We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kenzi Club Agdal Medina to your Saves list
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having heard mixed reviews of Marrakech and this hotel, a friend and I were a little apprehensive. We were very pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Although our room wasn't ready till late afternoon, we were able to get our bikini's and head to the pool and enjoy the quieter area.

We found the all of the staff, with the exception of some of the Reception staff, so helpful, and they were very happy to practice their English on us, some of the fluent. Coloured Wrist bands issued by nationality was helpful to us and staff. The white bands for English speaking, brown for French etc. Wherever we went, we were greeted in English.

I didn't go hungry, but the food didn't particularly appeal to my taste, but there were many people enjoying their meals. Wine is served at meal time if required, and beer is available on a self service basis. The Oasis snack bar was excellent.

Our twin room was comfortable and clean.

As indicated earlier, the only criticism would be some of the Reception staff. Clearly this doesn't apply to all, but 3/4 of the staff who worked the day shift were positively rude. It wasn't a one off and was a talking point around the pool amongst the French and the Brits.

All in all, we had a great 4 day break, with wonderful weather and wonderful people. If certain reception staff could raise a smile or at least appear to care, this hotel would have been spot on.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    821
    255
    95
    52
See reviews for
937
694
39
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have just returned from a week long holiday and had an amazing time. The staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help with any request that we had. The Morroccan restaurant was well worth the additional money as the food and the traditional musician was excellent. The rooms were lovely and clean, the only flaw was not having a socket point by a mirror which made straightening your hair difficult.
The pool area was well kept and the animation team were always on hand around the pool area to entertain us. The dance routines had us up and joining in every day although the other pool was quiet should that not be your kind of thing.
The hotel is situated near Pasha nightclub and with your hotel armbands you get free entry. We also visited "So" the club within Sofital Hotel which I would definitely reccomend. There was a mix of live music as well as a DJ and the outside was lovely to sit and have Shisha.
We did a tour to the Ourika Valley Waterfalls in Fatma which were amazing, just make sure you were good protective shoes as there is a fair amount of trekking up steep slopes involved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My boyfriend and myself have just arrived back from the Kenzi Club Agdal and I cannot emphasize enough what a spectacular trip we had! The hotel was near enough perfect for us with only a few tiny disappointments.
Reviews that state that the hotel staff were unfriendly I cannot find further from the truth. The majority of staff went out of their way to make us feel very welcome, well looked after and that they were genuinely interested in how we were finding our stay. In particular we found Mohammed, a member of the waiting staff, to be absolutely brilliant.
The food at the hotel was very very satisfactory, with a large range of tasty dishes, many of which could be cooked freshly in front of you. Was pleased with the authentic Morrocan food presented also.

The pool is lovely, however a little on the cold side so it takes some getting used to! entertainment was provided around the main pool and there adult pool is a little quieter. The hotel provide beach towels so there is no need to pack one.

The majority of travellers at the hotel are French therefore most of the entertainment on the night is in French which English travellers may find hard to understand. However we found it easy to join in with the singing and dancing and general night atmosphere despite this.
The general atmosphere ended around 12 o clock just after the bar closed, and it would have been nice to be able to continue the evening after this point.

The rooms are of an excellent standard and cleaned immaculately. However the placement of the electricity plugs make it diffcult to use hair appliances as they are far away from the mirror, so I would suggest considering taking a small mirror yourself.

One of the best parts of the hotel is its a la carte restaurant for a small fee of 100 dirham (about £7) you can have a beautiful 6 course dinner with wine. The atmosphere is wonderful and you feel as though you could be anywhere in morrocco not neccessarily at a hotel. The night is complete with a musician which we really enjoyed!!

As you can tell from our review we have high opinions of the hotel and the only issues we had are tiny. Book this hotel and you will not regret it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel/resort. Went to Marrakech on a business trip for one night only. The hoter was still new that time, and took the full board option, food is generous, good tasting and open drinks for all, you could even take bottles of wine and water to your rooms.
It is a shame I was there alone, my wife would have loved it.
Rooms are quiet big and comfortable, staff very friendly and polite.
The hotel is on the far end of the city, so at least 20 minutes from the main touristic areas in the city.
Price was reasonable, though I heard that now it is very expensive, but I am not sure,
Ideal for couples and families with children

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Travelled last week in August with my partner and another couple. On arrival reception seemed muddled to say the least and all we wanted was to get in our room! However, after a refreshing mint drink and a trip by golf buggy to our room, we were very impressed with a spacious spotlessly clean room, the bed was super kingsize at least and the maid service was excellent. Pool areas and walkways were spotless. A huge selection of food was available at lunchtime and in the evening. Breakfast was omelettes, pancakes, cereals, toast, fresh fruit etc. Plenty of locally produced alcohol and cocktails on offer. The downside, the animation team did not translate anything into English so we could not really get involved with the entertainment. Overall a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here and felt that it offered good value for money. We stayed four days which for us was about the right length of time. I enjoyed both lunches and dinners here with a good array of foods with some excellent seafood choices including cuttlefish, prawns, octopus and swordfish. Excellent bottled wine although the beer wasn't great. Breakfasts were a disappointment for me as the coffee was terrible and the pastries didn't seem fresh, having said that there was alot of choice and freshly squeezed juice was on offer too. The hotel has a very French atmosphere and all entertainment is in French and generally all staff greet you in French. This wasn't problem for us and we found that most staff attempted to communincate in English once they realised. The facilities were generaally good and well maintained. Bar service was a bit sporadic but generally it was easy enough to get a drink although there was restricted choice. Lovely grounds to sit in in the evening but they should consider moving the kids mini disco away from the main bar to give adults the option to sit in there. Entertainment was terrible but it has been in every hotel we have stayed in so we weren't disappointed. We took advantage of the free shuttle into the centre of Marakech and paid 50 Dirhams for a taxi to return. We would stay here agin without doubt. A very short transfer from Marakech airport makes this a great short break option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We traveled to the Kenzi Club Agdal Medina for a week during mid August 2012 with my family (2 adults and two children.)
We had booked the hotel and flights separately as we got a good deal for a weeks all inclusive.We had arranged transfers prior to travel through 247transfers which were fantastic and recommend.Upon arrival at Kenzi Club Agdal Medina our first impressions were how lovely the outside entrance looked and when we walked into the reception area it was even better. We immediately went to reception to check-in were we were greeted by the reception staff and told to complete some forms required for the hotel , whilst we were served with non - alcoholic mohitos. As we had arrived about 10 AM we were told that we were no able to go to our room until about Mid- Day so went to the pool area and began to have a look around.
As we began to walk around the hotel grounds we found all the gardens to be well kept and presented with beautiful array of flowers in each beading , which blended in with the traditional colours of the riads.
Our first experience of the food was at lunch time and we were very pleased with the standard of the food every day of our week long holiday. There was different meat :pork , lamb, turkey, chicken, steak.There was also lots of traditional tangines for anyone who wishes to try some true Morrocan food. Additionally if you are fussy when it comes to food then there was a pasta bar where a chef cooked what ever pasta and sauce you wanted along with a pizza station. Overall the food in the hotel was to a good standard although if you stayed more than a week you would soon find that the food began to become a bit repetitive. The dining hall were you eat was very big and thankfully air conditioned , but to be frank it was like a mad house .... kids running , noise and everything that is associated with an All Inclusive I suppose. Drinks were served in bottles : coke was the real deal and they served red wine and white by the bottle , where you have your own waiter ready to serve you. Bare in mind these waiters rely heavily on tips so are always there to help you when you need.
After lunch we went back to the reception where we went to or room which was situated in Riad Clementine. We had booked to stay in a suite or quadruple room and the room was excellent . We had two separate areas : one was a huge double room with a double bed and a bathroom with shower bath and the other part of the room had to single beds along with plenty of space to walk about and another smaller bathroom. Both rooms had flat screen TVs which was a nice extra but we didn't use them so cant comment on the channels.
We then made our way to the pool at about 2PM and was still able to find 4 sunbeds albeit on the grass area , we also found this to be the case throughout the week as there was plenty of sunbeds and no need to get up early to get sunbeds as there was still plenty available when we went for breakfast at 8 o'clock.
The hotel has two pools : the main one was very big and contained slides and was generally the busier pool as it attracted a lot of families because of the slides although the other pool was just as good.
The hotel is situated in the middle of no where basically and not worth going out the hotel unless you wish to visit the market or go on a tour which we heard was very busy and an experience in itself.
As many other reviews have mentioned the hotel is many occupied by the French ,Germans and Italians and a few British guests. French being a primary language in Morroco all the staff seemed to be much more friendly and helpful to the French guests and the food was geared more towards there needs , which was the only disappointment.
With regard to entertainment at night well all I can say is don't stay up for it as its not good at all. Firstly there never seems to be a rush in the performances as they say they start at 10 but never do more like 11 !!! If you do manage to stay up then you have to listen to it in french.
During the day they run activities for adults and teenagers such as :volleyball , football ,table tennis which was very good.
All in all a very good hotel which if it adjusted a few things could be a fantastic hotel , I would definitely return and would recommend it.
Any questions feel free to message me

Room Tip: The suites are very nice , so pay the extra to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenzi Club Agdal Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Address: Avenue Mohamed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#83 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#149 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenzi Club Agdal Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pioneer in its category. This hotel-club provides a full range of activities together with the best contemporary design by architect Imaad Rahmouni. Modernism and discovery can be shared by families or friends, in one of the best leisure hotels in Morocco, located by the Atlas Mountains, in the middle of 10 hectares centenarian olive trees.Accommodation 9 riads 254 double or triple rooms (32 m²) and 60 suites (53 m²) – all with private balcony . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kenzi Club Agdal Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenzi Club Agdal Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.