We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Qodwa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Qodwa to your Saves list
Riad Qodwa
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   route 2012 Sidi Abdallah Ghiat Km 12 | Route du Golf royale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel doesn't look as good as the pictures detail but it was still nice. It would be nice if some of the fountains also worked as it looks a bit bare without them.

The staff were very helpful and happy to accommodate. The shuttle into town was useful and they changed some of the shuttle times to accommodate my wishes which was nice. The food was also nice and my room was very large. I was very happy with this.

I get the feeling Morocco runs on its own special version of time so don't except things to run on time and you'll be fine.

I don't think I'd visit Morocco again but if I did I would consider staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    46
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
44
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I ended up here accidentally. I was supposed to be staying at Riad Dubai in the city center, but due to a drainage problem, they advised that it would be best if I spent the first night in Morrocco at their sister establishment outside of the city and then come back to the Riad once the issue had been sorted. By the time the issue was sorted, I had decided to stay at Qodwa. Yes its out of the city, and travel to and from Marrakech means getting into a battered people carrier, but it's all rather charming, and the Riad is so so peaceful, and there is a lovely pool, so teh 'commute' to the city is really no hassel. All the staff at the riad were lovely and couldn;t do more to help you if they tried, btreakfasts were good and set you up for the day, and the beef and prune tagine was yum. For the price, I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is not a luxury resort, but a friendly place with potential for more. The rooms are ok (somewhat old but clean, beds with hard mattresses are common in Morocco) and the gardened pool area is pleasant, with peacocks and water features. Breakfast is basic: yogurt, bread, croissant, orange juice and coffee, but the restaurant food is good. We had no problems with the minivan to the city (25min) but one has to understand that it is one transport for all of the people staying at the hotel, so be flexible. It is great value for money but in fact, the best about this riad is that they are very friendly and willing to help and cater to guests' needs.

Room Tip: Be aware that it is in the country, so outside noises will be there: dogs barking, charping crickets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I dont write reviews very often, but having come back from a fantastic girls weekend in Marrakech, staying in Riad Qodwa I felt i needed to share our lovely trip!
On arrival at the airport we were collected by Jamal (hotel driver) who was lovely and friendly and the drive was about 1/2 hour to the hotel. Once at the hotel we were greeted with mint tea and the lovely man at reception (whos name i cant remember) sat us down with a map and explained/located the places we would probably like to visit and give us some very helpful do's and don'ts when out in the city.
The hotel has a lovely family run feel and nothing is too much trouble as they are always happy to help in anyway they can. The rooms and the communal areas like the terrace, swimming pool and foyer were always clean and the hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and a free shuttle back and forth to the Medina and as long as you remember there is one shuttle and 13 or so rooms so you do have to be a little bit flexible it is a fantastic service.
Even though the hotel does not offer any alchol, they were more than happy to put our wine in the fridge and find us a bottle opener and they were happy for us to drink on the premises.
All in all we had a fantastic trip (even with the power cut on one of the days), yes the hotel is a budget hotel and as in all hotels there is room for improvement, but we certainly had more than our moneys worth! Thank to all the staff at the Riad Qodwa for a great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Me and my boyfriend felt quite welcome at the Riad Qodwa. We especially enjoyed the excellent service of Abdel (Receptionist) who always went out of his way to satisfay the guests needs and tryed to fulfill their wishes. We also appreciated Jamaal's (Hotel Driver) kind - and friendlyness and the very nice talkings during our rides to the Medina and back.

We enjoyed our trips organized through Abdel to the Ourika Valley, the Quadbiking and the Spa-day in the Hammam.

Many thanks to the whole Riad Qodwa-Team for the excellent hospitality :-)

Room Tip: The quiter room is on the first floor even though it's a bit smaller - however, you enjoy the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellifield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Riad Qodwa. From entering to leaving the property we were made to feel like family. The Riad is located outside Marrakech with a shuttle bus available for visits in to Marrakech. As Marrakech is such a busy place, it was lovely to get back to the peace and quiet after experiencing the hustle and bustle of people,cars,carts and most of all motor cycles in the city itself.
Our bedroom (5) was enormous, complete with sofa and armchair. We did not have a panoramic view from the room, only the bushes lining the pathway! Breakfast was served outside (inside if you preferred) and was perfectly adequate for our needs (bread, pancake, french pastry, yogurt, jam, cheese and olives). The pool area was lovely for sunbathing and, for those brave enough, a swim (Water was a bit cold). Inside there were plenty seating areas to relax in.
Wifi was free and usually good reception.
The driver of the shuttle deserves a mention as, to be honest, I do not know how he made it through the traffic in Marrakech in reasonable time to meet his passengers. We went into the city 3 times and waited for the shuttle at the Cafe Roxe opposite the pick up point.
We went on one trip to the Ourika Valley arranged by the Riad staff. We enjoyed this as it gave us a flavour of the Atlas Mountain area.
All the staff went out of their way to help us make the most of our trip and so deserve our thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We booked thie Riad based on value for money, we knew the location was outside Marrakech but were happy with this based on the shuttle bus service. The driver did meet us at the airport as arranged, however there was a language barrier and it was not immediately obvious whether we were to walk elsewhere, wait with him or what (not the drivers fault). A brief welcome card in several languages might have been useful at this stage. Once in the Riad we received a warm welcome and shown to our room which was large. First night we ate at the Riad which cost £24 for 2 of us for 3 courses, not bad value we thought at first until we ventured into the city centre and found better quality food cheaper in price.
Gardens were lovely and breakfast nicely served either in the garden or inside and there were lots of seeats available. However, cleanliness of the rooms needs to be improved on. The first day our room was not made up at all, then folowing day it was but missed out next day so was not sure if to make bed or not in mornings. Hot water varied from almost hot to lukewarm but never proper hot for a decent shower. Dust seemed to remain on carpets and around room during our stay.
Organisation of the shuttle into town also needs improvement, first morning we were told 11:30h to be ready, and were finally taken in at 12:30h via an emergency airport stop for a passenger who left their passport behing, which ended up taking over an hour. Next day were told at breakfast shuttle was going at 14:30h. We then asked at the desk for a taxi as the shuttle was going to be so late to be told it was actually going at 12:30. Next morning told to have quick breakfast as shuttle going at 10:00h, actually left at 11:30h so never knew what to expect.
Riad is an experiance, if expecting luxury or organisation you will be disappointed, if you prefer to relax and not get too bothered about some disorganisation then you will probably enjoy it. Some guests however can be loud and inconsiderate, banging doors, talking loudly in the lobby areas from where bedrooms lead from, given the stone floors their noise echos throughout the Riad which did disturb some guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Qodwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Qodwa

Address: route 2012 Sidi Abdallah Ghiat Km 12 | Route du Golf royale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Qodwa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad has 4 suites of 55sqm with private room and of 6 rooms of 25sqm. All suites and rooms have air conditioning, TV and dressing room. 4 lounges, swimming pool, 500sqm of terrace and solarium. VIP area, shop presents Moroccan crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Qodwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Qodwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.