We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little detail let it down otherwise it was an amazing hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Save Saved
You added Kenzi Club Agdal Medina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The little detail let it down otherwise it was an amazing hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Best Bits:
We are both Vegeterian and the chefs and kitchen staff were very pleasant and helpful to make special food for us. 4.5 Star service. Amazing

The bar staff were amazing and friendly Amazing. 5 star

The pool side lounges and animation team. Amazing 5 star.

Worst Bits:
Our room shower temperarue kept changing from meduim to extra hot, This was not nice. We complianed 4 days in row. Then on our finaly day the General Manager said he will move us, but as it was the last night there was no point. He also mentioned the Maintenance person said it was too much of a big job to fix!! The cheack! Anyway he then said that he would allow us to have our messages on the house due to inconviences and due to the below. 3 Star

Spa: we both had a message and it was one of the worst we had exeprienced. During our message one of the ladies was giggling and talking, which was very annoying. At one point we asked her to turn the music of as it wasnt tranquil and she rolled her eye at me!! VERY unprofessional! Therefore for this reason alone we shouldnt have had to pay for this. 1 Star

We also used the swimming pool and was asked to sign a piece of paper. At the checkout we realised there was a charge to use the swimming pool which we werant told about! Language should not be an excuse! 1 Star

Check out staff and General Manager who's name was Saad:
SAAD told us due to inconvience of having a poor shower and exsperience of Spa we would not have to pay and would be able to get a late check out. we felt he was amazing and this was a great service. WE SPOKE TO SOON>>>>>However when we checked out, he only gave 50% of the spa and said that the late check was complimentatry instead. This left a sour taste when we left! As he said we would not have to pay for anyhing!!!!
I would have contested more but didnt want to get more annoyed as i was in a nice mellow mood! However that is the difference between a true 5 star and 3 star who dont know what customer service is. 2 STAR

At one point Saad made me feel i was trying to get out of paying, which was not the point. I expect a service a normal running shower and professional spa staff. I my self am in the service industry and would have expected no payment.

If Saad understands true customer service then i would have rated this a 5 star! I would still recommend people to come to this Hotel as you only have to use the check out service once.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,024
    739
    235
    87
    49
See reviews for
861
636
36
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We really loved this hotel - it was just what we needed and made our break.

The rooms were spacious (even for 3 of us!), modern, clean and comfortable. The grounds with the olive trees were beautiful and well kept. The location out of town suited us perfectly and even though there is a shuttle, a taxi was £4. Pools were lovely and large and we had no trouble getting beds.

We found the staff to be really helpful and friendly. Although the majority of guests were French there were no troubles in translation. We spoke lots to those wanting to practise thier English! Saying that, there were pockets of Brits who all agreed when we spoke to them that it was lovely not to be in the majority for a change. Of course this meant the entertainment was in French but that's not important to me on holiday. We found it nice not to understand!

We were hugely impressed with the food over our 4 nights. Great quality and so much variety. I think we've all come back a few pounds heavier! The drinks were in abundance, wine was available in bottles at all meals whch we occasionally mixed up with a few cocktails.

This was a perfect hotel for a short break which allowed us to both relax in the sun and explore. We booked via a really good deal on lastminute.com which made the hotel we found ourselves in given the money we'd paid really good value for money. We've been recommending it to everyone and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Although English guests are in the minority here, and French is widely spoken, staff do their utmost to assist non French speaking holidaymakers. Airport taxis appear to operate a cartel with initial expensive fares to all hotels. Otherwise elsewhere taxis are very reasonable and are happy to negotiate a fair price. Hotel has clean spacious rooms ours was within the riad furthest away from the reception and was very quiet, just what we wanted. Meals could be improved with the addition of hot meat dishes. The meat we tried was nearly always warm gristly and chewy, but all other dishes were tasty but not necessarily nourishing. Pool bar and evening bar staff work relentlessly to serve delicious drinks, cocktails etc. Also the animation team worked hard to ensure everyone had a good time. Reception staff were excellent in answering our queries. The hotel would be very much improved if the spa information, restaurant meal descriptions, and all other printed information were written in English. The highlight was visiting the Medina with all the vibrant colourful activity. Daytime was an absolute pleasure and sunset different again.with all the food stalls and drum beat music hightening the atmosphere.Eating out is inexpensive here as is watching the activity with a soft drink up high with panoramic views in any one of the many cafe's that surround the medina. We would recommend this hotel as it offered good value for money and the staff were always eager to assist and went out of their way to make our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest away from reception are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Having only ever stayed at 1 all inclusive in my life, I feel my review may not be such a shock to others,,,it was a culture shock to us!! As a frequent traveller 4/5 star hotels around the world especailly Boutique Hotels...So my story begins...
Couldn't fault hotel, the staff, the room 'for the money' was as expected, until the air con kicked in, hmmmm eau d' sewer! as they say in France , 3/4 star type, beautiful well kept gardens, all hotel was immaculate and the spa was lovely, we had a hamman and a massage which again having frequented top class spas, this was of a high quality and great value...
The food.....For the money, what you pay for is what you get, i found the first few days ok, but it quickly turned from a love to hate relationship, Sooo bland with an interesting aftertaste that would confuse Gordon Ramsay!, but lovely staff and I have to say the wine surprisingly good ( rose and red) also the tequila was fine, stay away from the brandy unless you need to strip five layers of paint off an old pine door!
Didn't read the small print before we went, 'animation' so was very shocked 3 times a day by the entertainment by men in Orange t shirts to the same song every day 'whacka whaka', also by the entertainment at night, people esp women drunk, cavorting 'Dirty Dancing' style with the 'Animation Team'!!!
Been to Marrakech before, love the place and it is near enough to the town, also next door is the amazing cool well known lounge/restaurant bar called 'Bo & ZIn' it will set you back £120 for meal for 2 and a bottle of wine ( you must book) Well worth it!!
Also, Great weather as expected in Morroco, one of the nicest climates we have encountered during October.
So overall would I go back there again, NO, but did we have a laugh and an experience YES, Cheap but very cheerfull!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

After searching the internet for the perfect spot to stay in Marrakesh for 4 days my boyfriend and I stumbled across the Kenzi Club Agdal Medina. We were a bit dubious at first as some of the reviews that we read were not very complimentary and complained about the food and location etc. The Kenzi Club offered everything were were looking for and more. The food and drink are constant and the quality of the food is great - although we enjoyed lunches much more than dinners (could be because we weren't really hungry at dinner having eaten so much all day long). The property is immaculately kept and the staff couldn't be more helpful and attentive. Our room was very big and the bed was massive and comfortable. If you are looking to relax and just chill out by the pool and eat lovely food then this is the place for you - also if you have children it's ideal as there is so much for them to do. Pacha nightclub is just down the road and the entry is free for all guests staying at the hotel. Although the location is a little bit off the beaten track - it only takes about 5 minutes by cab from the airport and 5 minutes into Marrakesh. Cabs into Marrakesh should only cost about 30-50dhs if you're good at haggling.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The gardens are lovely, the lobby on arrival very modern clean and welcoming.

The staff let this place down massively. The do not acknowledge you, in fact you sometimes feel as though they deliberately try to ignore you!!! They speak little or no English - it is a French speaking resort with 95% French guests. So be prepared for this!

In terms of orientation - you are not told any of the following - where the restaurants are - there are in fact just two. One is included on the inclusive package the other at a 100 dh per person supplement however this is a set menu so if you want variety this won't be for you. You will not be told the times for meals either so worth checking out the signage at the entrace to the buffet restaurant. You will not be shown where the spa or pools are but they are all adjacent and quite easy to find. You will also not be told that you need to leave a 150 dh deposit per beach towel you need - we have never stayed any where that asks you to pay a deposit for pool or beach towels!!! You won't be told yoy need to pay for the use of the room safe either! Again we've never stayed at any five star hotel that has charged you a per night fee for use of the safe in your suite!!! Two other catches - power supply is 120, not the 240 we use in the UK so appliances/ chargers won't work. The final catch is that on check out you will be hot will another bill from taxes which is about an addition 40 dh per night. They could not explain what this was for and we didn't have time to challenge it so paid up!

The pool areas are nice with king size beds available and lots of standard pool beds available too.

The rooms are nice - we were upgraded to a large family suite which was huge - lovely touches like the rose petals on the bed etc. The riad courtyards and very pretty and well kept.

The food is very repetitive so be prepared for this also! It's fine for what it is and you won't go hungry. Worth queuing for the freshly grilled meats and fish at lunch and dinner.

The location is fine, near the airport and old town. Cabs to the old town will be between 50 and 80 dh, but if you are a culture vulture worth paying to get there in the evening to enjoy the night market and souks.

Overall - if you are well travelled and always stay five star this will compare more as a 3/4 star. The service is poor, food mediocre and entertainment only good for a laugh. It's very cheesy!

The surroundings are lovely and location is good. The pools are not at all busy so you can enjoy a nice swim and it is overall a relaxing place to stay at.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a family suite - this will give you two terraces or balconies and seperate rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Last minute booking for this trip - a bargain so we weren't expecting that much. The hotel is a wee bit outside Marrakech in an area that is a bit desolate as it is being developed... Just now you couldn't walk to town for example but it is only £6 in a taxi - if you want to stay later than the last free shuttle bus.

So yes they all speak French - but it is Morocco! Most of the staff tried really hard to talk to us in English - with a good number of staff fluent English speakers. Regardless they were all very helpful and we didn't feel left out. Staff always attempted to converse with all nationalities. There were activities around one of the pools all day.

The whole place still has that new feel about it; everything was very clean - toilets all European and spotless. Rooms big with Sky news and CNN. Fridge - not stocked. Very modern with some Moroccan styling. HUGE bed and great cleaning staff.

Restaurant was buffet, but managed to avoid feeling like a free-for-all at an all you can eat cheap cafe. The lighting, dressing and attentive waiters made it feel like a proper meal out. It was hard not to eat eat eat.. as everything from tagines and cous cous to chips and steak really was very good.

The Bedouin style double canopy beds around the pool and the fans and water sprinklers, made the pool area feel very lush.. add in a couple of cocktails.. perfection.

We didn't spend any money really on this trip, we tipped here and there, but couldn't see ANY people tipping in the restaurant or the bars.

Other useful tips? Well they charge £3 a day for the room safe, £15 deposit for pool towels, the wine is fine and the beer really good,cocktails lethal (my favourite kind). You need to book the shuttle to town in advance and you agree the time of the return trip with the driver and with your fellow travellers. They have tennis and ping pong at the pool - no deposit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenzi Club Agdal Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Address: Avenue Mohamed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#151 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenzi Club Agdal Medina 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pioneer in its category. This hotel-club provides a full range of activities together with the best contemporary design by architect Imaad Rahmouni. Modernism and discovery can be shared by families or friends, in one of the best leisure hotels in Morocco, located by the Atlas Mountains, in the middle of 10 hectares centenarian olive trees.Accommodation 9 riads 254 double or triple rooms (32 m²) and 60 suites (53 m²) – all with private balcony . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Kenzi Club Agdal Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenzi Club Agdal Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.