad de la Belle Epoque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech Medina, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
“Tranquil Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights and were delighted with the friendly warm welcome and continuous hospitality from all the staff. Located 15 mins from the square, this relaxing, tranquil riad is the perfect contrast to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks a lot for sharing with us and the rest of travellers your opinion about our Riad. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you another time around here. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    47
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
166
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My Husband and I stayed in this peaceful little Riad for four nights. As first timers in Marrakech, we wanted to experience a Riad in the Medina. Riad de la Belle Epoque is beautifully decorated, with attention to detail in every corner. The staff are extremely helpful and welcoming. Special thanks to their restaurant recommendations! Breakfasts were delicious.Roof Terrace is lovely.The Riad is located 10-15min walk away from Jema El Fna- an ideal distance, just right from the madness of the square. Unfortunately the pool was a little small and located in the reception/dining area, which meant we weren't inclined to swim- even though this was one of the reasons we booked it- for the pool. Apart from this, it was a fantastic stay. We highly recommend this Riad!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks a lot for letting us know your opinion about our riad. We hope that you have enjoyed your first stay in Marrakech and we are sorry for the pool. We agree that it is not proper for swimming, just to relax and refresh as well as the shower on the terrace. It is very difficult to find a riad with the kind of swimming pool that you were expecting where you can actually swim. Anyway we admire your energy, after spending the whole day in the medina and still strong enough to swim. :-) We are glad to hear that anyway you have enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

You feel so comfortable and connected when  you enter a Riad and u are greeted with the words - ' Welcome to your home  !!'. Riad Belle Époque is an awesome example of great hospitality. Special mention of Abdul who was so kind and caring throughout our stay. He made sure that his guests feel at home. We stayed in Mata Hari room and were completely taken away by the austerity, yet authenticity of the room. It gave us the flavor of Morrocon decor throughout our stay. And coming to the food, it was one of the best we had in Marrakech (considering we are vegetarians). We requested to have breakfast in the nice small terrace, to which the staff agreed and Hasan (the guy in charge of late eve-morning shift) made sure that things were arranged as we wished. Breakfast was awesome and not to be missed. Though the Riad is in a very small lane, which is like 5 min away from the main parking, but don't get intimidated by the location, it's safe and u'll get used to it. Overall highly recommended and we would love to go back :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion and for letting us know that you have felt like at home. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your kind words give us support to keep going in this direction. Thanks for your recomendation and if you come back to Marrakech you will be more than welcome to our riad. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rahhal is a wonderful manager, Fatima is a wonderful cook, Abdul has a wonderful smile and we were absolutely delighted to come "home" each evening to the Riad, the staff and our charming room.

Rahhal in particular has a gift for anticipating a client/tourist's concerns, seeing things from our perspective and making life that much easier covering a whole array of
details. I guess he has great 'people skills' and they seemed exceptional - and were really appreciated.
>
My daughter and I would return to this riad next week if we could :-D but since we can't, we're telling our friends & family & potential customers what a terrific stay we had at the Riad La Belle Epoque.

Its location, the architecture, charm, decor, roof terrace, fireplace, food and the people are simply wonderful. Keep it up!

Room Tip: All 7 rooms looked fabulous, with sumptuous, authentic Moroccan furnishings. Ours, Isadora Duncan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks a lot Cynthia for your wonderful words. Your support and kindness encourage us to keep going in the same direction. We hope to see you back in the future and tell your friends and relatives that we will try to do our best as always to make their stay in this city unforgettable.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A beautifully decorated riad with perfect hosts providing perfect service. Abdul, Rahal and the rest of the staff made us very welcome and treated us like members of their family. They were very good with advising us on where to go and how to get to places... we would have been totally lost without Abdul's map! The riad is about a 10-15 minute walk from the main square.. an ideal distance. it was great being able to come back to such a peaceful environment after spending all day in hustle and bustle. We stayed in the Karen Blixen room which was beautifully decorated with Moroccan influence.. however, the double bed was actually made up of two single beds put together making it a little uncomfortable but i think this is the case in most riads/hotels. This particular room was downstairs so we were a bit self conscious of making noise. we could hear conversations from the reception area so i'm guessing they could hear us! Breakfast was great with something different everyday.. excursions could also be organised via the riad. we would recommend going to the quarzazatte excursion including ait benhaddou visit. main attraction is definitely jemma el fena sqaure. Good restaurants very close by are Souk Kafe and Cafe Arabe.
Overall, a brilliant riad which made our trip to marrakech very special... would definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: From the two rooms on the bottom floor you can hear conversations/noises from the reception/dining a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for sharing your review with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. About the room, as it is a Riad with a patio, it´s normal that you can hear something inside the room, but don´t worry, I can assure you that there´s no way we can hear you inside. The echo of the patio makes possible to listen what´s going on outside the room but not inside. We hope that those conversations from the office haven´t disturb your rest. We try to keep the riad always as quiet as possible to provide a good ambience for resting after the walks around the city
About the beds, yes it is very common in the riads to have twin beds, we receive all kind of guests and double beds is not always what they want. Anyway we have a couple of rooms with double beds. Again, sorry for that but overall you sound satisfied with your stay, so we feel very happy for that and hope to see you around in the future.Next time you have to try Coco Chanel double room. Best Regards and thanks a lot once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a beautiful riad within easy reach of the attractions of Marrakech but really quiet and peaceful, a wonderful respite from all the hustle and bustle. The guys are very welcoming and attentive and couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebrian5, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for sharing with us your opinion. We are glad that you have enjoyed our place. Hoep to see you around sometime. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The riad was very beautiful, peaceful and the service from the staff was fantastic. They were very friendly and accomodating. They always offered advice on things to do and best places to eat which was very helpful. Breakfasts were amazing and we were served everyday at our place of choice - on the last day we had breakfast on the terrace in the sun.

Rahal and Abdul-Huq were extremely friendly and made our stay a very memorable one. I was gluten-free and the cook, Fatema, personalised my breakfast so that it was suitable for me. We would definitely come and stay here again.

The riad is a great place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the streets of marrakech. It is tucked away in the side streets but still within easy reach of the main attractions. It was very calm and peaceful.



We would like to thank everyone at the riad for such a lovely and memorable experience and hope to see you all again soon!

Feroz and Samar

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kindness. We are happy to read your review and we will share your message with all the staff. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards from all the Raid la Belle Epoque staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad de la Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de la Belle Epoque

Address: 29 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech Medina, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad de la Belle Epoque 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reformed from a former traditional house, Belle Epoque has been decorated with antiquities.Each of the seven rooms has been decorated with Art Decó furniture and objects combined with the traditional Moroccan style. They are dedicated to feminine prominent figures of the Belle Epoque who evoke those happy years of transitory well-being.All of them have WIFI connection,cold and heat air conditioning and amenities for the bath.Our rooms are:Karen Blixen, La Bella Otero, Isadora Duncan, Mata Hari, Coco Chanel, Anita Delgado (Maharaní de Kapurthala) and Josephine Baker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad de la Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad De La Belle Epoque Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad de la Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.