We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kenzi Club Agdal Medina to your Saves list
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Have just returned from a weeks stay here and for what we paid with Broadway Travel I think it was a great deal. Rooms are spacious and well decorated,nice bathroom, bed was huge, couple of downsides we were on the first floor (room 332) so balcony/terrace not huge, larger on the ground floor and our view was somewhat spoilt by some building works which were also noisy (so take ear plugs). Also air con isn't too good. Grounds are lovely and well kept, loads of room to sunbathe, plenty of loungers and loads empty when we were there, especially liked the huge daybeds with cushions and the towels included. Plenty of space to walk around and loads of activities every day if you wish to take part. Restaurant for an inclusive buffet was pretty good, anyone who says otherwise in my opinion must be quite fussy as there is loads of choice. Wine not too bad either, certainly drinkable. Weather unseasonally hot for March even in the evenings as previously I have been and it's been much cooler.Most of the staff were friendly and helpful even if you did not speak french and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    1,045
    311
    117
    67
See reviews for
1,178
892
49
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our group of ten arrived at the hotel in the evening where we were promptly served and offered mint tea whilst we checked in. We were all impressed by the hotel foyer and the service and the fact that we had managed to get such a good deal with the hotel and flights. We were then directed to the restaurant for our evening meal which was brilliant as there was plenty of choice at the buffet even though we came late.
After dinner we were lead to our rooms on a nice little golf buggy, our rooms were on the ground floor and all next to each other which was good for safety. The rooms were clean and basically but tastefully decorated. The beds were firm and it was cool enough at night so we did not need the air con. We were all inclusive and thought the buffet restaurant was pretty good with a good mixture of Italian, French and Moroccan dishes. I note that people have said that it was pretty repetitive but it is a buffet and there are only so many ways you can dress a lettuce and cook a chip! The reason people thought it was sometimes repetitive was because there was so much choice in the first place that cooking anything again would appear monotonous. In between there were cakes, pancakes and hot and cold drinks from the snack and cocktail bars. I don’t drink alcohol so I can’t comment on any of that side.
Entertainment-wise there was a bar/disco and a little theatre for the animation team, we went to the theatre once, it was all in French and they did some covers of popular songs and it all passed the time. We preferred excursions and going into the medina for entertainment and just relaxing at the hotel in the evening. We were happy with the shuttle service and used it a few times when going into the souks – try and book them in good time to avoid disappointment. If you want one in the morning then you should book it the day before. The driver would then let you know what time he was coming back to the same spot.
We did however encounter a problem with the pool, we were all Muslim women and the few who used the pool were asked to leave for wearing water-proof leggings and tops. However, this said, the hotel manager who came to tell us off was very nice and apologetic and said we were free to write to Kenzi Group management about this policy (we emailed the group a week agao and have still not received a response so maybe a letter at the time would have been better) and conceded that we could have exclusive use of the indoor pool at any time we wished during our stay. If we had any problems we usually spoke to Mohammed (there are a few Mohammeds there but this one has a Tom Hanks forehead if that helps!), he was the only one who I felt genuinely wanted to help you and he would go out of his way to do so. There were a lot of nice and friendly staff, the morning buffet servers for breakfast omelettes and pancakes in the restaurant, Mohammed and the hotel manager especially come to mind.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel, a nice oasis away from noise of the souks – I enjoyed spending time in the hotel and found it relaxing unlike other hotels I had stayed at.
General tips on Marrakech –
The hotel is a nice 10 minute drive away from the hustle and bustle of the souks and the medina and about 15 minutes from the airport.
Bargain hard with taxi drivers – it should cost no more than 50 dirhams to the medina and no more than 100-150 dirhams to the airport depending on the time. Bargain harder at the souks - The souks can be a bit much and coming from a culture where bartering is the norm, that says everything. The sellers were aggressive and overly friendly and there is no such thing as browsing, if you go into or look at anything in a shop, they will rarely let you go without pushing you into buying something. If they give you a price, halve it or just under if you are feeling cheeky and go up slowly if you have to – best tip is to offer your best price and walk off as they will usually call you back. If you get lost just ask for directions to the medina and then look for the minaret of Katoubi Mosque, the shuttle pick up point is near the mosque just past KFC and in front of the currency exchange.
On our 3rd and 4th day, we took excursions to Palmorie for quad biking and Orica Valley. This was not done through the hotel because we were able to negotiate everything a lot cheaper out of the hotel. Unrelated to the hotel – if you are thinking about going quad biking please bear in mind that it was positively unsafe and dangerous is not anything like quad biking in the Sahara desert which is actually fun. Orica Valley was relaxing with camel rides, hiking up a mountain to a waterfall and a stop at a herb garden with good quality organic products for sale.

Room Tip: Our room was a ground floor room in Riad Roseraie near the tennis courts and it was fine but in hind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Upon arival we were able to check in immediately. The ambiance in the hotel lobby was calming after a stressful journey, a wide open space and a beautiful aroma surrounds you. We were taken to our room in a golf cart, which was on the ground floor within a riad.

The room was spacious and pleasantly decorated however we were faced with two single beds pushed together instead of the King sized bed we had paid for. This was the first disappointment. We then found that the patio doors that led out to the patio (facing a mud wall)was broken. We phoned reception to request a room change and was told that we could not move until the next day. This was honoured the next afternoon.

Generally the food was ok. Breakfasts were great with a wide selection of foods to choose from. We found the lunches to be better than the dinner selection...although the choices didn't vary much between the two. The hotel has a different theme for evening meals each night, however you'll find that the options are generally the same with one small change to the freshly prepared food counter. In terms of the actual restaurant, we prefered to eat outside by the little olive trees in the sunshine for breakfast and lunch and inside for dinner. There is no set table for your stay so you can choose to sit wherever you wish. The service inside was mixed. One evening you would have a glass of wine at your table before you'd even sat down, and other times you'd ask for a drink that would never appear. At 4pm the hotel offers a snack bar which serves cakes, crepes, paninis and coffee. This was always a welcomed treat.

The pool area I thought was great. There are numerous double sun loungers under a canvas covering and plenty of sunbeds. The larger pool is unheated and quite frankly too cold to dip your toes in for more than a minute at a time. The smaller pool is heated, and although still cold it is bareable and refreshing in the heat.

The pool bar is surrounded by tables and a cute little perimeter of padded seats which overlook the pool. We enjoyed a cold beer up on this terrace as the sun was setting.

I have stayed at many all inclusive resorts and I have to say that the Kenzi club is distinctly average. My partner and I were discussing what would have made it better and although we couldn't quite put our finger on it, we felt that it was missing the personal touch and customer service that makes you feel welcome. This was accentuated when we went to check out and were told that we owed them 200 DH for using the safe in the wardrobe. We were not told about this when we checked in and there are no signs in the room to state a charge. We were outraged by this but had no choice but to pay. We left with a sour taste in our mouths and would not recommend this hotel based on the service, or lack of that we faced. I was quite relieved to be leaving.

Room Tip: Ask for a KING bed not two singles, check the rear doors and do not use the safe unless you expect t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had a all over lovely stay at this hotel. With All inclusive it was verry nice. Could have had some more opions on the lunch tabel but nothing to complain about. We where a litle consuren about all the wasps, that was not pleasent.

But woul travel here again. It is a very nice hotel if you travel with children. there are 2 big pools with slides on one of them. And alot of sun beds near the pool.
Recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, reps were full of energy (but not pushy!) Plenty to eat and a lot of variety, the Moroccan restaurant - although similar to what is available at the restaurant - is one not to miss. Cooked to perfection and mood is amazing and for 100 dirham's per person it's totally worth it. Good wine, tasty spirits and bottled/pumped beer available all day everyday, desserts were heavenly! The pool with the slides in is very cold but the other one is much better! A couple of bad points: 1 is beware of the safe rental. My sister paid for her safe outright and then they asked for money again when she left. The safe itself is in the room and perfectly secure, it's just they charge you twice for it (this happened to another group in the hotel too) the maids are extremely loud too so if you like a lie in, take ear plugs! Camel rides which are available to book at the opposite side of the reception are brilliant value for money and a very good experience. Marrakech market is one to see but only if you don't mind hussle and bustle. Blonde and young watch out, you may feel uncomfortable on the market. Lots of people trying to get your attention. Cab from/to the market should be no more than 50 dirham. State your fair before you set off - if it's two men getting in the taxi, the driver will drive a hard bargain but it's easier to haggle if you're a woman! Last thing I will say is - it might be useful to learn a bit of French before you go as that is their 2nd language!! Although the staff did speak English, some of them did struggle so I felt a bit rude not knowing any French, which someone told me before I went! Overall, brilliant hotel, clean, quiet (apart from the maids!) good entertainment, good leisure activities (table tennis, archery etc) and just a relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: State you wish to have a double bed or you will get two singles pushed together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The rooms, are perfectly acceptable (maybe even 4 stars), but the variable food served is at best 3 stars and sometimes dips down to 2 stars depending on what day you arrive there to eat.
For an 'all inclusive' resort, i found it hard to bear that one had to pay for drinks after 11pm in the resort bar. Plus one had to pay to use the onsite gym, i can understand them asking for payment for spa treatments, but not for the gym - where you do all the work.
The system for gettign into town, via the resort's free buses is chaotic and even the staff do not seem to understand what they are doing - trying to stuff 12 people, into a vehicle that should only transport 8.
As for the reception staff, 'service' does not seem to a part of what they provide.
Every time we approached, we were told that it would take 45 mins to sort out a request / problem. Even to get something simple like the code for the room safe!!!!!!!
This stay has put me off resorts and all inclusive packages for life.

Room Tip: Select another of the Kenzi resorts, anything moust be better than the Agdal Medina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just back from 4 days at the lovely Kenzi Club Agdal Medina and what a 4 days away.
Met at the airport immediately, transfer time to the hotel was 10 minutes...where do the travel agents get this hour and 5 minutes from is beyond me. Check in swift, driven in a golf cart to the room by the tennis courts and cant fault the room, spacious, very clean, bath and shower were great.
Got up for breakfast everyday and the choice was amazing, as was lunch and dinner, there was literally something for everyone, even the fussiest of eaters like myself, and ignore any reviews that say otherwise. The staff were as friendly as can be and do try to speak a bit of french, it will get you seated quicker and served drinks quicker. Oh and you have to have the fresh crepes around 5pm....cooked right in front of you.
Went to the bar every night, always got a good seat to watch the entertainment, and served immediately which was a bonus.
The animation team work their nuts off in the day and night and are always polite even if you dont participate as does every memeber of staff we came into contact with.

Had a half day in Marrakech booked with Sahara tours, learn't a bit of history from our guide Mohammed and toured the souks and square which was an eye opener. Beware of children selling hankies....they literally dont leave you alone, and probably would've come back to the hotel if you let them.

All in all this was one of the best trips in my life, there is nothing at all you could find fault with at the hotel with the service, food, cleaning.....

I will be returning later this year or definitely next year as the weather was around 30 degrees, but chilly in the evening.

Lastly don't jump in the big pool, it's bloody freezing, use the smaller one it's a lot warmer !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
6.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
4.4 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
8.5 mi away
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
Pickalbatros Aqua Fun Club
#263 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#316 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,386 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#209 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenzi Club Agdal Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Address: Avenue Mohamed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#96 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenzi Club Agdal Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pioneer in its category. This hotel-club provides a full range of activities together with the best contemporary design by architect Imaad Rahmouni. Modernism and discovery can be shared by families or friends, in one of the best leisure hotels in Morocco, located by the Atlas Mountains, in the middle of 10 hectares centenarian olive trees.Accommodation 9 riads 254 double or triple rooms (32 m²) and 60 suites (53 m²) – all with private balcony . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kenzi Club Agdal Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenzi Club Agdal Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.