We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place near it all in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad de la Belle Epoque

Save Saved
You added Riad de la Belle Epoque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad de la Belle Epoque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech Medina, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #55 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Maastricht
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Lovely place near it all in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

In Marrakech you can have modern luxury in the ville nouvelle. But to really enjoy the city you should sleep in the heart of it. This riad is in the medina. The staff is extremely helpfull, rooms are stylish

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    40
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
144
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We found this a very comfortable Riad some 20 minutes from Fnaa Square. Our room was clean, beautifully decorated with traditional Islamic carved plaster work overlooking the central courtyard with plunge pool. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and we felt very welcome. The standard of cooking was very good with interesting traditional breakfasts and the evening meals were good Moroccan style (including catering for a vegetarian). The roof terrace was a superb feature with tables and a comfortable sofa under an awning. We ate there a couple of evenings and felt very pampered. Note that, although payment for the accommodation can be made by credit card, payment for food and drink has to be in cash and we didn't find this out until we were leaving - involving a trip out to the nearest ATM. Our advice would also be to ask for the staff to organise your transfers which, while a little expensive, does ensure you find the place (difficult) and are not at the mercy of a rogue taxi driver. Also, while the walk to Fnaa square is only 20 minutes, it is a very busy route (Street of a Thousand Mopeds) and unsafe in the dark.
Overall, a good place to stay. I doubt you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had an excellent time at this Riad, it is perfect location, the staff here are incredibly friendly and helpful. It is also extremely clean, and the breakfast (which is included in the price) is very good too. We could not have stayed in a nicer place for our holiday. As the riad is fairly small, it has a very personal feel, and the staff are able to give you their undivided attention, if you so wish. I recommend this place to everyone.
from Natalie & William, London, UK

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room and still loved it, had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nice rooms, friendly staff, and affordable price compared to some of the other (perhaps fancier) riads in the neighborhood.
The staff here was very accommodating and helpful and had several recommendations for our days in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Lovely riad, very nice roof terrace for breakfast, chilling out in the sunshine. Helpful staff, happy to recommend hammans / restaurants etc. Walkable to the central square, souks etc. but far enough away that it is very peaceful. Cute little plunge pool on the ground floor, perfect for cooling down. Breakfast is included in the price and the roof terrace is perfect for a G&T :) Rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed in the Riad for 5 nights and it was perfect. The Riad was beautiful and charming. All of the staff were so helpful and genuine and couldnt do enough for us the whole time. Their local knowledge was excellent, they gave us their honest views on places to visit/restaurants we had chosen which was invaluable given we were only in Marrakesh for a short period of time.
They arranged a taxi to and fron the airport which was very convenient especially upon arrival which was at night time it would have been quite intimidating had Rahat not come and met us at the taxi rank and personally walked us to the Riad.
The breakfast each morning was varied and typical of Marrakesh. One morning we arrived early for breakfast as we were booked into Souk Cousine (an excellent 1/2 day cooking course which I would defintely recommend) and I was politely advised that the produce had not been purchased yet for the mornings breakfast which shows that all the ingrediants are extremely fresh.
The location of the Riad is excellent, its within a 10 minute walk of the Medina and central to most attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coco Chanel room having read other reviews about this room on Trip Advisor and it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We were at the Bella Epoque from 24-27th April 2012 and found our stay to be very pleasant. The standard of the interior is impeccable and a delight to walk into from the somewhat manic and sometimes grotty streets. However, the staff is what really makes this Riad special. They were so helpful when recommending places to visit and they make every effort to greet you at the door and ask how your day was. Room service is of a good standard - found to have even folded our clothes at times. Changed our towels and made our beds daily etc. If you are hesitating where to go, don't. This is an easy choice.

However one word of warning....and please take this into consideration! Unless you are happy to give money (and a agree a price beforehand) to the locals then when you get out of your taxi on arrival from the airport to the Riad, the driver will automatically assign you a local to direct you to your Riad. Otherwise, they will approach you directly as you come out of the taxi. Ideally, to save cost and avoid hassle; call the Riad. They are happy to come out and meet you (a 3 minute walk, otherwise a nightmare to navigate to on your own - trust me! you won't find it very easily and the longer you spend looking for it, the more likely a local will approach you). The staff are happy to help and mentioned on numerous occasions that if we are lost or if we need them to meet us outside the Riad to help us get back, just call them!

The most humble part about the Riad is that the staff didn't know they ranked so highly on Tripadvisor until I told them on departure. This is a real gem. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the Medina however, so as long as you are happy to do this daily (which really isn't an issue) then go for it, be warned that pavements scarcely exist at some points as well as on bends, like a lot of Marrakech.

You can have a meal in the Riad for about 20 euros. Wine starts at 16 euros a bottle, 10 euros for a half bottle and they do beer, spirits and lots of other drinks. We had a meal on one of our nights and it was delicious!

In summary; this is a well-kept and high-spec Riad. Call the Riad to get them to collect you from the car park where the taxi's drop off outside. It's a short walk from the Medina and the food served is good. Most importantly, they have a welcoming team of staff!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad de la Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de la Belle Epoque

Address: 29 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech Medina, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad de la Belle Epoque 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reformed from a former traditional house, Belle Epoque has been decorated with antiquities.Each of the seven rooms has been decorated with Art Decó furniture and objects combined with the traditional Moroccan style. They are dedicated to feminine prominent figures of the Belle Epoque who evoke those happy years of transitory well-being.All of them have WIFI connection,cold and heat air conditioning and amenities for the bath.Our rooms are:Karen Blixen, La Bella Otero, Isadora Duncan, Mata Hari, Coco Chanel, Anita Delgado (Maharaní de Kapurthala) and Josephine Baker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad de la Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad De La Belle Epoque Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad de la Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.