We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic long weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Qodwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Qodwa to your Saves list
Riad Qodwa
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   route 2012 Sidi Abdallah Ghiat Km 12 | Route du Golf royale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic long weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I dont write reviews very often, but having come back from a fantastic girls weekend in Marrakech, staying in Riad Qodwa I felt i needed to share our lovely trip!
On arrival at the airport we were collected by Jamal (hotel driver) who was lovely and friendly and the drive was about 1/2 hour to the hotel. Once at the hotel we were greeted with mint tea and the lovely man at reception (whos name i cant remember) sat us down with a map and explained/located the places we would probably like to visit and give us some very helpful do's and don'ts when out in the city.
The hotel has a lovely family run feel and nothing is too much trouble as they are always happy to help in anyway they can. The rooms and the communal areas like the terrace, swimming pool and foyer were always clean and the hotel offers free Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and a free shuttle back and forth to the Medina and as long as you remember there is one shuttle and 13 or so rooms so you do have to be a little bit flexible it is a fantastic service.
Even though the hotel does not offer any alchol, they were more than happy to put our wine in the fridge and find us a bottle opener and they were happy for us to drink on the premises.
All in all we had a fantastic trip (even with the power cut on one of the days), yes the hotel is a budget hotel and as in all hotels there is room for improvement, but we certainly had more than our moneys worth! Thank to all the staff at the Riad Qodwa for a great weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    46
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
42
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Me and my boyfriend felt quite welcome at the Riad Qodwa. We especially enjoyed the excellent service of Abdel (Receptionist) who always went out of his way to satisfay the guests needs and tryed to fulfill their wishes. We also appreciated Jamaal's (Hotel Driver) kind - and friendlyness and the very nice talkings during our rides to the Medina and back.

We enjoyed our trips organized through Abdel to the Ourika Valley, the Quadbiking and the Spa-day in the Hammam.

Many thanks to the whole Riad Qodwa-Team for the excellent hospitality :-)

Room Tip: The quiter room is on the first floor even though it's a bit smaller - however, you enjoy the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellifield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Riad Qodwa. From entering to leaving the property we were made to feel like family. The Riad is located outside Marrakech with a shuttle bus available for visits in to Marrakech. As Marrakech is such a busy place, it was lovely to get back to the peace and quiet after experiencing the hustle and bustle of people,cars,carts and most of all motor cycles in the city itself.
Our bedroom (5) was enormous, complete with sofa and armchair. We did not have a panoramic view from the room, only the bushes lining the pathway! Breakfast was served outside (inside if you preferred) and was perfectly adequate for our needs (bread, pancake, french pastry, yogurt, jam, cheese and olives). The pool area was lovely for sunbathing and, for those brave enough, a swim (Water was a bit cold). Inside there were plenty seating areas to relax in.
Wifi was free and usually good reception.
The driver of the shuttle deserves a mention as, to be honest, I do not know how he made it through the traffic in Marrakech in reasonable time to meet his passengers. We went into the city 3 times and waited for the shuttle at the Cafe Roxe opposite the pick up point.
We went on one trip to the Ourika Valley arranged by the Riad staff. We enjoyed this as it gave us a flavour of the Atlas Mountain area.
All the staff went out of their way to help us make the most of our trip and so deserve our thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We booked thie Riad based on value for money, we knew the location was outside Marrakech but were happy with this based on the shuttle bus service. The driver did meet us at the airport as arranged, however there was a language barrier and it was not immediately obvious whether we were to walk elsewhere, wait with him or what (not the drivers fault). A brief welcome card in several languages might have been useful at this stage. Once in the Riad we received a warm welcome and shown to our room which was large. First night we ate at the Riad which cost £24 for 2 of us for 3 courses, not bad value we thought at first until we ventured into the city centre and found better quality food cheaper in price.
Gardens were lovely and breakfast nicely served either in the garden or inside and there were lots of seeats available. However, cleanliness of the rooms needs to be improved on. The first day our room was not made up at all, then folowing day it was but missed out next day so was not sure if to make bed or not in mornings. Hot water varied from almost hot to lukewarm but never proper hot for a decent shower. Dust seemed to remain on carpets and around room during our stay.
Organisation of the shuttle into town also needs improvement, first morning we were told 11:30h to be ready, and were finally taken in at 12:30h via an emergency airport stop for a passenger who left their passport behing, which ended up taking over an hour. Next day were told at breakfast shuttle was going at 14:30h. We then asked at the desk for a taxi as the shuttle was going to be so late to be told it was actually going at 12:30. Next morning told to have quick breakfast as shuttle going at 10:00h, actually left at 11:30h so never knew what to expect.
Riad is an experiance, if expecting luxury or organisation you will be disappointed, if you prefer to relax and not get too bothered about some disorganisation then you will probably enjoy it. Some guests however can be loud and inconsiderate, banging doors, talking loudly in the lobby areas from where bedrooms lead from, given the stone floors their noise echos throughout the Riad which did disturb some guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Its worth while just for the shuttle and the driver. Having spent 3 days at a different hotel I was sick of having to argue / negotiate with every taxi driver trying to rip-off the tourist. The initial impression is awesome, a very impressive building. On closer inspection it needs some TLC in the form of paint and attention to detail. The shaving socket in room 10 was pulled out from the wall, there was intermittent hot water, the matrass needs changing but at least it was a double bed and the bedroom was warm.

Staff were very helpful, breakfast was good and it is a great place to relax and soak up some sun. Stunning views of the snow covered Atlas mountains. Please note that this is also an alcohol free establishment.

The worst thing though was the local dogs that started barking in the eve keeping me awake until 1am again, and the noise from the door banging and talking in the vast empty halls is quite excessive, both of which could be sorted out fairly easily.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Loved it soon the gate was opened. Beautiful to the eye, Roses were blooming in January and garden was green like in spring. Great place for couples wanting to spend time together and enjoy nature. Mr. Saeed is a man I respect as he delivered what he promised. Staff is helpful and willing to serve you the best they know. Fire places were lit each night, rooms are big but need some care.
Cleaning staff needs training, chef was away and hot water was a bit of a problem. May be I was the last taking shower :). Its Riad and build like big villa for some very rich man with 20 some wives and a room for each one with many beautiful sitting arrangements to entertain family and guests.
Take your slippers, bed sheets, shampoo etc and hair blower with you as its an economy setup for an average person.
Driver is great and works around the clock to keep you happy. Deserve a good tip at end of your stay.

Room Tip: Be careful in old city. Lost Camera to a pickpocketer in a minute while visiting square. Loosing all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuffolkUK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Riad Qodwa is 20 mins outside Marrakech. It has everything you need to enjoy the excitement of Marrakech and then get away to a rustic rural location and chill out. The staff could not be more helpful, the daily shuttle to Marrakech is reliable and easy dropping you in town mid morning and collecting early evening. Food at hotel is simple but good value. The room we had was a nice en suite it was clean and tidy. It's cold at night at this time of year so bring something to wrap up in as the days are warm and the contrast is noticeable. We did a day trek to the Ourika Valley - organised through the Riad staff, at 25euros it was excellent value and fantastic natural scenery.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Qodwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Qodwa

Address: route 2012 Sidi Abdallah Ghiat Km 12 | Route du Golf royale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Qodwa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad has 4 suites of 55sqm with private room and of 6 rooms of 25sqm. All suites and rooms have air conditioning, TV and dressing room. 4 lounges, swimming pool, 500sqm of terrace and solarium. VIP area, shop presents Moroccan crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Qodwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Qodwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.