We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy (in a nice way) marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kenzi Club Agdal Medina to your Saves list
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Mohamed VI | Zone de l'Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crazy (in a nice way) marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Firstly - Ignore other reviews saying that staff are rude. Yes, This is predominantly a french hotel and all of the staff speak french with limited english but don't forget you are in an arab country. If you are prepared to try, they will accommodate you and will respond to you as you do to them (in other words, give them a smile and a friendly "bonjour" and they will reply accordingly) the rooms are typically rustic moroccan style. Nothing fancy but adequate. The grounds are extensive and VERY nicely kept with lots of nice shrubbery. The 3 x pool areas are large with plenty of sun beds
& cabanas. Animation team are all very friendly and will encourage but not force you to take part. In particular we liked Aziz whom we met last year at riu Tikida palace, Agadir. The food was VERY nice with plenty of choice. (Typical moroccan style -cus cus, tagines etc) Alcoholic drinks not the best but ok. Entertainment - depends what floats your boat. Its worth taking the free shuttle to check the medina out. we went for 1.5 hrs which was enough just to get the feel of this crazy (in a nice way) city. We went during the morning before it got too hot but i believe that at night its all about food and is very vibrant. All in all a great 5 night break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annie1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charente Maritime
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We came to this hotel last year, same time of year, for 2 weeks break, with our two children who love the activities and ado club. Last year we came with Jet tours.
We cannot fault the entertainment for the children, who are 16 and 14 and the animators are very hard working, polite and friendly team.
The downside was, to our understanding, booking through Booking.com. We feel like second class citizens. This is obviously due to Booking. com taking their commission rate. We were frowned on and clicked at, when reception looked at our reservation on arriving and said, oh yes you with Booking..... and it is evidently not one of their most lucrative reservation points. I have to say that I did indeed try to call them direct and ask for a reservation of two double rooms for two weeks and was told that they were full. I asked, how was it possible that Booking.com website say they have availability. To which I was told, well book that way madame as we are full.
Anyway, we are here and the children love to meet new friends in the club.
Good side, the hamman, gymnasium and spa treatments and golf pro are lovely.
The restaurant and service for dinner is a massive let-down.
How the hotel can be called a 4/5 star is beyond our comprehension.
The food is very tedious and many nights poor quality. I suppose this is to be expected with such a large number of people to feed and children always eat pizza and chips anyway, so they are happy.
However the breakfast is fab. Loads of choice and a lovely start to the day with some extremely helpful staff outside on the terrace.
The evening meal staff are a different story. They can ignore you for ages if they feel pressured with so many guests arriving between 8 and 9pm. Do not arrive too late otherwise they are very keen to close down cooking areas and shut the curtains and the table staff are overly keen to clear tables and take your plates away. Sadly not the opposite when you arrrive. Do not feel the need to wear smart attire as it is very much a self-service canteen situation with the first come first served.
Another poor side. No coffee area outside after dinner. You have to go and queue up in the disco and ask for coffee there. It would be so easy to have a simple hot water urn and baskets of coffee, tea, sugar etc outside on the terrace so guests can go and help themselves.
A good quality are the gardens and pools. They are beautifully maintained and a very pleasant place to wander around in.
Another downside, we understand they take all reservations to keep them full but we were there the week they had 50 odd 18 year old students arrive together. Nice enough kids during the day but lots of drinking during the evening. You can imagine noise ! Then there was a family who had obviously paid the staff handsomely be waited on hand and foot by the pool and this family had plateloads of foods arriving all day, had taken over an area of the pool terrace, food smells everywhere, left the terrace looking like a bomb had hit it and not very savoury really. It would have been better had the hotel given this family !! a few tables out on the lawn area with parasols and they could have troughed there, instead of staff coming over with plates of this, chairs here, parasols there and ice buckets full of beers etc. Not very appealing to the other guests. Have never seen so much attention given to a client ! They were the only people being served around the pool !
Opinion is that this is very much a 3-4 star hotel now.
Many hotels that we have stayed in, their staff come and ask if you would like a drink. Here, you have to go and stand in a queue at the top bar and wait till a member of staff meets your gaze and understands their job.
All a bit disappointing really.
Cleaning of the room was a bit sporadic. On 5 days, they forgot to give us any towels ! They never in two weeks gave us clean glasses in the room or in the bathroom. We had to clean them ourselves before brushing our teeth. Again, all a bit disappointing. Not even a bottle of water in the room. We all had to make sure we remembered to get one from the poolside bar every day. Why they couldn;t put a bottle of water in each fridge...would be so easy to do.

BUT, the weather did not let us down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenCharente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Booked a four night break with a friend April 2013. Positives: Hotel clean, fresh towels every day. Most of the staff friendly. Ten min drive or so from airport. Drinks always available, the wine is not too bad although always too warm and we had to ask for an ice bucket every time. Large pools, lots of sunbeds. A large variety of foods but the same every day. I turned vegetarian for the week as couldn't face the meat! Entertainment staff seem to work hard with the kids all day and then they do a show at night. There is a singer outside on the patio area at night until around ten.
Negatives: Love kids but they are everywhere. Think it may have been a school holiday? Agree with previous comment, keep the pool without slides for adults. Mostly French guests, only a handful of staff speak a little English. French seem to be heavy smokers! Always smoke wafting across to us from all directions by the pool. Loud music playing around pool, games for kids etc. This is definitely not a 5 star hotel.
We took the shuttle to the markets, very smelly and dirty but expected that. Expect to be hassled immediately you enter the square, shops all sell the same stuff. I bought a kaftan which started out at 500 dirhams and ended up at 200. Well worth a visit. We took taxi back to hotel - the driver wanted 110 D. but then accepted 50. They do stop and pick up others if they are flagged, apparently its the done thing. Marjorelle Gardens is beautiful and worth a visit also.
This hotel is fantastic if you are taking kids, but if you want a quiet time forget it. First time I have flown easy jet, great for short flights - on time in fact got back into Manchester 20 mins early.
Advised not to drink the water by rep - but bottles of water are in abundance. The smell in reception is wonderful ( burning oil) they sell it in the shop for 200 dirhams. No bargaining in there though, tried it. Bar staff at the snack bar a bit rude, could stand for ages waiting to get served - have to be firm and make yourself heard. Wouldn't go again but I think it was good value for money and great if you have kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wenwill777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Going to start with the positives, which is the majority! Very nice clean hotel, big bedrooms, great food with huge variety and very generous with all drinks. Close to Marrakech - good shuttle bus service into and out of town. Close to airport too. Huge swimming pools and lots of sunbeds so a real treat not to have to "run for your sunbed" as in some hotels. (Having said that there were still the usual people who "bagged" their sunbed at 7 am, despite notices asking you not to do it.) A great place to go for a few days in the sun. Would definitely recommend it and would go back there.

A few things for the hotel to think about! I emailed twice before I came asking if they could arrange a taxi to collect myself and my three daughters from the airport when we arrived and was basically told "no - get a taxi from outside the airport" which surprised me slightly! I was hoping not to have to haggle with the taxis as we didn't arrive until the evening and were 4 women. However this is what we had to do and of course learnt we had paid far too much for the taxi during our stay! There were lots of taxis meeting people from our flight so I was not sure why this could not have been arranged. Needless to say our taxi back to the airport at the end of the stay was half the price of the first one.

There are two huge pools and I think it would be much nicer if one could be kept as an "adults only" pool. The pool with the flume is clearly for children and is actually a bigger pool. It was very noisy around the pool with loud music played most of the time and lots of shouting and activities going on. Again, would be nicer if that was more confined for the majority of people who didn't actually want to join in with the group activities.

The dining room was generally very good but breakfast was rather chaotic. Obviously most people come to breakfast around 9 am on holiday and we found that most days the tables were not being cleared quickly enough and we often ended up clearing our own table and then having to wait for it to be laid up clean for us. There was one waiter who was always particularly grumpy so we avoided sitting in his area after a couple of days!!!

The Moroccan Restaurant for which we paid a small supplement wasnt very exciting - or perhaps it just wasn't to our taste. We only went once and it was very disappointing with no choices. The Atlas Restaurant is so good. They need to make the Moroccan Restaurant better than that if they want people to use it.

It's a great hotel to go to but don't go there for a peaceful time as it's noisy in the public areas!

Basically well done to them though - we had a great time.

Room Tip: We had a quadruple room which I would say was a suite - great room - 2 separate sleeping areas with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolly099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

2 nights at this hotel, my friends and i did enjoy our stay... starting from our arriving till the end
staff are amazing always activities we had a lot of fun
building and gardens ... god we feel at home staff smiling all the time the sevice very good clean
a lot of lesiures sport tennis quad the spa is dreamfull ...tours around the medina... free shuttle bus to the airport
the buffet is rich not repetitif i still feel the test of paella in my mounth
we had great time i hope to come back soon i love Marrakeshhhhh

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOUFRANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubagdal, Service qualité at Kenzi Club Agdal Medina, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for your comment.

We are delighted to know that your holiday at the Kenzi Club Agdal Medina were held in good terms.

waiting to see you again in your vacancy Club.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

10 very nice days spent here with 2 young children.

Our rooms were very nice and clean, and really quiet. Nice pools, though the fun pool with the slides is not heated! Overall while there is animation, it's reasonably relaxed and you can easily opt out. Wonderful spa facilities. The food is good and there is a lot of choice with Morrocan food always available.

Only weakness: the kids club was pretty basic with little activities for the children...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomDec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having read many reviews in the 6 month run up to this hotel I was a little worried. I needn't have been; we had an absolutely wonderful holiday! 8 girls traveling from London for 1 week.

Airport to hotel transfer was 30Euro for a minibus for 6 of us (two girls arrived on a different flight the next day). This was arranged via the hotel directly. Relatively good price. The driver and his guide were very informative and friendly giving us helpful tips - not too sales pitch like at all. Transfer took less than 30 mins.

Morocco has a closed currency, you can change cash at the airport but wait until you are in the main lounge not the baggage hall as the rate is better. Also there are two desks next to each other, their rates differ so check this too. Avoid changing at the hotel, the rate they show is not the rate they give you.

Lovely cup of mint tea on arrival and you can return for another glass (or 10) during your stay. We arrived very early and were given access to our rooms almost immediately. Staff transferred our luggage for us via buggy as we were at the very back of the hotel (Rosaria Riad rooms 400-412).

Hotel grounds and room are immaculate and well kept. Everything is very clean and tidy.
There is a small shop near the children's area which has lots of basic amenities. Not massively over priced but not cheap either. Spacious and modern rooms with flat screen TV and mini bar. Water pressure was fantastic and always hot hot water! Can't fault the room at all!

Food had a great variety but did get a little samey after 3 meals a day for a week there. We ate out a few nights in the city center to break this up a little. Would have been nice to have some of the dishes refilled more frequently but again, we never went hungry and there was a different theme most nights. The Orangery Restaurant is a la carte and there is a small charge for this. We did book to eat here but after reviews from other guests we decided that we'd give it a miss. Alcohol is plentiful, in all honesty the cocktails are awful but the wine is great and they give you a bottle instead of by the glass. We took a few back to our room, same with the soft drinks/water which we kept in the fridge in our rooms.

Hotel itself is huge with 2 swimming pools, spa etc . One is absolutely freezing with 4 water slides, the other is a little warmer but could benefit from some heating. Weather was a little overcast some of the time so it was difficult to make the most of this. Does get very busy, so get your sunbeds early. People have a tendency to try and reserve multiple beds, so hold your ground! Nice beach towels available and pools are clean too. Wouldn't bother with the spa. The hamam is horrid and you have to pay to use the gym (!!!). Staff in the spa reception need some people skills training. Not a pleasant experience at all. Main reception girls on check in could have been more pleasant but not the worst we have dealt with.

Restaurant & Other hotel stuff were always helpful and polite. House keeping took ages to bring fresh towels after the room had been cleaned so I had to go hunting for these a few times. No big deal but would be nice not to have to ask. Life and soul of the hotel is definitely Mido and his entertainment team! They are fun and energetic and try and get everyone involved all day. They run activities from first thing in the morning until 11.30pm when the bar closes and even after this they can be found in the hotel's own club (yes, they have their own club! drinks here are not included on the A.I basis but still not expensive). Happy to socialise and answer any questions, they were a delight to have around. Crepes and snacks in the Gnawa bar between meals are ok - crepes are good! Gnawa bar is where the evening entertainment happens and can get a little smokey. Outside seating is nice.

Free shuttle into the city is useful but remember to book as spaces are limited. Free wifi is not great in all honesty. Bad reception and continually cuts out. Works very well in the bathroom in all rooms for some reason!

Overall, I would definitely return and recommend to a friend. It's close enough to the Medina/city centre for easy access but far enough that it isn't dirty etc. Complaints of builders etc are unfounded, we didn't hear a thing day or night and they were right by our block.

Room Tip: + Book shuttle bus early + Head to meals around the mid point of the seating time + Get involved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princessrourou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
6.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
4.4 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
8.5 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#326 of 491 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#217 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenzi Club Agdal Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Address: Blvd Mohamed VI | Zone de l'Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#102 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenzi Club Agdal Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pioneer in its category. This hotel-club provides a full range of activities together with the best contemporary design by architect Imaad Rahmouni. Modernism and discovery can be shared by families or friends, in one of the best leisure hotels in Morocco, located by the Atlas Mountains, in the middle of 10 hectares centenarian olive trees. Accommodation 9 riads 254 double or triple rooms (32 m²) and 60 suites (53 m²) – all with private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Kenzi Club Agdal Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing