We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent Riad for your money, Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Harmonie Kennaria

Save Saved
You added Riad Harmonie Kennaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Harmonie Kennaria
13 Darb Kennaria Jdida, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #679 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Descent Riad for your money, Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This Riad has an incredible location for your money and give good service in a very authentic Moroccan Riad.

Breakfast is pretty good and included however the dinner are very expensive for what you get, additionally we were supposed to get picked up from the airport on our arrival to Marrakesh but no one showed up and we had to pay a cab for a ride to the Medina and a guide to the hotel. No one ever apologized for this as the staff did not speak English very well and the manager was never there to talk to us.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the cheapest rooms, they are on the ground floor and very very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Was here just for the night in a double room! I love traditional style riads as they are always so beautiful and much more homely than 4 star hotels filled with tourists!! Staff was quiet and shy but very polite and welcoming! Bed was comfy and the bath was huge!! Had breakfast on the courtyard downstairs which was delicious and very filling! the small pool is not heated but was still fine to dunk feet in and cool off! Views are not amazing on rooftop but its a nice place just to relax and have a drink and BBQ! I Very close to djemma el fnaa but once inside the riad you are not disturbed by the hustle and bustle and noise!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This Riad was billed as a 5 star one by our booking agent. This was misleading as it is basic & by no means 5 star! If you are used to travelling and 5 star accomodation - please don't go there!
There was a lovely member of staff - Hafida, and it was central.
It is marketted as non smoking, however the owner smokes in courtyard/dinning room/ sitting room with other guests so the ground floor rooms are filled with smoke.
Rooms are small with hardly any room to manoeuvre. Double bed is a compact one so small albeit firm.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral u.k.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is a lovely authentic riad. We took the offered transfer, so were greeted at the airport, and taken to the nearest parking place where we were met by Hafida who walked the five mins to the riad with us.Although once settled it was easy to find, in the dark without a guide it would have been difficult. We were very impressed when we arrived. Lovely tiling everywhere, and most importantly such friendly helpful people - particularly Hafida, and Christianne the owner. We were given mint tea, and cakes, then shown to our room, which had been warmed ready for our (feb)arrival. The rooms here are very pretty, fairly basic, but clean and comfortable. Cleaned every day, and towels and sheets changed a few times during our stay. The en-suite bathroom basic, but clean and functional. The breakfasts served upstairs on the terrace were good and filling (pancakes, bread croissants,jams great coffee etc.)
The staff were so helpful and friendly I think just about anything requested would have been 'no problem'. Great location very near the square, and after a short while easy to find. Near many brilliant (and cheap) restaurants and shops, just a couple of mins from the square. In all we had a fantastic holiday here. We loved Marrakech, and were made to feel so welcome at the riad. Thank you so much Hafida and Christianne - we hope to be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

If you're expecting 5 star luxury you'd best not come here. The rates were what we paid for a suite in Milan but what we got for it was a lot less. Khadija and Hajiba who run the riad are both lovely and accommodating and that's the best I will say about this place.

We were there for 12 nights in december and it was freezing. The beds are small and hard, the lighting is dim, the toilet seat was broken (fixed promptly after I complained to Khadija). The plunge pool that my kids were dying to get into was a disappointment since it wasn't heated. Breakfast was ok (have had much better breakfasts in other hotels) a lot of bread and jam (we requested boiled eggs after the second day which we got) and coffee. I think a lot of the issues are that in the name of authencity, they get away with the minimal (no hairdryers in the riad!)

When we asked for a home cooked meal we were told it would cost us 20 euros per adult for a single tagine. As soon as you go to the surrounding restaurants you can discover that for 6 0r 7 euros you can easily get a good tagine. They also claim to organize excursions but the cost was way too much (1500--1700 dhirams for a trip to the Ourika Valley)...we found an independent driver and car who took us there for 500 dhirams.
It was conveniently situated in the middle of the souks so as you step out into the maze of the souks, finding a bazaar, a cafe, a restaurant etc is easy, but beware of the crazy motorcyclists!
Not the most child-friendly of vacations and I don't think I will be coming back here.
Khadija is exceptionally friendly and nice and will accompany you if you need help in shopping and making calls.

Room Tip: There is no spa in this riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Its a nice and friendly small family Riad. Sana and Issem are very welcoming and makes you fell at home. It´s fantastic to sit on the roof balcony and eat homemade traditionally Moroccan breakfast. They were very helpful and guided us to nice things to do and se.
The locational of the Riad deep inside the Medina felt a bit adventurous at first. But it was safe and good to be a bit away from the noisy "Jema el fna".

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Harmonie Kennaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Harmonie Kennaria

Address: 13 Darb Kennaria Jdida, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #679 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad HARMONIE-KENNARIA welcomes you to a relaxing space and offers you a unique experience in the heart of this old house recently renovated, respecting the Moroccan arts and crafts. Enjoy this space ideally situated for exploring the cultural and culinary treasures of the fascinating city of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Harmonie Kennaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Harmonie Kennaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.