We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely riad with perfect hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad de la Belle Epoque

Save Saved
You added Riad de la Belle Epoque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad de la Belle Epoque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech Medina, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #52 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A lovely riad with perfect hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The service we received at the riad made our stay extra pleasant. We arranged a transfer from the airport to the riad in advance. On arrival, we were greeted by Abdul who was so welcoming and lovely. He served us mint tea whilst spending time showing us various points of interest and routes on the map. Nothing was too much trouble. This continued throughout our stay.

The riad, like all of them, is tucked away but that made it feel quite tranquil from the hustle and bustle of the square. It's about a 20 min walk to the main square. We thought we would get lost but its quite easy after Abdul explained.

The breakfast was lovely and varied each day. We took it on the terrace one day as it was so warm and sunny.

The general manager was also really friendly and helpful. Both he and Abdul were very welcoming and couldn't do enough to ensure we had everything we needed and were enjoying our stay.

I would definitely recommend this gem to anyone wanting to visit Marrakech and stay in a traditional riad. The fact it was slightly away from the main busy square was actually a bonus in my view.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank´s a lot for your opinion. We are glad that we have made you feel confortable in our riad and you have found it a "gem". :-) Hope to see you soon around here. Best regards from all the staff of Riad la Belle Epoque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    39
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
141
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Amazingly friendly and helpful staff - the 2 guys that were looking after us Rahhel and Abdul (sp?) were so hospitable - Rahhel even came and helped me haggle to get a leather bag I wanted! There's soothing mint tea to greet you...they'll serve you breakfast whenever and wherever you like and will walk you up to the taxis to make sure you get on your way safely! Truly the most fantastic hosts!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank´s a lot Chloe for sharing your experience with us and other members. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit to Marrakech. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here mid January with my husband on our first trip to Marrakech. I absolutely agree with the previous comments that staff here are wonderful, always going out of their way to assist you and make you feel right at home. Abdul on reception was particularly great, taking the time to provide us with an introduction to the city over a refreshing cup of tea on arrival.

The riad itself is beautifully decorated and always maintained to the highest standard. It is located an easy walk away from most places of interest in the medina. The first time you try to find it you may have some difficulty as it is down the 3rd lane-way after the car-park, but never fear there are always well meaning locals around keen to help you out (for a small sum of course).

I loved my time in Marrakech and the riad and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have spent our Christmas holiday in this beautiful palace and for one week enjoyed every moment in this luxury and very friendly place.
The riad is located in very convenient location,only 5-10 minutes from heart of Marrakech,set in nice and peaceful area.The riad staff were extremely helpful and very friendly,they create lovely and homely atmosphere and made you feel very welcome.Rahhal, the raid's manager was always there with great smile,advice and great help!Staff's great knowledge of various languages was very welcome as we don't speak French.
We were looking forward to our breakfast treat every morning as each breakfast was different and delicious.Also the evening meal which we have the pleasure to try was delicious and Rahhal create very cosy atmosphere by lighting the fire place for us.
The design and interior decoration of the riad is absolutely amazing.The pictures on the web do it justice but you can only fully appreciate it when you see it in real.
The place is extremely clean and tidy and very very relaxing.We couldn't wish for better place for our Christmas break and would recommend this riad to all our friends and family!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank´s a lot for your kind opinion. We feel happy to see another satisfied visitor. We wish to see you back again and of course we will be glad to receive your friends. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I and my friend stayed at Riad de la Belle Epoque for a few days and it was worthwhile! The staff are very friendly and professional, especially Rahhal. He is very nice, friendly, good communicator and professional. The staff can give you good recommendations on what to do in Marrakech. The breakfast is perfect, the room is cozy and beautiful.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Ani, Thanks a lot for your Kind words and for sharing your opinion. We are glad to you have enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had the most amazing time. The staff were brilliant, the room excellent and the breakfast in the sun on the roof was brilliant. The riad was only a short walk from the square which was perfect and they organised trips to the Atlas Mountains for us as well

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are glad that you have felt like at home and to hear that you are satisfied with your holidays. Thank´s a lot for sharing your opinion about us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for an entire week and everything in the riad De La Belle Epoque was more than we could have dreamed of. The rooms were cleaned with care every day, the bed/linens/towels were all good quality (the rooms are all beautiful), the location is in a walking distance to for example the best spas, restaurants, souks, Jenaa el Fna and Jardin Majorelle, the breakfast was so delicious and the people working in the riad were so polite, nice and helpful (=
Take the airport transportation from the riad, and bring your earplugs if you find them necessary (in the medina you will hear the call for prayer at 5am).
All in all totally recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadbelleepoque, Propietario at Riad de la Belle Epoque, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hi Maria

We are glad that you have loved our place and that the Riad and the staff have fullfil all your expectations. It is always wonderful to hear such word from our visitors. Best regards and happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad de la Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de la Belle Epoque

Address: 29 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech Medina, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad de la Belle Epoque 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reformed from a former traditional house, Belle Epoque has been decorated with antiquities.Each of the seven rooms has been decorated with Art Decó furniture and objects combined with the traditional Moroccan style. They are dedicated to feminine prominent figures of the Belle Epoque who evoke those happy years of transitory well-being.All of them have WIFI connection,cold and heat air conditioning and amenities for the bath.Our rooms are:Karen Blixen, La Bella Otero, Isadora Duncan, Mata Hari, Coco Chanel, Anita Delgado (Maharaní de Kapurthala) and Josephine Baker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad de la Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad De La Belle Epoque Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad de la Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.