We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Save Saved
You added Kenzi Club Agdal Medina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I just got back from a few wonderful days at Kenzi with a friend. I quick summary:
A spacious heated pool (and another massive pool but that was for summer as the water was freezing)
Lots of sunloungers and very comfortable beds
There is an indoor pool/spa you can pay £10 a day to use but as the weather was beautiful we didn't use it
Hotel staff and the animation team were extremely friendly from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
The buffet was varied and good quality and wine is served by the bottle at dinner so there is plenty!
There is a schedule of activities with dancing, ping pong, water aerobics, cooking demonstration and in the evening there are dance shows in the bar and games if you want it but the animation team just leave you to relax if you're not interested

The only potential negatives for some people could be:
The resort is mainly French, the staff speak English but announcements are mostly in French and evening entertainment is aimed at a French audience
If you stayed more than a week you might get bored of the buffet as although there is a big choice it is mostly the same choice every day
as we have some meals in our excursions that we booked with an excellent man Rashid speaks good english his contact in the hotel s reception who can tell you about good restaurant ,place to see and trips ,atlas mountains (nice to see). great warning about taxi drivers who may say jemma elfna squarre is closed and take you to their friends shop(lol)
There is music playing by the pool and frequent announcements about activities which might not suit older people who really want to relax.
We were there off season in February and maybe the restaurant and bar could get too congested in peak season
I'll definitely be going back to Club Kenzi as it was absolutely perfect for what I was looking for.

Room Tip: we were staying in room 416 was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,013
    734
    234
    87
    48
See reviews for
823
630
36
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rustington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

It is the first time my husband and I had been to Morocco. We both needed a rest, and that is exactly what we did. The weather was fabulous for the time of year, and the hotel was so wonderful that we didn't feel the need to get away on trips etc. The food was really good, and the choice was exceptional. The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially Kaoutan (on reception) and Mohamed Bargach (the reception manager).
One thing I think would be a good idea is if the dining room had a collection box for tips. I say this because we had a different waiter most days and most sittings, and all were very efficient so it was difficult to choose who to reward.
We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The place is extremely nice with huge swimming pools and nice gardens. Everybody was friendly including the manager, the girls at the reception; Kaouter and others, as well as the guys who work in the restaurant whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I also have to mention the girls at the spa and the boys at animation who were very pleasant. All drinks such as wines and beers were included so you can drink as much as you can without paying anything. All in all I had a very relaxing time so I extended my stay for two extra days. One drawback is the buffet where although there are so many varieties of food, nothing really tastes good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I took my mother on holiday for her birthday for 4 nights staying at this hotel and it was perfect.
All we wanted to do was get some November sun and relax. The hotel reception was the most amazing smelling place. A man took our bag for us as soon as we got out of our taxi and the staff immediately gave us all the details about the hotel and a complimentary refreshing drink. We were then informed of all the tours that the hotel operated, what they included and how much per person. They gave us a map of the hotel and although our room was not ready as we arrived before check in time we were allowed free reign of the hotel and to go straight to get food and drink. They have two swimming pools. One with water slides and aimed more for children/ families and one (that was a lot warmer) for adults just between their main restaurant and their pool bar. All the staff were VERY friendly and helpful, always talking to you and introducing themselves. They have activities throughout the day and into the night everyday and announce what is going on by the pool area. They also come and find you if you want to do a specific activity and you don't pay extra for this. They have sports courts and a spa on site. The hotel room was lovely and was cleaned everyday, very spacious with a TV and fridge. The food was not amazing but very good for a buffet. It had all sorts of things on offer and was replenished regularly. We barely left the hotel which is exactly what we intended for our holiday and were perfectly happy. The hotel also offers a free shuttle bus to and from Medina for most of the day which is really handy for people that want to explore the old city. I don't ever stay at 5 star hotels usually so to me it deserved the status compared to some other reviews I read. They do charge you 30 Dirham per day for a safe though, so we didn't take anything of value with us. The only issue I had is I could only pick up their wifi in reception although they claim the entire hotel has access. I would definitely return and recommend to anyone looking for a lazy and sunny holiday where if you choose not to, you don't have to even leave the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher room numbers are furthest from the restaurants and activity areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Overall, the stay here was very relaxing for my girlfriend and I, and a well needed hot break from the miserable English winter (25 degrees in Morocco, -2 in England).

For all of those criticising the resort for being french and not catering towards the English, that's a load of rubbish! Yes there is a lot of french spoken here, but that's Morocco's 2nd language! The natives speak French as fluently as Arabic. The resort definitely caters towards the english, having all the food in the buffet labelled in English as well as French, and all announcements are made in English or French with translation to English. My girlfriend and I don't speak a word of French and we didn't feel isolated in any way! On one of the nights, I was roped into playing a game on stage with 3 other contestants, and the host spoke in French and English to cater for all the players and audience members!

The food is good if you are experienced in buffet selection. The food is varied enough for you to have something different every day of the week. The drinks on offer with your meals are an unlimited supply of very good Red, Rose or White wine, Beer, bottled still or sparkling water, Fanta, Coke Zero or Fanta Limon. One thing to note, they don't serve tea or coffee at lunch time or dinner, so you have to go to the bar for this, which is something they definitely need to implement!

If you pay a small cover charge of 100MAD (Moroccan Dirham which is £8 ish) per person for the Moroccan restaurant you will experience some live music, good service and a Moroccan dinner not too dissimilar to the Moroccan themed dinner in the buffet, but it's worth doing just for the experience.

The Pools are great, one is freezing with slides, which is brilliant for the middle of summer, but at the time we went (12th - 19th Nov) it was just a little bit too cold for us, so we went over to the pool by the bar which is warm and a good size to do some exercise to make you feel a little less guilty about the mountain of food you've just consumed from your over zealous buffet visit.

Another thing to note about the pool bar, there are a LOT of honey bees (NOT wasps!) flying around. They didn't seem to bother us, but if you're a little scared of Bees then perhaps you won't want to spend so much time by the pool bar.

You do have to pay a 150MAD (£12 ish) cash deposit for each pool towel, which is refunded in full at the end of the holiday, so it's worth making a note of that cash expense before you go.

Regarding money, you should definitely take the amount of cash that you want in English pounds and then change it in the airport when you get to Morocco as they don't let you take their money in or out of the country and cash machines are in short supply and will charge you! (make sure you KEEP your receipt when you exchange the money in the airport, because on your return to change the Dirham back to pounds then they'll want to see your first exchange receipt)

Some may mention that reception was rude, but it's not that they are rude, that's just how they communicate.
The reception area is large and a pleasant experience until you have any problems with your room or wish to talk to reception as there is usually a large queue and they take forever to respond to anything you have. Apart from that, they do eventually respond and are very accommodating. Our room's air conditioning was broken and we had two single beds pushed together to form a double, so we requested a room change, which after some time was granted to us and made the rest of the stay extremely comfortable and air conditioned!

The entertainment team was an energetic, extremely hard working and very friendly bunch. They were extremely keen to get people up and dancing and involved with shows and combination dances! The shows were average at best, but we do both work professionally in theatre, so perhaps our standards are a little high. Regardless of the standard, the shows were extremely entertaining!
One person who deserves special mention is Jimi, he was a brilliant host and always put in an extra effort to make sure you're enjoying yourself and feel welcome.

In conclusion, the stay was extremely relaxing, good weather, full of free alcohol and a lot of food. They do offer organised tours into Marakech and various Moroccan themed trips like a traditional dinner and camel ride into the sunset if you're willing to pay the price.

We very much enjoyed our stay, but would probably go to a different part of Morocco next time as a week was long enough to explore Marakech and see what's there.

Room Tip: Check the map to see where your room is, too close to the night entertainment (which all ends at 11p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice clean hotel. Not a 5 star really but very nice all the same. Room kept clean every day, only niggle with this is the towels are taken in the morning but not replaced until late afternoon. Maid very nice though and incredibly grateful for the bath products etc we left for her at the end of our stay. Food was fine, always something for you to eat. Animation team were fantastic. Very friendly and put on the best evening entertainment I have ever experienced ever in a hotel. Very very professional and very hard working. These guys work all day by the pool then put on a top notch show in the evening. Pool area and grounds were lovely. All in all a great hotel to stay in just outside the centre of Marrakech. A lovely 4 day break. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Maybe not on the top of every list with 4**** but well worth a stay. Very pleasant atmosphere, kind staff and great rooms (choose the 4 persons room for a stay with 2 #tip), good fresh food. Enough space and room for the guests. The only discomfort were the hard bed and the Spa (200 dh for the use of the gym).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Kenzi Club Agdal Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Address: Avenue Mohamed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#154 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenzi Club Agdal Medina 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pioneer in its category. This hotel-club provides a full range of activities together with the best contemporary design by architect Imaad Rahmouni. Modernism and discovery can be shared by families or friends, in one of the best leisure hotels in Morocco, located by the Atlas Mountains, in the middle of 10 hectares centenarian olive trees.Accommodation 9 riads 254 double or triple rooms (32 m²) and 60 suites (53 m²) – all with private balcony . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kenzi Club Agdal Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenzi Club Agdal Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.