We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing turn 180 degree !!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Palmyra

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Palmyra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Dar Palmyra
67 derb Kadi Haja Quartier Sidi | Mimoun, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #492 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Amazing turn 180 degree !!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

No words can describe the exceptional service and welcome you receive when staying at this lovely hotel-riad. We have been very fortunate to have stayed in dar palmyra on numerous occasions but our recent visit has most definitely surpassed all previous stays. [They just had a management change 6 months ago, very great that they turn 180 degree in such short time]

Having spent 2 nights desert safari and stayed 3 nights in Fes we spent the last week of our holiday at the dar palmyra. What a treat!!! The welcome we received on arrival to the hotel-riad was amazing, we felt like we were returning home and felt like part of the royal family. Amazing. The hotel-riad remains the same building wise but the new management makes it stunningly incredible. It is luxury in a category of its own. You can have your luggage packed and unpacked, and your bath run for you. The service is truly amazing. We never practice this during our previous stays !!! we just use to stay here as the place is just very close to everything that is all, but now the whole picture have turned around to be more pretty than we ever think of, booked two rooms, we found that one of them was upgraded to a suite with no extra cost whatsoever!!rooms were changed beautifully with new decoration and always very clean, moreover, imagine from the managers who remembered my son and daughters names immediately, and greeted them with a huge smile and 'high fives' every time we went through the door, to the sunny terrace, which was prepared with sun beds, towels, water to drink. Everyone here have exceptional training. All that and we still paid the same price we have paid during our last visit!!!!!!!

The true that the new management, were superb and the best service we have ever had in Morocco. Especially the way they dealt with the demands of our 6 & 8 years old daughters and our 12 years old son.

The service was exceptional. Each morning breakfast at the terrace we were greeted by our names and given our usual requests of drinks for us and the kids, and different Moroccan sweets on daily basis. The staff even offered to get our breakfast by the pool then at the terrace then at the lobby,... always something new every day..True 5 stars... even it is a small hotel-riad, but you cannot make any different between them and any 5 starts hotel chain in morocco, if this one is not better, as it has the home feeling.

Small example of how they are attending into details: when we went to swim at the pool, the manager offers fresh orange juice to the kids and ice water for us on the house, plus “warm body towels” were offered once we came out of the pool, no place is doing this any where...

You may like or dislike the style of the hotel-riad - but nobody would deny that it impresses.
Speaking about staff and services - I did not see so well educated and flexible managers - they a family as I came to know and both hoteliers - as if they read your personality and tell you what you want to hear and behave the way you expect and you need. Excellent!
We personally felt so much at ease and comfortable.
We like to discuss with people and we got absolute reflection of same attitude from all hotel-riad members - no matter if from housekeeping or managers.

You feel there as the Special guest, the Very Important guest.


I could write pages about it! It is truly a hotel-riad that should be visited everytime if you ever visit Morocco.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Our stay at the Palmyra was simply great. It is not our first time in Marrakech and we are a couple used to stay in riads, Palmyra has definitely something different to offer.We booked one of the rooms on the patio view, simply nice and very comfy. It feels very warm. The riad apparently changed management recently( this November), all was smooth. Very welcoming managers who made sure to vary our breakfasts every day of our stay without any supplement charges. The riad is clean and has a huge terrasse with different areas and nice greenery views.
Its very easy access to the place, few steps from main street so no need to walk in the thiny streets, in a very secure area and easy to find if you are like us, kind of getting lost easily! ;-)
Definitely going back there, really enjoyed the welcome and the unique atmosphere in there.

Room Tip: Volubilis.1st Floor Patio view, Bougainvillier. 1st Floor Patio View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Riad is in a good and safe position.
The rooms are little and there isn't a door between bedroom and bathroom.
People in riad are really kind.
Breakfast in terrace is beautiful and good, but the dinner is not so good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARPALMYRA, Directeur général at Riad Dar Palmyra, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for your comment about DAR PALMYRA

We want just to give more details about your opinion on the Riad,

The room that you booked is small but not that small it has everything nice view on the swimingpool ,airconditionning and pretty shower,

From the website we can see alll these details,

other thing its normal that the rooma that are at 55euros are smaller than the ones at 80euros
these Rooms are too much bigger ,but at the end it’s the client who choise wich Room is suitable for him

Also from the website we can check that there is no doore between the room and the bathRoom cause we are in Riad which means Morrocan house,

We come back to the food in the Riad, 99% of our guests said that they had the best food in
marrakech in the Riad , they did also wright so beautiful comments on tripadvisor about the diners
Which means that they had very nice stay , you could check all this on Tripadvisor

It seams that you liked very much the Diner of the new year but the second diner on the 3rd January you didn’t like it its maybe because you came Sick from Essaouira,

I jope that you did appreciat that when you were sick we did arrange for a doctor to come till your Room and check you and that I went with you to the Pharmacy to get the medecine instade of going to his cabinet and then look for a pharmacy

Thank you very much for your stay with us and we hope to see you next time

EL MECH Ismail /Manager
DAR PALMYRA
Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Palmyra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Palmyra

Address: 67 derb Kadi Haja Quartier Sidi | Mimoun, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #492 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Palmyra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Palmyra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.