We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 9 more sites!
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Things could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just got back from this hotel, where we stayed for three nights. Overall we had a nice time there but there was certainly areas that could have been improved on. Good points were that the hotel was generally well-kept, we had a nice room not far from the pools and restaurant, and we liked the pool area which at this time of year had a plentiful supply of sunbeds and 'sunbed huts'. We thought that the food was generally fine - what we expected for price paid. Some days we enjoyed the food more than others (some days the meat dishes offered were not great) - but you could always find something and there was a good pasta station where you can get pasta made however you want it. We had a complaint about noise as the room two doors down from us was being refurbished and banging started at 8.30am - but this was dealt with well, we were offered to move rooms which we didn't want and instead requested they started at 9.30am which they then did.

Things that we were less good...staff in general were unfriendly, particularly the reception staff. They kind of gave the impression you were an inconvenience to them - and I think this was particularly towards the English guests (rather than French). The reception staff did not acknowledge you - you would have to go up and start speaking to them before they would even look up to help you. In the restaurant staff were hit and miss- one night we asked for wine and it was brought over, opened in front of us and put in a cooler. The next night we asked for wine and a warm bottle which was half used was plonked on the table.

There is not enough selection in terms of places to eat and drink. You can only eat in the main restaurant (unless you pay 10 euros to eat in the other one) at the times it is open. It said snacks were available at the pool bar but they were not. During the day you can only get drinks from the pool bar. The other bar (night one) is open to go in and watch football during the day but they won't serve any drinks until 6pm. The night bar is then open until around 11pm. The bar itself is awful (like a village hall) so no-one sat in it - everyone just sat outside around the entertainment stage. The entertainment wasn't really our thing but there was many people who did seem to really enjoy it. One night they ran out of beer completely - both on tap and in bottles.

A few of other things... You get asked to pay a deposit of 150d per pool towel so do not lose the towel! How they need over £10 to cover the cost of a towel I don't know. Also - the wifi is rubbish. You can sometimes get a bit of signal in the reception area but even then it barely worked. Finally, there is a spa with a lovely indoor swimming pool, but you have to pay 100d to go in and use the pool which we found unreasonable. When we booked we were told there was a free hamamam included but there was no mention of this when we got there and seeing as you can't get into the spa without paying I wonder if anyone actually gets this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    896
    660
    216
    81
    48
See reviews for
720
575
34
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

What can I say about this hotel,I am struggling to find something good. I appreciate that I cannot compare a North Africa hotel with say Dubai but you do expect certain levels for a 4 star hotel. Here are a few things we found.
The rooms are very basic, no slippers,robes,water, the pillows we lumpy and old.
The towels we thin and very worn.
The hotel turn off the air con if THEY feel the rooms are cool, this is purely to save money.
My sink plug was stuck closed, the staff forced it open and that's where it stayed for the length on our stay.
The sink tap wobbled about two inches.
Some staff were helpful, but the door and reception staff viewed you as a thing to be exploited. For example we asked the lady at reception to book a restaurant,she i think pretended to make the call,or just didn't get through, but then told us the restaurant was fully booked as a tour party where there, but of course could recommend another place to eat. The restaurant in question was small we phoned direct and of course booked a table.
The wifi is not really there, so don't bother taking an iPad etc.
If you want to sun bathe that's fine but be prepared to go through the following process of going to reception, paying a 150d deposit per towel getting a voucher then handing this in at the pool for one thin worn out towel. Guard this towel or lose your deposit.
The food is the same every day, as the hotel is cost cutting, the wine and beer are about as cheap as you can get,although if you are happy to drink it then there's no real restriction.
When you check out the hotel will hit you for some tax bill, about 30d per day per person, who knows if this is correct.
Every night there is an outside stage with some sort of entertainment,one night a guest decided to get on stage and start a fight, for some reason.
And be prepared for a an argument with the doorman who doesn't want you to leave the front door without giving him a ticket? And also try's to grab your bag so he can justify a tip by dragging it to the most welcome site of the day, the taxi back to the airport!
I cannot understand why there are some many good reports about this hotel, if you read the guest book at reception a lot of what I have said is repeated in there, but of course if you do it's to late for you.
Like I said I'm still struggling to find something good to say! My advice look elsewhere, check out some of the Raids to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A note to Minimesky: Please do not encourage people to place their towel and hat on the sunbed to secure a good spot!! I'm sure it was really nice for you to have these wonderful sunbeds every day of your holiday - but what about everyone else? Nothing annoys me more on holiday than people nabbing the best sunbeds and leaving their towels on them all day - even when they're not there....what gives anyone the right to do that? The sunbeds are for the use of everyone, so please, please do not pretend they are your property and not allow anyone else to use them.
Thank youj.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked via hotels website and got a good price at the time, but noticed that prices had tripled by time of travel.
We found the lady receptionist a bit rude as she had conversations with other staff and answered the phone whilst checking us in.
We used the free shuttle bus to the souks but it failed to pick us up at the arranged time, so we had to pay for a taxi.
Other than those 2 points the hotel and grounds are beautiful. The staff were so friendly always stopping for a chat ( we arn't ones for joining in much and after the first few attempts they didn't hassle us) Not much English spoken whilst watching Evening entertainment so if this bothers you then go to a hotel which is used by Thompson or an English company.
Food is good, plenty of choice and even the most fussy eater would get by - pizza station, pasta station (design your own pasta so only has your chosen ingredients) lovely salads, fresh bread, fresh fruit. Snacks available cakes, crepes etc..
I would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited this hotel the 29th of August - 2nd of Sept ( 3 ladies) This hotel was everything we imagined and just as shown on the website, A beautiful complex that is clean and well looked after. The staff are friendly and always took the time to smile or say hello. Most people there spoke french or Arabic with a few that spoke english very well. There was a slight issue with the room we were given being too small but that was sorted straight away for us. Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels too.
The restaurant food was nice something for everyone and drinks are served by the bottle, The staff in the restaurant did everything for us as soon as they seen us walk in the door. As we were there for 4 days we made the most of visiting places.. We had a camel ride, visited Atlas mountains which was a beautiful experience the traditional Berber house, Argan oil factory and the Market . All i can say is if you visit the market Haggle Haggle Haggle.. you will get what you want!!! : ) We also visited the Monte Crital Sky bar that was fab too.

The Hotel has so many things to take part in during the day, if that is something that interests you. We also did abit of Zumba i must admit that was fun!

If your just there to relax the sun loungers and four poster sun beds are perfectly situated near the pools and pool bar.

I would like to say a big thank you to Mohamed on reception ( Mr upside down badge haha our little joke) he was fantastic with us very friendly and always happy to help.

All the animation team are funny and very friendly especially MIdo, Azziz, Dj Sammy and Jimmy Thanks for keeping us entertained.

We would definitely recommend and will be going back real soon.

Get ready for us Kenzi Hotel. ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel did not disappoint. Although we had a couple of problems they were dealt with in an excellent way. The rooms were excellent, large and well equipped. There was a large selection of food to cater for all needs. The staff were so helpful and friendly and created a lot of fun. Good value all in hotel.

Room Tip: Only down side is the hotel is not close to any other amenities, within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubagdal, Service qualité at Kenzi Club Agdal Medina, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for your review and your confidence.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay at Kenzi Club Agdal Medina.

Waiting to welcome you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

the hotel room was very clean and good size for a family of four. We enjoyed the pools (a few topless women), the slides were awesome and the pools were very clean. The staff was very helpful and most spoke good English. The food was really good with many choices! I wish we could have had more bottled water waiting for us in our room; you can only get the water at the pool cafe which is a far walk from the rooms. air conditioning worked well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kenzi Club Agdal Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Also Known As:
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina Hotel
Address: Avenue Mohamed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#263 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kenzi Club Agdal Medina 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pioneer in its category. This hotel-club provides a full range of activities together with the best contemporary design by architect Imaad Rahmouni. Modernism and discovery can be shared by families or friends, in one of the best leisure hotels in Morocco, located by the Atlas Mountains, in the middle of 10 hectares centenarian olive trees.Accommodation 9 riads 254 double or triple rooms (32 m²) and 60 suites (53 m²) – all with private balcony . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Kenzi Club Agdal Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenzi Club Agdal Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kenzi Club Agdal Medina to your Saves list