We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Riad Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad de la Belle Epoque

Save Saved
You added Riad de la Belle Epoque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad de la Belle Epoque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech Medina, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #58 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Riad Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had an excellent time at this Riad, it is perfect location, the staff here are incredibly friendly and helpful. It is also extremely clean, and the breakfast (which is included in the price) is very good too. We could not have stayed in a nicer place for our holiday. As the riad is fairly small, it has a very personal feel, and the staff are able to give you their undivided attention, if you so wish. I recommend this place to everyone.
from Natalie & William, London, UK

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room and still loved it, had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    39
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
142
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nice rooms, friendly staff, and affordable price compared to some of the other (perhaps fancier) riads in the neighborhood.
The staff here was very accommodating and helpful and had several recommendations for our days in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Lovely riad, very nice roof terrace for breakfast, chilling out in the sunshine. Helpful staff, happy to recommend hammans / restaurants etc. Walkable to the central square, souks etc. but far enough away that it is very peaceful. Cute little plunge pool on the ground floor, perfect for cooling down. Breakfast is included in the price and the roof terrace is perfect for a G&T :) Rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed in the Riad for 5 nights and it was perfect. The Riad was beautiful and charming. All of the staff were so helpful and genuine and couldnt do enough for us the whole time. Their local knowledge was excellent, they gave us their honest views on places to visit/restaurants we had chosen which was invaluable given we were only in Marrakesh for a short period of time.
They arranged a taxi to and fron the airport which was very convenient especially upon arrival which was at night time it would have been quite intimidating had Rahat not come and met us at the taxi rank and personally walked us to the Riad.
The breakfast each morning was varied and typical of Marrakesh. One morning we arrived early for breakfast as we were booked into Souk Cousine (an excellent 1/2 day cooking course which I would defintely recommend) and I was politely advised that the produce had not been purchased yet for the mornings breakfast which shows that all the ingrediants are extremely fresh.
The location of the Riad is excellent, its within a 10 minute walk of the Medina and central to most attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coco Chanel room having read other reviews about this room on Trip Advisor and it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We were at the Bella Epoque from 24-27th April 2012 and found our stay to be very pleasant. The standard of the interior is impeccable and a delight to walk into from the somewhat manic and sometimes grotty streets. However, the staff is what really makes this Riad special. They were so helpful when recommending places to visit and they make every effort to greet you at the door and ask how your day was. Room service is of a good standard - found to have even folded our clothes at times. Changed our towels and made our beds daily etc. If you are hesitating where to go, don't. This is an easy choice.

However one word of warning....and please take this into consideration! Unless you are happy to give money (and a agree a price beforehand) to the locals then when you get out of your taxi on arrival from the airport to the Riad, the driver will automatically assign you a local to direct you to your Riad. Otherwise, they will approach you directly as you come out of the taxi. Ideally, to save cost and avoid hassle; call the Riad. They are happy to come out and meet you (a 3 minute walk, otherwise a nightmare to navigate to on your own - trust me! you won't find it very easily and the longer you spend looking for it, the more likely a local will approach you). The staff are happy to help and mentioned on numerous occasions that if we are lost or if we need them to meet us outside the Riad to help us get back, just call them!

The most humble part about the Riad is that the staff didn't know they ranked so highly on Tripadvisor until I told them on departure. This is a real gem. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the Medina however, so as long as you are happy to do this daily (which really isn't an issue) then go for it, be warned that pavements scarcely exist at some points as well as on bends, like a lot of Marrakech.

You can have a meal in the Riad for about 20 euros. Wine starts at 16 euros a bottle, 10 euros for a half bottle and they do beer, spirits and lots of other drinks. We had a meal on one of our nights and it was delicious!

In summary; this is a well-kept and high-spec Riad. Call the Riad to get them to collect you from the car park where the taxi's drop off outside. It's a short walk from the Medina and the food served is good. Most importantly, they have a welcoming team of staff!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the Riad de la Belle Epoch for 5 nights in April (2nd-7th) 2012 and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The Riad is conveniently situated a short walk from a taxi parking place, the Souks and it is a short walk to the main square (Jemaa el-Fnaa). The rooms were beautiful, the beds very comfortable, the food delicious and the atmosphere very friendly and relaxing.
It was, however the staff of 6 that turned this from a very pleasant stay into a truly wonderful experience. As a team, they provided a very efficient and professional service in such a friendly, helpful and relaxed way that when we left it was like leaving family and friends behind. Rahhad, Abdul and Nabil were always happy to give advice, organise trips, chat and share a joke. Fatimah cooked the best tagine I tasted during my stay (and I tasted quite a few) and the 2 Khadijahs who made up the rooms always had a ready smile and wave as they went about their work.
I really enjoyed my visit to Marrakech and heartily recommend Riad de la Belle Epoch. I would be very suprised indeed if you didn't enjoy a stay with such lovely people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

It is a really lovely riad with excellent decoration, charming lamp that they wouldnot sell to me, the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. We were given the best room and I love the one next to the swimming pool the best, you can simply jump from the window.

They also have very cozy lounge in ground floor and another one at the top, great for friends gathering and just chilled.

The service is excellent, all of the staffs that we met are extremely friendly and chatty hence made us feel welcome straight away. Definitely recommended but do book in advance.

Room Tip: choose the room next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad de la Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de la Belle Epoque

Address: 29 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech Medina, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#59 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad de la Belle Epoque 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reformed from a former traditional house, Belle Epoque has been decorated with antiquities.Each of the seven rooms has been decorated with Art Decó furniture and objects combined with the traditional Moroccan style. They are dedicated to feminine prominent figures of the Belle Epoque who evoke those happy years of transitory well-being.All of them have WIFI connection,cold and heat air conditioning and amenities for the bath.Our rooms are:Karen Blixen, La Bella Otero, Isadora Duncan, Mata Hari, Coco Chanel, Anita Delgado (Maharaní de Kapurthala) and Josephine Baker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad de la Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad De La Belle Epoque Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad de la Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.