We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit if you can overlook the flaws” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bain Bleu

Le Bain Bleu
32 Derb Chorfa Lakbir, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
+212 5244 26 999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #287 of 500 Activities in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The hammam, source of oriental beauty, is an age-old ritual whose secrets and traditions spell relaxation and well- being. Its magical properties will waft you away into other worlds, delighting mind and body alike in an atmosphere heady with the scents of eucalyptus, marjoram and rose oils, soft music floating in the air to lull you into meditation.Relaxation as you’ve never experienced it before!
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you can overlook the flaws”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

A reasonable quality spa, quite tastefully decorated and very clean. Their herbal baths and scrubs were really good (can't get anything like them at home) but massages were limp and not very skilful. Service is patchy - some staff were rude when we wanted to change treatments. The place is hidden in winding backstreets - yes, carry on walking past the smelly rubbish dump!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    47
    19
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Incredible Hammam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

So relaxing, and they take private bookings which means your male and female party won't have to split up...which also means that you'll find yourself sat opposite your male and female mates in just your pants.

We booked in for the traditional hammam and 1 hour massage, was an absolute treat

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A deserved guide book favorite, but hard to find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lonely Planet big it up, and rightly so. We did the couples thing for 600 dh and after some serious subterranean scrubbing, soaping and scraping had the massage. Nice setting with relaxed, pleasant, capable staff.

A great time out from child care and the Medina.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsomer Norton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A whole new world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We travelled as two relatively young girls (17 and 20), so we went for this Hammam as it wasn't public, and yet wasn't too expensive. It's well hidden down a little alley behind the souqs, but is a completely different experience to the streets of Marrakech. We dropped in the day before and booked a slot for a 45 minute body scrub and a half hour massage, totalling 350 dirham each (£26). You'll be asked to leave a 100 dirham deposit in case you don't turn up, but you'll get that back when you pay.

When we arrived the next day, we were half an hour early, and they threw in a free pore mask for us both. If you are shy, be aware that you will be asked to remove the top of your bikini. However, if you're uncomfortable with this then I'm more than sure you won't be forced (the staff are female, so don't worry too much).

Despite only booking a half-hour massage each, we were treated to a full hour of full body massage. The treatment is fantastic, nothing like anything you'll ever experience in England. Don't miss out on a hammam treatment in Marrakech; it'd be a mistake.

After the treatment, we were taken to a room of loungers and given a bottle of water and a glass of Moroccan mint tea (gorgeous stuff) and left to wind down for 20 minutes or so. We weren't sure on the etiquette, but discovered that you leave at your own will, they don't come and ask you to leave. Overall, this spa is a wonderful one; the perfect balance between public and expensive spas in Marrakech.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice hammam in the heart of Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

we wanted to test an hammam in Marrakech, and chose this one as to be a good option between local vs fancy ones.
Treatment was good, skin completely regenerated after the scrub!!! also good the tea and relax after hammam.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bain Bleu also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Bain Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bain Bleu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.