We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Qodwa

Save Saved
You added Riad Qodwa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Qodwa
route 2012 Sidi Abdallah Ghiat Km 12 | Route du Golf royale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I chose the Riad Qodwa because it had a lovely pool and gardens and a free shuttle bus into Marrakech. It turned out to be an excellent choice. We enjoyed the hustle and bustle of the city and then the peace and quiet of the Riad. We liked exploring the neighbourhood and we went on an excursion arranged through the Riad to Ait Ben Haddou which was great. I thoroughly recommend this lovely Riad.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    45
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
38
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I find the some of the reviews written below absolutely unbelievable - do people think they are travelling to a 5 star hotel in New York or a developing country in North Africa??!

This is a beautiful riad set in the tranquil countryside around 25 minutes from Marrakech. The 3 guys running the riad could not have been more helpful and were more than happy to answer our questions. The shuttle service is brilliant, and drops you very close to the main square in Marrakech (Jamaa el Fna) and we arranged a return time to suit us.

The riad is beautifully decorated, especially downstairs where there are several rooms with Moroccan furnishings. The swimming pool was cold (we visited in November, so expected this!), but clean and it was peaceful chilling out by the pool listening to the birds singing.

Breakfast was lovely - bread, a pancake, honey, yoghurt, olives, coffee and orange juice. Perhaps the people who have complained about the monotony are expecting a fry-up! First-world issues!

Overall, a nice, relaxing place to stay - allowing you to visit Marrakech and then retreat to the peace and quiet of the countryside. Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Have been to the Riad for our wedding anniversary. Enjoyed our stay. Very luxurious, great atmosphere, very good food, pleasant rooms, excellent pool and loved our serving and hotelstaff: abdelhak, hosni, rachid and youssef. We experienced a very welcome atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having read some of the reviews the day before we left, we were somewhat worried as to what we would find on arrival. However we were relieved to find it was lovely.
Omar (The Manager) made our stay a very happy one. Nothing was too much trouble, you only had to ask and it was done.
The breakfast consisted of pancake, bread, jam, honey, choc au pain, orange juice, yogurt and tea or coffee. It may have been the same everyday but was filling and kept us going.
The shuttle bus was normally ok. We did get taxis on 3 occasions due to the fact we wanted to come back earlier. Unfortunately the taxi drivers did not know where the hotel was. I would advise that you carry one of the Riad Qodwa's business cards with you.
The place is pretty much tucked out of the way and so you do have to rely on being dropped off and picked up.
I would suggest taking handsoap/handwash as our room did not have any. Also our bathroom had an unpleasant aroma (nothing that incense wouldn't cure).
You do have to remember that this is a Muslim country and you will hear the call to prayer very early in the morning, as well as the cockerels (who really didn't know what the time was).
I would say if you love peace and quiet, then this is the place for you. Grab a book or 2, sit by the pool, eating fresh oranges off the trees, listening to the birds and relax.
Thank you Omar for looking after us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Well having reviewed some of the more recent reviews I am surprised and can only wonder what people expect. Bearing in mind morocco is in North Africa and not centre of the western world, the hotel does not claim to be a five star hotel.
From our point of view we had a fab stay, the hotel was clean, and the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you, even going to the shops for you ( which was above and beyond what they needed to do. ) nothing we asked was too much for them.

The hotel has a pool, it is quiet and peaceful away from the noise of the main town areas. Having spoken other Brits staying in the town a pool was a bonus as was the quiet.

There is a bus service into town which is FREE, and provided by the hotel. Our experience of destination outside of more developed areas is that time is quite flexible and this was true of the bus service. However it was not just limited to the hotel the tours that we went on, that were not booked through the hotel, were also time flexible.

A thing to remember is that Morocco is a Muslim country so alcohol is not openly available ( it's against their religion) however the hotel were happy for guests to drink their own alcohol, brought from off site, anywhere on their premises. ( how many places in the uk would allow this.)

All in all we would most definitely stay here again. Have stayed in a lot worse and paid a lot more for it with staff who are paid more and have less respect....

For what we paid for the trip I think it was a fab week. Saw true Morocco

Remember your going to North Africa not New York .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the beach
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

After reading the Tripadvisor comments I though this would be a safe bet. How wrong I was.

I guess all the good review were written by the FROG and FROGSPAWN that live in the pool or its friends the BEDBUGS that live it the filthy dirty linen of this COUGH Hotel/Motel more like Faulty Towers


Its in the middle on nowhere ...... no taxi's can find it.....its like a run down hostel....the picture on the website have been either airbrushed or taken in 1963 when it was first painted.

There is no restaurant...the food is cold and served up like you're in a Morrocan prison.The staff are young and CLUELESS.

There is nothing near this place - no wonder- its like Chernobyl on a good day.

Our bathroom was RANK.

The place is full of cigarette butts and fag ash.

ITS THE WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER BEEN

Room Tip: Don't stay here - its MINGING
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This riad is tranquil, peaceful and relaxing. I chose it for its location as I wanted somewhere quiet, away from the chaos of the Medina but knowing that the shuttle bus would transfer us to and from the centre of Marrakech when we wanted to go. The Riad is 25 mins from anywhere and is reliant upon an organised shuttle service which it does not have. It could be great but the shuttle NEVER arrives on time. When it does take you in to sample the delights of Marrakech, the driver insists on picking u up at 9.30 pm at he latest, which is very early and not really enough time to relax and enjoy an evening meal. One night the shuttle left early and abandoned us in town and we had to pay 200 dirhams to get back. Very badly organised. This hotel/Riad will not survive unless this shuttle service is run properly. The food is adequate but expect to wait a minimum of 40 mins for anything. Breakfast is bread, jam, orange juice, yoghurt and pancake. This is served everyday . No fruit, eggs, or any variety. It's just ok. The milky coffee is good. On our last day, they ran out of tomatoes, which meant we could not have moroccan salad or tomato and mozzarella salad which were two of the better dishes on the menu. The hotel was a really cheap deal. Expect food to match. I would return to Morocco. It's wonderfully vibrant and I met some lovely people but I would not spend more than 2 nights in this Riad. The monotony of the breakfast nearly killed me! Don't book any excursions from this hotel. Unreliable. The gardens are pretty and the young staff do their best but they have no organisation at all. Such a shame as it could be so much better

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room. Buy alcohol in airport prior to arrival. Hotel unlicensed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Qodwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Qodwa

Address: route 2012 Sidi Abdallah Ghiat Km 12 | Route du Golf royale, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad has 4 suites of 55sqm with private room and of 6 rooms of 25sqm. All suites and rooms have air conditioning, TV and dressing room. 4 lounges, swimming pool, 500sqm of terrace and solarium. VIP area, shop presents Moroccan crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Otel so you can book your Riad Qodwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Qodwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.