We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Qodwa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Qodwa to your Saves list
Riad Qodwa
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   route 2012 Sidi Abdallah Ghiat Km 12 | Route du Golf royale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Its worth while just for the shuttle and the driver. Having spent 3 days at a different hotel I was sick of having to argue / negotiate with every taxi driver trying to rip-off the tourist. The initial impression is awesome, a very impressive building. On closer inspection it needs some TLC in the form of paint and attention to detail. The shaving socket in room 10 was pulled out from the wall, there was intermittent hot water, the matrass needs changing but at least it was a double bed and the bedroom was warm.

Staff were very helpful, breakfast was good and it is a great place to relax and soak up some sun. Stunning views of the snow covered Atlas mountains. Please note that this is also an alcohol free establishment.

The worst thing though was the local dogs that started barking in the eve keeping me awake until 1am again, and the noise from the door banging and talking in the vast empty halls is quite excessive, both of which could be sorted out fairly easily.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    52
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
29
54
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Loved it soon the gate was opened. Beautiful to the eye, Roses were blooming in January and garden was green like in spring. Great place for couples wanting to spend time together and enjoy nature. Mr. Saeed is a man I respect as he delivered what he promised. Staff is helpful and willing to serve you the best they know. Fire places were lit each night, rooms are big but need some care.
Cleaning staff needs training, chef was away and hot water was a bit of a problem. May be I was the last taking shower :). Its Riad and build like big villa for some very rich man with 20 some wives and a room for each one with many beautiful sitting arrangements to entertain family and guests.
Take your slippers, bed sheets, shampoo etc and hair blower with you as its an economy setup for an average person.
Driver is great and works around the clock to keep you happy. Deserve a good tip at end of your stay.

Room Tip: Be careful in old city. Lost Camera to a pickpocketer in a minute while visiting square. Loosing all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuffolkUK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Riad Qodwa is 20 mins outside Marrakech. It has everything you need to enjoy the excitement of Marrakech and then get away to a rustic rural location and chill out. The staff could not be more helpful, the daily shuttle to Marrakech is reliable and easy dropping you in town mid morning and collecting early evening. Food at hotel is simple but good value. The room we had was a nice en suite it was clean and tidy. It's cold at night at this time of year so bring something to wrap up in as the days are warm and the contrast is noticeable. We did a day trek to the Ourika Valley - organised through the Riad staff, at 25euros it was excellent value and fantastic natural scenery.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Its build like a palace and offers great place to stay and feel at home. Staff is great and helpful. Mr Saeed got us taxi when he noticed his own shuttle is not going to make it. Promises made and kept and that to me is a plus.

Room Tip: A place to stay if you want to relax and spend time with friends or family. Love this location for q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed for 7 nights in January 2013. My room was large, clean and very comfortable. I had my own private balcony with table and chairs and this afforded me the privacy I needed for private chilling. The reception area was large and pleasant and meals could be taken there. The outside area was clean and pleasant. The pool was not heated so I did not venture in. But there were sun drenched areas for sun bathing and shading areas for relaxing. Breakfasts were good and substantial. There is a shuttle about 3 times a day to Marrakesh which allows flexibility in deciding how much time to spend in the city. There is usually a shuttle back about 9.30/10 pm. Staff were always helpful and pleasant. I will certainly return to this riad.

Room Tip: I was in a room with a double bed so had to pay the single occupancy rate for a double room. there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I am a wheelchair user and booked because I was told this was accessible. We arrived at the Riad to find the wheelchair accessibility was limited. Inside the bedroom, there was a three inch step into the bathroom which had a shower cubicle with no grab handles anywhere. Outside, the attractive water channels impeded the paths to the swimming pool.
Once the issues were pointed out,the staff went out of their way to help, a shower chair was found and the ditches filled with gravel which was then covered with carpet to stop my wheels sinking in.
Small kitchen facilities and an ambitious menu for somewhere with no chef meant disappointing meal times.
The shuttle was hit and miss but the driver was a smiler and a great help with the chair.
Previous reports are right this is a gem. Secluded, peaceful and welcoming. I only wish there was a local restaurant.
Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, 15 Km away from the city, but this is not a problem because they offer free charters. In fact, this charter service includes the airport and I was gladly surprised when they told me that they were going to take me back 6 am!
The staff is committed and helpful, but I'd say more than that: I made friends.
The pool is very nice, perfectly clean with attractive and relaxing fountains.
A downside? Internet connection was not 100% reliable, but I don't think you can find any better in Marrakech. So just a warning if you depend as I do on being online.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Qodwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Qodwa

Address: route 2012 Sidi Abdallah Ghiat Km 12 | Route du Golf royale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Qodwa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad has 4 suites of 55sqm with private room and of 6 rooms of 25sqm. All suites and rooms have air conditioning, TV and dressing room. 4 lounges, swimming pool, 500sqm of terrace and solarium. VIP area, shop presents Moroccan crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Qodwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Qodwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.